CIW vs CIH Zoom vs CIH A-Lens for My Room - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 19 Old 11-10-2012, 06:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm working on building out a new home theater setup. Room is completely empty, not even walls -- just concrete all around. The wall that will have the screen is 16' (192") wide and 9.5' (114") high. Seating distance in optimal (middle) row will be about 16' - 20' from the screen.

I should say that I'm a relative newbie to these things, so feel free to educate me if I'm getting something horribly wrong here.

I figure that the screen can be no closer than 16" from the concrete ceiling, which gives enough space for building a wood / drywall ceiling, including acoustic and aesthetic treatments, and some space for trim around the screen. I'll need about 3" to build a floating floor. People sitting in the middle-row seats will have their eyes about 48" off the floor. Optimal screen height (based on: Eye Height - Screen Height / 3 = Screen Bottom to Floor distance) puts the screen about 21" off the floor. I could maybe fudge this a little, and move a larger screen 6" lower so it's 15" off the ground.

From what I understand, I have essentially three options:

(1) CIH w/Zoom, left/right masking. Native screen AR is 2.4:1. Now, this is key: I assume that in the zoom setup, I will *still* need top/bottom masking, so small amount of light from the projector's black bars don't bleed onto the surrounding wood cabinet. Consequently I need to in-effect be able to project a full 1.78:1 image onto my screen+masking combo. I am height constrained in my room, to a screen+masking height of about 81". Even that would be pushing it, but this gives me a screen width of 144" = 12 feet. Fits in the width of the room for sure. The image height for 2.35:1 content would be 60". Because it's CIH, the width on 1.78:1 content would be about 107". To summarize, here's the setup:

Flat Perforated Screen