2.35:1 PC Gaming - Powered by Lumagen - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 42 Old 10-22-2011, 04:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 3,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Lumagen,

Thank you for the new firmware update:

Production 101711- Added new capability for PC gaming with 2.35 screens. If you set up your PC for a 1920x816/817 output resolution almost all current games will render with a wider field of view. If you select 2.35 input aspect on the Radiance with this type of input mode the Radiance can then output it correctly on a 2.35 screen using either anamorphic lens (Radiance output aspect set to 2.35) or optical zoom (Radiance output aspect set to 1.78 aka 16:9).

What does this do you may ask?

Well it can take a PC Gaming setup from this:



Normal 16:9 PC Gaming... Boring higher resolution, much more graphic detail, significantly more frames per second Console Experience. LOL.




To this:



"1337" (leet - for the un-gamers) 2:35 PC Gaming!!!! Exciting higher resolution, much more graphic detail, significantly more frames per second , and WIDE FOV elite gaming experience!!!

What are the benefits?

- Wider Field of View in games with NO fisheye distortion
- The game is rendered at 1920X816 or 1920X817 you'll also have more performance then rendering at the full unimpressive 16X9...

* Lumagen Products are sold via AVS Science Store!!!!




*some more examples:

Battlefield 3









Bioshock



Crysis 2












Portal 2





Just Cause 2






-
-
-
-
* Below - When the games are designed WRONG!!! They lose height and gain no FOV. (luckily very few games)

BulletStorm

SOWK is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 42 Old 10-22-2011, 10:54 AM
Member
 
mwehnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SWOK,

Very exciting. I'm currently planning to purchase my first projector and scope screen. While gaming is currently way down on my importance list it is something I really want to try out.

I've done zero research into this. I'm glad to see there is a turn key solution to make this possible/easy. Skyrim should be amazing on my future 100"+ screen.

Matt
mwehnes is offline  
post #3 of 42 Old 10-22-2011, 02:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Trogdor2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks for your post SOWK, people like you keep PC gaming interesting.

I actually have been playing games in 2.35:1 for the past year, and I know the feeling of how awesome playing them are, I got a chance to play games like Crysis and Bad Company 2 on my friend's gaming rig, and I couldn't go back to console gaming. I think I put around 50 hours on my projector just on Team Fortress 2 in scope.

I however only needed to use powerstrip for this purpose, with a low end Toshiba laptop through a VGA cable and it's not hard at all to set up a custom resolution. It worked for most of the games I played on it, though there maybe the occasional bugger (Black Ops) that stretches it, there is usually a workaround for it. It sucked it really had to take Lumagen this long for them to adopt this.

If you are interested, my steam account has pictures of some of the games I played through this.

http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/7...4/screenshots/
Trogdor2010 is offline  
post #4 of 42 Old 10-22-2011, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 3,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trogdor2010 View Post

It sucked it really had to take Lumagen this long for them to adopt this.

No one brought it to their attention... Until I did 2 days ago...

Thats how fast they are at updating for their customers, less then a day later and they had an update!!!

Your using VGA?
SOWK is online now  
post #5 of 42 Old 10-22-2011, 04:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Trogdor2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post

No one brought it to their attention... Until I did 2 days ago...

Thats how fast they are at updating for their customers, less then a day later and they had an update!!!

Your using VGA?

My laptop does not have a digital output like HDMI, that's how entry level it is. I used a 12 foot wide (156 inch diagonal) 2.35:1 screen and a 1080p projector, and it looks pretty good actually.

What I liked about Powerstrip is that you can set up a custom resolution by using the "resolution in a resolution" feature that will send the signal as a 1920x1080 (or 1280x720) signal for example, and the output video appears as 1920x810 (or 1280x540). Very useful if you are using the zoom method. I used an anamorphic lens so I have to use V-Stretch (on my projector), but the results are the same.

I have tried out Nvidia's control panel (with HDMI) when I tried it on my friend's gaming rig, and I preferred this since the output video is stretched when shown in 16:9 mode (native mode shows the native signal), so I don't need to rely on my projector for stretching the picture. I played Crysis 1&2, Bad Company 2, and Duke Nukem Forever, and they work fine (except in cutscenes in Crysis 1, adds blacks bars on 16x9 based image, but doesn't cover the outer sides for example).
Trogdor2010 is offline  
post #6 of 42 Old 10-22-2011, 11:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
BTW, you are in 6th place

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
post #7 of 42 Old 10-23-2011, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
chomperoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can 2.35 gaming work for console too?
chomperoni is offline  
post #8 of 42 Old 10-23-2011, 02:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 3,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by chomperoni View Post

Can 2.35 gaming work for console too?

