HC3800 and HC4000 have a memory zoom function - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 01-20-2012, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jamieuk147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
am sure I read this some were that the mits ptojectors have some type of secret zoon memory function for 2:35.1 viewing

Is it true?
jamieuk147 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 01-20-2012, 01:50 PM
Senior Member
 
MysticalJet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
not sure about 3800 and 4000, but these do. Well to be straight, its not a zoom function but rescaling.
MysticalJet is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 01-20-2012, 02:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 115
I'm thinking the feature you're thinking of is the ability to "shrink" 16:9 down to the right size so that you don't need to zoom for 16:9 to fit the height of a scope screen.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 01-20-2012, 02:55 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jamieuk147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Am very confused. Can I buy a 2.35.1 screen and store some zoom or scaling so I dont have to manually touch the projector for cinemascope and 16.9 movies.

There is defo some secret menu or something, so I remember reading
jamieuk147 is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 01-20-2012, 03:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Liaury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieuk147 View Post

Am very confused. Can I buy a 2.35.1 screen and store some zoom or scaling so I dont have to manually touch the projector for cinemascope and 16.9 movies.

There is defo some secret menu or something, so I remember reading

The full 16x9 is projected at all times.

When I watch a 2.35:1 aspect ratio movie, the upper and lower parts of the 2.35:1 video (black bars) is projected above and below the 2.35:1 screen. When the movie is 16x9 aspect ratio, I hit the aspect ratio button on the remote, then the full 16x9 video is "shrunk" to fit in the center portion of the 2.35:1 screen (black bars on the side). It's like a small 16x9 screen within the larger 16x9 projection.

There is no manual adjustment required except for a push of a button on the remote.
Liaury is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 01-20-2012, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
MysticalJet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liaury View Post

The full 16x9 is projected at all times.

When I watch a 2.35:1 aspect ratio movie, the upper and lower parts of the 2.35:1 video (black bars) is projected above and below the 2.35:1 screen. When the movie is 16x9 aspect ratio, I hit the aspect ratio button on the remote, then the full 16x9 video is "shrunk" to fit in the center portion of the 2.35:1 screen (black bars on the side). It's like a small 16x9 screen within the larger 16x9 projection.

There is no manual adjustment required except for a push of a button on the remote.

Which projector do you have?
MysticalJet is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 01-20-2012, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
 
MysticalJet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieuk147 View Post

Am very confused. Can I buy a 2.35.1 screen and store some zoom or scaling so I dont have to manually touch the projector for cinemascope and 16.9 movies.

There is defo some secret menu or something, so I remember reading

See the link in my initial post for the "how" to do it.
MysticalJet is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 01-20-2012, 03:50 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jamieuk147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysticalJet View Post

See the link in my initial post for the "how" to do it.

Ok thanks for that link it seems there is a memory save function so am guessing it will push the black bars off the screen via aspect ratio change.

So I will now order a 2.35.1 screen and use thid function I hope it works
jamieuk147 is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 01-20-2012, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Liaury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysticalJet View Post

Which projector do you have?

Hc4000
Liaury is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 01-20-2012, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CAVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 8,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 31
The shrink method works by window boxing the 16:9 image at the same height (about 810 pixels) as Scope. When set up on a Scope screen, both ARs will use about 810 vertical pixels of the 1080 on the panel with the remaining 270 thrown off the top and bottom of the screen. The plus for this method over zooming is that your pixel size remains the same.

Mark Techer

I love my Constant Image Height system!
CAVX is online now  
post #11 of 23 Old 01-21-2012, 05:25 AM
Newbie
 
mmoore2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have question about HC4000 placement. I'm thinking about buying this projector, but I'm looking at the user manual, it seems that the offset is much greater for the 2:35 vs. the 16:9 screens.

For example, for a 16:9, 49" high (100" diagonal) screen, the offset (Hd) is 16.5"
but for 2:35, a 47" high (120" diag) screen, the offset is 28.5"

When using this method of zooming/scaling for the 2:35 size, do I go by the 16:9 offset or the 2:35 offset?

I only have a 91" ceiling, so I'm trying to keep the screen bottom to be not so close to the floor.
mmoore2 is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 02-06-2012, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
clausdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liaury View Post

The full 16x9 is projected at all times.

When I watch a 2.35:1 aspect ratio movie, the upper and lower parts of the 2.35:1 video (black bars) is projected above and below the 2.35:1 screen. When the movie is 16x9 aspect ratio, I hit the aspect ratio button on the remote, then the full 16x9 video is "shrunk" to fit in the center portion of the 2.35:1 screen (black bars on the side). It's like a small 16x9 screen within the larger 16x9 projection.

