58 Inch Vizio Set Arrived - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 09-28-2012, 11:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Tj8xp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I just picked up the set from them and I really like it a lot.

It dose have some clouding ect but the price of 1900.00 for a set that I can set up and watch whenever for 2.35 stuff is great.

I have watched 4 Movies on it in the 2.35 Aspect and its just fantastic.

I really think im gonna switch my screen Downstairs with my JVC projectoe and grap a Lens smile.gif


Anyone on the fence who wants to pick one up Do it there really cool and the picture is dam good !!...

Tj8xp.....................smile.gif photo.JPG 583k .JPG file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg photo.JPG (583.5 KB, 155 views)

I like my HDTV but I LOVE My Ferrari !!!!
Tj8xp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 09-29-2012, 08:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CAVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 8,385
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tj8xp View Post

It dose have some clouding ect

Can you better explain "clouding" please?

Your images looks good. At first I thought it was a projection system.

Mark Techer

I love my Constant Image Height system!
CAVX is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 09-30-2012, 10:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Tj8xp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
When I say some clouding I mean on a black screen you see the some light bleed due to the edge lit panel. Hope I explained it right smile.gif

I like my HDTV but I LOVE My Ferrari !!!!
Tj8xp is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 10-31-2012, 01:05 PM
Member
 
0utf0xZer0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any idea if it supports 2560X1080 input from a PC?

Might need to use HDMI straight from a recent graphics board if it does - as far as I know DVI to HDMI adapters don't support carrying a dual link signal and I think that 2560X1080 would require dual link.
0utf0xZer0 is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 11-13-2012, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
meriadec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Montréal Québec
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This set is the main feature of the latest Home Theatre magazine that came out today. I will read the electronic version with Zinio tonight. Have noticed that Vizio has this set on special for 1500 USD on their site. Unfortunately, it seems that it is not available for sale here in Canada. mad.gif
meriadec is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 11-13-2012, 06:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Tj8xp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I had my set now for a little while its a fantastic Tv.

I developed two Dead pixels and Vizio is sending a replacement so I am more then happy.

I did try to display a 2560X1080 but could not get it to lock.

I will try more once I get the replacement from them.

I like my HDTV but I LOVE My Ferrari !!!!
Tj8xp is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 11-13-2012, 10:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
John Schuermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 62
It's my understanding that the set does not support 2560 x 1080.

John Schuermann, Filmmaker / Film Composer
Home Theater Industry Consultant
JS Music and Sound
Panamorph
Check out my new movie!: www.stephensonmovie.com
John Schuermann is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 11-14-2012, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
rxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: indiana
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
true enuf at 1529.00 delivered it hit my sweetspot for this niche tv,will compare to vzio's 42" and 55" m3dsr models after arrival,at this price i am less concerned about +/- and am buying in the hope vizio will procede with the larger 71" 240Hz version
rxman is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 11-23-2012, 07:13 AM
Senior Member
 
rxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: indiana
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
set arrived,set up easy , am very please with this niche display,vizo 3d cinemawide on one wall,pioneer elite fd150 on the other
rxman is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 11-24-2012, 09:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Tj8xp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
My new set arrived and its fantastic much better then the first one much better blacks no banding ect.

I really hope they or someone else comes out with a bigger set 70 + inches 21.9....smile.gif

I like my HDTV but I LOVE My Ferrari !!!!
Tj8xp is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 11-26-2012, 12:58 PM
Newbie
 
alexp120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for sharing your experiences with the Cinemawide set.

I currently own a 16:9 set and to fell the screen from 2.35/2.40 DVDs and Blu Rays I’ve been using the LG BD690 Blu Ray player’s zoom function that works pretty well-it doesn’t over magnify the image to the point that I’m missing the top and bottom of the picture like some other players.

I would think that this method would work with the Cinemawide set.

Has any owner of the Cinemawide found that to be the case?

Thanks,
alexp120 is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 01-05-2013, 01:05 PM
Newbie
 
Drastik651's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
by banding and clouding do you mean this?
Lights on
Lights off
Banding?

Either way I dont think this is normal but just looking for confirmation:rolleyes:
Drastik651 is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 01-30-2013, 05:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coolrda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Saw this at Costco yesterday. Price is now $999.00. Tempting.
coolrda is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 01-30-2013, 06:25 PM
Member
 
SSSikora's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Drastik651 - My TV has this exact same issue...it is the only thing preventing me from being very happy with it. Any change with yours?
SSSikora is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 02-03-2013, 09:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,226
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 416 Post(s)
Liked: 397
I wish my local Costco would carry this so I could take a look. Where are you guys finding it?

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
Reply 2.35:1 Constant Image Height Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off