No. No way to have them output or render 1920x817.
SOWK is online now  
post #9 of 42 Old 10-23-2011, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
nightfly85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
that is some awesome scope sweetness!!!!
nightfly85 is offline  
post #10 of 42 Old 10-24-2011, 12:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CAVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 8,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 31
You certainly have my attention. Why would anyone NOT want that? SMPTE and the EBU so need to push through the 21:9 TV format.

Mark Techer

I love my Constant Image Height system!
CAVX is offline  
post #11 of 42 Old 10-24-2011, 05:39 PM
 
Tegiri Nenashi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why did they cut 2 feet of space from the top and the bottom? Wouldn't majority of scenes benefit from extra vertical space? I can't see how you can enjoy rollercoaster ride simulation, or how would you shoot that pesky helicopter overhead, or even display a woman standing in a full glory. Oh, I forgot: this is embrasure view lovers forum.
Tegiri Nenashi is offline  
post #12 of 42 Old 10-24-2011, 06:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 3,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tegiri Nenashi View Post

Why did they cut 2 feet of space from the top and the bottom? Wouldn't majority of scenes benefit from extra vertical space? I can't see how you can enjoy rollercoaster ride simulation, or how would you shoot that pesky helicopter overhead, or even display a woman standing in a full glory. Oh, I forgot: this is embrasure view lovers forum.

Are you being serious?

If so, be happy with your 40" Sony 4x3 TV!

Attachment 226131
LL
SOWK is online now  
post #13 of 42 Old 10-24-2011, 06:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coolrda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Phenomenal. One of the best dem's ever, for showing the superiority of 2.35 over 16x9. Never mind the troll above. He doesn't seem to understand that our picture in picture is bigger than his TV.
coolrda is offline  
post #14 of 42 Old 10-24-2011, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coolrda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tegiri Nenashi View Post

Why did they cut 2 feet of space from the top and the bottom? Wouldn't majority of scenes benefit from extra vertical space? I can't see how you can enjoy rollercoaster ride simulation, or how would you shoot that pesky helicopter overhead, or even display a woman standing in a full glory. Oh, I forgot: this is embrasure view lovers forum.

Ever hear of a thing called "ceiling"?
coolrda is offline  
post #15 of 42 Old 10-24-2011, 08:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 3,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tegiri Nenashi View Post

Why did they cut 2 feet of space from the top and the bottom? Wouldn't majority of scenes benefit from extra vertical space? I can't see how you can enjoy rollercoaster ride simulation, or how would you shoot that pesky helicopter overhead, or even display a woman standing in a full glory. Oh, I forgot: this is embrasure view lovers forum.

To help you with your fantasies!!!

Here is a game designed to be CIW (Constant Image Width) *aka very few games.


2.35:1

VS.

Your wet dream:1




BUT...


When a game is designed for CIH (Constant Image Height) *aka most games!!!



VS.



You don't gain any information in the vertical field of view, just lose horizontal field of view.


Also,to this quote from another thread...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tegiri Nenashi View Post

Game scenes can be rendered in any AR, even on several side-by-side monitors. Yet widescreen propellerheads continue to perpetrate the myth that "modern games are designed for wide AR".

Most modern games are wide AR... As in the example above. And no, game scenes can not be rendered in any AR, it's what the engine and or tweaks the developer allows.

*Sorry for the crappy shots guys. These were with my girlfriends laptop.
SOWK is online now  
post #16 of 42 Old 10-24-2011, 10:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Trogdor2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Pac Man anyone?

Trogdor2010 is offline  
post #17 of 42 Old 10-25-2011, 01:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CAVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 8,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trogdor2010 View Post

Pac Man anyone?


Bring on the 80's games

Mark Techer

I love my Constant Image Height system!
CAVX is offline  
post #18 of 42 Old 10-25-2011, 01:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 3,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 85
SOWK is online now  
post #19 of 42 Old 10-26-2011, 02:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coolrda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post

Some Battlefield 3 shots added to main post

Your screen looks to be in 5x12 to 6x14 area.
coolrda is offline  
post #20 of 42 Old 10-26-2011, 05:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 3,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolrda View Post


Your screen looks to be in 5x12 to 6x14 area.

Yup. 150" wide. So 5.31x12.5
SOWK is online now  
post #21 of 42 Old 10-30-2011, 07:56 AM
Member
 
NORLL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
@SOWK; May I ask how you set the right resolution for the games. Are these options in the game settings/console or do you achieve the correct pixel resolution with the Nvidia Driver Control Panel?
NORLL is offline  
post #22 of 42 Old 12-07-2011, 07:17 AM
Senior Member
 
stevegravley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I got my JVC RS45 yesterday and wanted to share some images. I took these on my blackberry and the images are on a white wall. My theater is not built yet. Regardless, the setup at 2.35 is phenomenal and I will relish my time playing SWTOR and all other games in WIDEscreen.

