Optoma HD25-LV vertical stretch problem? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 19 Old 08-14-2013, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to find a brighter projector for my CIH screen. I've been using the InFocus SP8602 for a few years and I really love the image quality except that it's just too dim for my setup. My screen is pretty large (155") and is acoustically transparent, so add the light loss from my lens and it's always been really hard to find a good projector that's bright enough. Even with a nearly new bulb, dark scenes tend to lose a bunch of detail and even watching something like a football game it just doesn't have much pop because the overall levels just aren't there.

So with the new brighter 3D projectors coming out, I thought I'd try out the Optoma HD25-LV. I couldn't care less about 3D, but I was hoping the extra lumens would help. It does that - the picture definitely isn't as nice as that of the 8602, but it's plenty bright, and I think the trade-off would be worth it to me.

BUT, when I put it into LBX / letterbox mode in order to use the vertical stretch with the anamorphic lens, the picture is stretched too far, such that the ultimate image is TOO vertically stretched. People look tall and thin. It's not so excessive that a casual viewer might not notice it, but I certainly couldn't put up with it.

Has anyone experienced this, or can anyone with an HD25 test this on their unit and see if they're seeing the same thing? I haven't found a way to adjust the stretch, but obviously if anyone knows of a way to do that that would also solve my problem. Otherwise, I'm afraid there's no way I can keep this.

On a related note, if there's no way for me to fix this, can anyone recommend a good really bright projector (comparable to the HD25) that I should try? I don't tend to be too fond of LCD image quality, but I feel like I'm running out of options.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement