EyeTV/CPU power/antenna questions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 02-26-2007, 03:30 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am new to OTA HDTV and have a few questions

im lookin to purchase a hauppauge hvr-950 to watch/record OTA hd and digital tv. id like clearQAM but the miglia tvmini hd is $148 at the lowest price and i dont even know whether id be able to receive any QAM channels. plus it doesnt do analog and i wouldnt mind havin analog as well.

my system:

Dual 1 GHz G4 Quicksilver
512MB PC133 RAM
nVidia GeForce4 MX 64MB
M-Audio Revolution 7.1

will this be able to watch and record HDTV with eyetv?? even if i could only do digital that would be ok, im plannin on buildin a HTPC when leopard comes out. do i need to upgrade the RAM to 1GB?

now my other question is about antennas. from my understanding a regular uhf/vhf indoor antenna will work fine for OTA HDTV. ive read regular $5 rabbit ears from radioshack work the same as these expensive "HD-ready" antennas. i dont wanna spend tons of money on an antenna if i dont have to but wanna make sure i get somethin that works well. or will the one that comes with the hauppauge work fine? id like to receive all of the digital stations listed on titantv....i live pretty close to all the major network stations.

also, i wanna hook everything up to my denon avr-1403 receiver. what is the best and cheapest way to do so? what cables do i need?

i want this mainly for march madness the ncaa basketball tournament which is comin up. i need to straighten everything out and decide in time, it starts march 15th
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-26-2007, 06:07 AM
AVS Club Gold

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:

will this be able to watch and record HDTV with eyetv?