My desktop setup to 1920 x 816 using Catalyst


In game menu screen


A screenshot of Orcs Must Die

My home theater build thread
LEVEL 4: Center for Entertainment
stevegravley is offline  
post #23 of 42 Old 01-03-2012, 04:11 PM
 
d3coy3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So you dont need a lumagen correct? Just out put the resolution as such?
d3coy3d is offline  
post #24 of 42 Old 01-03-2012, 09:41 PM
Member
 
ImmortalJman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bellevue, NE
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm finishing my theater right now and the question I have is what setting I would use to incorporate an anamorphic lenses. I believe you're using the zoom method, right?

Skyrun Cinema Build-Speakers done and positioned. 7/2 THTLP done. Fabric Frames going on now.

ImmortalJman is offline  
post #25 of 42 Old 01-04-2012, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Trogdor2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3coy3d View Post

So you dont need a lumagen correct? Just out put the resolution as such?

All you need is to use the internal drivers for your graphics card (NVidia control Panel, Catalyst Control Center for ATI cards), or download powerstrip if you don't have them. For many recent games, it's mostly plug and play.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalJman View Post

I'm finishing my theater right now and the question I have is what setting I would use to incorporate an anamorphic lenses. I believe you're using the zoom method, right?

You should be able to use an A-lens by sending in a 1920x810 signal, and using your projector's V-stretch mode for it to work. It might even do the stretching for you, or if it does have a native setting (for it to work with zoom or stretch with projector).




Has anyone got a chance to play L.A. Noire on PC? I have a copy on steam and it will not let me select 1280x540, and I know I'll need to use widescreenfixer to do this.

http://www.widescreenfixer.org/

It would be awesome to play the game in an aspect ratio that is the same as the cutscenes in the game.
Trogdor2010 is offline  
post #26 of 42 Old 01-04-2012, 08:27 PM
Member
 
ImmortalJman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bellevue, NE
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah that's what I was thinking. I just haven't had time to play around with that yet as my equipment is still in boxes waiting for me to finish construction.

Skyrun Cinema Build-Speakers done and positioned. 7/2 THTLP done. Fabric Frames going on now.

ImmortalJman is offline  
post #27 of 42 Old 10-10-2012, 04:18 PM
Senior Member
 
below90hz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
OK I understand the concept of having more screen in your peripheral vision field, but losing resolution is never a good thing.

Think about what you're doing, you're taking 1920x1080 (2,073,600 pixels) and chopping it down to 1920x810 (1,555,200 pixels). I think that's what Tegiri Nenashi was pointing out. You are choosing a wide ratio over resolution. Of course with 25% less pixels to render, you're going to get higher framerates. The tradeoff is less resolution. And most of us PC gamers are looking for max resolution, not less.

This is why many gamers stack 3 monitors side-by-side. They get the same wide-screen benefit but don't lose any resolution, in fact they gain it. 5760x1080 (6,220,800 pixels) looks amazing. Imagine if you stacked 2 or three projectors side-by-side. You would get twice or three times the resolution in the same space. Now THAT would be freakin awesome.

Quit readin my signature ya stupid signature reader.
below90hz is offline  
post #28 of 42 Old 10-19-2012, 08:27 AM
Senior Member
 
chomperoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
How much is the additional euipment that is needed to get 2.35:1 gaming?
Aside from usual home theatre equip.
chomperoni is offline  
post #29 of 42 Old 10-20-2012, 09:15 AM
Senior Member
 
chomperoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
  • which Lumagen unit are you using?
    Can one achieve widescreen gaming using the zoom method ?
chomperoni is offline  
post #30 of 42 Old 10-22-2012, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Trogdor2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by chomperoni View Post

How much is the additional euipment that is needed to get 2.35:1 gaming?
Aside from usual home theatre equip.

None, actually. You only need to use the graphics driver (Either Nvidia or ATI), or use Powerstrip if your computer doesn't have them or using VGA. When you do the custom resolution, you needing to make sure the timings MATCH the normal resolution. For Nvidia Control panel, you simply select customize resolution, and first make sure the timing below are set to manual before doing any resolution changes. Ideally, you should set the vertical resolution to manual to a multiple of 8 (example 1920x816).
Quote:
Think about what you're doing, you're taking 1920x1080 (2,073,600 pixels) and chopping it down to 1920x810 (1,555,200 pixels). I think that's what Tegiri Nenashi was pointing out. You are choosing a wide ratio over resolution. Of course with 25% less pixels to render, you're going to get higher framerates. The tradeoff is less resolution. And most of us PC gamers are looking for max resolution, not less.

There is less resolution but it's not nearly as serious as you think it is. It's more or less the same trade-off of how letterbox movies face. Issues in regards to brightness, optics, and environment are much more of a concern than resolution, especially since 1920x816 is actually very high resolution, and the HD standard was 1280x720 30 years ago! People from even 5 years ago thought it was extremely sharp! smile.gif
Trogdor2010 is offline  
Reply 2.35:1 Constant Image Height Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off