There is no manual adjustment required except for a push of a button on the remote.

Do you know if any scaler, for instance the DVDO or lumagen can do this as well? or any BD player for that matter.
clausdk is online now  
post #13 of 23 Old 02-06-2012, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MovieSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Gothenburg
Posts: 6,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by clausdk View Post

Do you know if any scaler, for instance the DVDO or lumagen can do this as well? or any BD player for that matter.

A HTPC can do this.

Good movies are as rare as an on topic discussion.
MovieSwede is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 02-06-2012, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
5mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by clausdk View Post


Do you know if any scaler, for instance the DVDO or lumagen can do this as well? or any BD player for that matter.

The Lumagens can all do this(even the older Vision models) but it takes several steps to set up. A new firmware update is supposed to make it easier with the dedicated function "letterbox zoom".

The Oppo BD players can do it as well. I believe the command is "1/2 zoom".

As far as DVDO, I know the VP50 could do it but the Edge could not shrink the image quite enough(it could work if you cropped a little off the top and bottom). Not sure about the Duo.
5mark is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 02-06-2012, 06:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CAVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 8,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5mark View Post

As far as DVDO, I know the VP50 could do it but the Edge could not shrink the image quite enough(it could work if you cropped a little off the top and bottom). Not sure about the Duo.

So have they added Horizontal and Vertical Shrink to the EDGE? The last time I played with an EDGE, it only offered custom Vertical Stretch and offered no Horizontal Shrink to counter the effects.

Mark Techer

I love my Constant Image Height system!
CAVX is online now  
post #16 of 23 Old 02-06-2012, 09:34 PM
Senior Member
 
5mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAVX View Post


So have they added Horizontal and Vertical Shrink to the EDGE? The last time I played with an EDGE, it only offered custom Vertical Stretch and offered no Horizontal Shrink to counter the effects.

I just remember someone reporting it could do a fair amount of shrink by either the zoom commands or maybe something like overscan/underscan. But this was some time ago so not new.
5mark is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 02-06-2012, 10:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CAVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 8,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5mark View Post

I just remember someone reporting it could do a fair amount of shrink by either the zoom commands or maybe something like overscan/underscan. But this was some time ago so not new.

I guess if the image is being processed with the full 33.3% VS, and you progressively shrunk the image, the geometry should remain correct. That could be a work around, thanks.

Mark Techer

I love my Constant Image Height system!
CAVX is online now  
post #18 of 23 Old 02-06-2012, 10:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CAVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 8,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy5543 View Post

Am very confused. Can I buy a 2.35.1 screen and store some zoom or scaling so I dont have to manually touch the projector for cinemascope and 16.9 movies.

There is defo some secret menu or something, so I remember reading

Apparently these projectors have "shrink" built in. Once set up, it should be a one button solution.

Mark Techer

I love my Constant Image Height system!
CAVX is online now  
post #19 of 23 Old 02-17-2012, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
JoeBoy73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Question guys....how does this setup handle movies with Subtitles?
JoeBoy73 is online now  
post #20 of 23 Old 02-19-2012, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MovieSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Gothenburg
Posts: 6,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Subtitles needs to be shifted in the player stage. Either you use a player like Oppo or Philips with subtitle shift, or a HTPC with TMT5 that can move subtitles.

Good movies are as rare as an on topic discussion.
MovieSwede is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 03-05-2012, 08:22 AM
Senior Member
 
AVS66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have HC3800 model. I've never heard this feature. Will pq be reduced if I use this feature?
AVS66 is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 03-05-2012, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MovieSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Gothenburg
Posts: 6,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVS66 View Post

I have HC3800 model. I've never heard this feature. Will pq be reduced if I use this feature?

Yes the 16:9 image will "suffer" since it has to be downsized to fit inside the 2.35 frame.

2.35:1 = 1920*817 gives us 16:9 = 1452*817. (I guess its 1440*810)

But it equals the quality of 2.35:1 movies. Same resolution/area.

Good movies are as rare as an on topic discussion.
MovieSwede is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 03-05-2012, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CAVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 8,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVS66 View Post

I have HC3800 model. I've never heard this feature. Will pq be reduced if I use this feature?

Why don't you just use it and see for your self.

Mark Techer

I love my Constant Image Height system!
CAVX is online now  
Reply 2.35:1 Constant Image Height Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off