Vizio shipping 58" 21x9 tv for $2800 now!!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-25-2012, 08:08 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tsd2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I decided to call about the cinema wide tv and find out why it isn't out despite the March date we all may have read about. I was told they're selling it over the phone only right now and for $700 less than listed on the website!!!

Is this because they're quietly trying to get rid of the sets?

I'm ordering one for giggles. Just to see what it's like.

I'm hoping it's because they want to clear what stock they made and do it right with folded space tech.
tsd2005 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-25-2012, 09:43 PM
Member
 
Flash676's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm still curious if this will take a native 2560x1080 signal from a PC. I'm hoping someone with one of the newer AMD 7XXX or nVidia 6XX series video cards will be able to test it.
Flash676 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-26-2012, 02:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Trogdor2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flash676 View Post

I'm still curious if this will take a native 2560x1080 signal from a PC. I'm hoping someone with one of the newer AMD 7XXX or nVidia 6XX series video cards will be able to test it.

One workaround if it doesn't support that resolution would be to create a custom resolution of 2560x1080 to match the timings of 1920x1080, and use the vizio to stretch the picture in 21:9. That isn't ideal, but it is similar to horizontal expansion with an anamorphic lens, only using more picture info than 1920x810 for example. I did this in powerstrip quite a while ago in my CIH set up and it worked.
Trogdor2010 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-27-2012, 09:18 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tsd2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got the TV today. So far Star Wars looks pretty bad ass on it. Comparing it to my 60 Inch Elite ....

I like it. Also I was sent an email that VIZIO was refunding me $300!!! As the unit just went on sale.

The OFFICIAL price dropped from $3499 to $2799. That is good news if these units can sell. I really want the 71" version now that I've seen this. However I'm certain the next generation will get the 71 and 50 and have the new tech from Panamorph.
tsd2005 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-27-2012, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsd2005 View Post

I'm certain the next generation will get the 71 and 50 and have the new tech from Panamorph.
Why are you certain?
Laserfan is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-27-2012, 09:07 PM
Member
 
0utf0xZer0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flash676 View Post

I'm still curious if this will take a native 2560x1080 signal from a PC. I'm hoping someone with one of the newer AMD 7XXX or nVidia 6XX series video cards will be able to test it.

The manual mentions making sure to adjust your PC to use the native resolution of 2560x1080, which suggests to me that it does support a native 2560x1080 signal. I hope that's correct, as the Phillips did not support one if I remember right.

Wonder what PCs actually support that as a native res, I seem to remember quite a few older graphics boards top out at 1920x1080 for HDMI and I'm not sure how well adapters handle higher resolutions either.
0utf0xZer0 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-27-2012, 10:48 PM
Member
 
Flash676's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0utf0xZer0 View Post

The manual mentions making sure to adjust your PC to use the native resolution of 2560x1080, which suggests to me that it does support a native 2560x1080 signal. I hope that's correct, as the Phillips did not support one if I remember right.
Wonder what PCs actually support that as a native res, I seem to remember quite a few older graphics boards top out at 1920x1080 for HDMI and I'm not sure how well adapters handle higher resolutions either.

The AMD Radeon 7XXX series and nVidia GeForce 6XX series (of Kepler origin) video cards are both the first series from their respective manufacturers to support such resolutions. Previous generations were limited to 1920x1080 via HDMI. The Philips TV definitely did not support a native 2560x1080 signal. Since my TV doubles as a PC monitor, I'm looking forward to finding out the answer to this.

The manual does indicate to set the PC to a 2560x1080 resolution, but it mentions this for the VGA connection. I wonder if it can handle the same resolution via HDMI.
Flash676 is offline  
Reply 2.35:1 Constant Image Height Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off