Auto lens memory - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 01-27-2012, 01:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
davdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Norwood MA
Posts: 5,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have just recently begun looking into projectors again and I have a question.

I would look a PJ that autodetects 2.35 or 16/9 and automatically zooms to the proper lens setting. I believe the Panny AE7000U does this, but is there anything else?

I know there are others where you can use presets to go back and forth with the click of a button, but I think for WAF having this automated would be best.

I did a search on Lens Memory and too much unrelated info came up, so I am sorry if this has been hacked to death in the past.
davdev is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 01-27-2012, 01:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by davdev View Post

I have just recently begun looking into projectors again and I have a question.

I would look a PJ that autodetects 2.35 or 16/9 and automatically zooms to the proper lens setting. I believe the Panny AE7000U does this, but is there anything else?

JVC added lens memory for the latest generation, and then I think Epson has talked about it (don't know if those ever came out yet) and of course there's the high end guys that have it too.

Quote:


I know there are others where you can use presets to go back and forth with the click of a button, but I think for WAF having this automated would be best.

I don't, my understanding is that it takes a good while (5-10 seconds?) for the transition to take place, with stuff like Transformers and The Dark Knight switching back and forth (as an example) and trailers being differing ARs, and all of that, I wouldn't want my projector automatically trying to keep up with all that.

Now if you had an automation system that could do it automatically based off some metadata for the movie (like I believe Kaleidescape does), that would be cool.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 01-27-2012, 02:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
taffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes, the auto transition is not instantaneous on the AE4000. It takes about 6 seconds and you get that annoying "processing' pop up on the screen. So I dont use it, and I cannot see this working very well in multi format movies. But the lens memory is great for switching aspect ratios at the start of a movie, and multi-format movies are so rare that its really not an issue.
taffman is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 01-27-2012, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
+1

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 01-30-2012, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
davdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Norwood MA
Posts: 5,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The only multi aspect movie I have ever watched is TDK, so I am not so worried about that. To me the benefit of having it set automatically would far outway this particular drawback.

So beyond the Panny models, what other PJ's offer this solution.
davdev is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 01-30-2012, 12:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
ilsiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by davdev View Post

So beyond the Panny models, what other PJ's offer this solution.

JVC 45,55,65

Sony VW95

Epson 61000 (not available in US)
ilsiu is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 01-30-2012, 05:29 PM
Senior Member
 
rukus29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilsiu View Post

JVC 45,55,65

Sony VW95

Epson 61000 (not available in US)

that is incorrect, at least for the JVCs. They have the zoom memory but do not AUTO zoom based on the PJ detecting content automatically, you must push a button. the OP was looking for auto-zoom so he didnt have to push a button.
rukus29 is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 01-30-2012, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Maestro J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I believe the Panny is the only one with an "auto" lens memory detection feature. The JVC and Sony doesn't offer this.
Maestro J is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 01-30-2012, 07:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
ilsiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rukus29 View Post

that is incorrect, at least for the JVCs. They have the zoom memory but do not AUTO zoom based on the PJ detecting content automatically, you must push a button. the OP was looking for auto-zoom so he didnt have to push a button.

oops - missed that important point.

AFAIK, the panny is the only one that has auto detection of content.
ilsiu is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 01-30-2012, 10:11 PM
Member
 
vagpwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys im having an issue with my sony.

when i press the wide mode button for anamorphic zoom, it says not available
vagpwner is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 02-01-2012, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
davdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Norwood MA
Posts: 5,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks guys. I was leaning heavily towards the panny's to begin with and now it looks like my only option.

Thanks
davdev is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 02-01-2012, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by davdev View Post

The only multi aspect movie I have ever watched is TDK, so I am not so worried about that. To me the benefit of having it set automatically would far outway this particular drawback.

So beyond the Panny models, what other PJ's offer this solution.

I believe it will also auto switch while going through the previews and adverts that are on before you even get into the actual movie menu.

I have my function button set to scroll between the aspect ratio modes so I can go to S16:9 if the menu is off the screen once I actually get to the movie menu. Then back to 16:9 for the actual movie.

Bill
mrfattbill is online now  
post #13 of 13 Old 02-03-2012, 06:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
davdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Norwood MA
Posts: 5,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfattbill View Post

I believe it will also auto switch while going through the previews and adverts that are on before you even get into the actual movie menu.

I have my function button set to scroll between the aspect ratio modes so I can go to S16:9 if the menu is off the screen once I actually get to the movie menu. Then back to 16:9 for the actual movie.

Bill

I have an HTPC with all movies ripped so only the main movie is present. Don't have to worry about Adverts, Trailers, FBI Warnings, Menu's etc.
davdev is offline  
Reply 2.35:1 Constant Image Height Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off