Subtitles and 2.35:1 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 05-17-2014, 08:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
plight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am currently in the planning phase of my home theater and was originally planning on using a 2:35 screen. I just watched a movie (blueray) on our tv and noticed the captions were actually off the screen in the letterbox. Is there a way to work around this with a 2:35 setup? Or should I just stick with 16x9?

If 16x9 is the recommended workaround, is the letterbox noticeable in a home theater environment?
plight is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 05-17-2014, 08:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
plight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I should clarify, we will have captions on 100% of the time as my wife is deaf.
plight is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 05-17-2014, 10:15 PM
Member
 
sm4llz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My wife is also deaf so I understand the need to have Cc or subs on. I use a western digital media player to stream everything and in the options it has functionality that more the subs up. What player do you have?
sm4llz is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 05-18-2014, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 353
The ability to relocate subtitles is one of reasons I bought the Oppo BD player for use in my 2.35 setup. I haven't had to use that functionality as most of the subtitled (language dubs, not for CC) BDs have gotten the message and render the subtitles in the frame and not in the letterboxed area. But for CC that feature is probably exactly what you need.

Definitely look at the Oppo models - they are also considered to be one of the best BD players, too - which helps make that purchase a bit easier!

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 05-18-2014, 10:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
TK Doom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sun Diego
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
We watched Captain Philiips and during the first part of the movie, we were wondering why it wasn't subtitled and then i remembered this feature on my Oppo-93, very useful indeed!

TK Doom

Unreal Tournament Forever
Project Gotham Racing too!
 

TK Doom is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 05-18-2014, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK Doom View Post

We watched Captain Philiips and during the first part of the movie, we were wondering why it wasn't subtitled and then i remembered this feature on my Oppo-93, very useful indeed!

Gee, maybe I did turn that feature on and didn't remember it! Because I've watched Captain Phillips and don't recall being confused by a lack of subtitles - so they must have been on the CIH screen! biggrin.gif

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 05-18-2014, 06:35 PM
Member
 
Aussie Bob II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Try VLC media player. You can position subtitles anywhere with it. You can crop, stretch the image, and so on too. Just about everything's adjustable with VLC. And it's free.
Aussie Bob II is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 05-18-2014, 06:45 PM
Scott Horton, techht.com
 
GetGray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mid-South USA
Posts: 5,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Only if you are using a PC. I hate PC's for HT. Tried one for a couple years and fianlly said no more. They can't get frame rates right. Separate clocks for audio and video. Frame insertions or drops. Long threads about the issues here (HTPC forum). Keep waiting for Intel or AMD to fix it but AFAIK it persists. Other things will move subtitles, too. Oppo being the most popular one for all my customers. Personally, I use a Dune player, it moves them, too if needed. If it's a favorite movie and you use a media player, you can redo where the subtitle "lives" and rebuild it as a mkv.
GetGray is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 05-18-2014, 09:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
TK Doom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sun Diego
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

Gee, maybe I did turn that feature on and didn't remember it! Because I've watched Captain Phillips and don't recall being confused by a lack of subtitles - so they must have been on the CIH screen! biggrin.gif

Well, yeah, this is CIH chat, right? biggrin.gif

TK Doom

Unreal Tournament Forever
Project Gotham Racing too!
 

TK Doom is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 05-19-2014, 08:10 AM
Member
 
BakeApples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I think Panasonic also have the ability to move subtitles vertically in their latest models. This was actually one of the main reasons i bought my Oppo-93, a very useful function.

Too bad there isn't way to position subtitles when watching Netflix also.
BakeApples is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 05-19-2014, 10:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,034
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK Doom View Post

We watched Captain Philiips and during the first part of the movie, we were wondering why it wasn't subtitled and then i remembered this feature on my Oppo-93, very useful indeed!

I don't have that disc. Are you sure that the default position for the subtitles is in the letterbox bar, or did you previously leave your OPPO set to push subtitles downward for another disc?

Captain Phillips is a Sony release. Sony changed their policy regarding subtitle position in 2010, so that subtitles would be in the movie image. I will be very disappointed if they've gone back to their old ways.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 05-19-2014, 11:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
TK Doom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sun Diego
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
i dont' think i have ever moved a subtitle before that...

but, i could be wrong..but i don't recall.

TK Doom

Unreal Tournament Forever
Project Gotham Racing too!
 

TK Doom is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 05-19-2014, 12:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
plight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info guys! One less thing to worry about. I am probably going to use xbmc as my media server. Glad to know there are many other alternatives in case that doesn't work out.

sm4llz - any other considerations you have stumbled upon in regards to deaf viewers in a ht environment?
plight is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 05-20-2014, 12:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CAVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 8,378
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by GetGray View Post

Only if you are using a PC. I hate PC's for HT. Tried one for a couple years and fianlly said no more.

Totally agree on the PC front. I recently upgraded my Phillips BD player to an OPPO 103D and yeah, something I should have done ages ago. It loads fast, plays everything I throw at it and delivers a nice image.

Mark Techer

I love my Constant Image Height system!
CAVX is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 05-20-2014, 10:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,034
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK Doom View Post

i dont' think i have ever moved a subtitle before that...

If you get a chance sometime, could you check Captain Phillips again? Go into the OPPO's setup menu and set subtitle position for "0" to restore the default position. Thanks.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 05-20-2014, 11:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
TK Doom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sun Diego
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Z View Post

If you get a chance sometime, could you check Captain Phillips again? Go into the OPPO's setup menu and set subtitle position for "0" to restore the default position. Thanks.

I must say, i won't get the chance...it was a Redbox.

frown.gif

TK Doom

Unreal Tournament Forever
Project Gotham Racing too!
 

TK Doom is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 05-20-2014, 01:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,034
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK Doom View Post

I must say, i won't get the chance...it was a Redbox.

frown.gif

No worries. Thanks anyway.

I wonder if Sony authored separate discs for the rental and retail markets? Do you remember if the copy had lossless audio and all the supplements from the standard release?

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 05-20-2014, 11:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CAVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 8,378
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Z View Post

If you get a chance sometime, could you check Captain Phillips again? Go into the OPPO's setup menu and set subtitle position for "0" to restore the default position. Thanks.

Josh Z, I have not had a chance to use the ST shift on my OPPO yet, so will it hold the position from disc to disc or does it reset per title?

Mark Techer

I love my Constant Image Height system!
CAVX is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 05-21-2014, 01:38 AM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAVX View Post

Josh Z, I have not had a chance to use the ST shift on my OPPO yet, so will it hold the position from disc to disc or does it reset per title?

Holds its position Mark for every disc

_________________________

Frank

Franin is online now  
post #20 of 23 Old 05-21-2014, 10:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,034
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAVX View Post

Josh Z, I have not had a chance to use the ST shift on my OPPO yet, so will it hold the position from disc to disc or does it reset per title?

It will stay wherever you set it until you manually change it.

This differs from Philips players, which reset the subtitle position to the default once you eject the disc.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 05-21-2014, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
John Schuermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 60
IIRC there is a way to adjust it on the fly without having to go into the setup menu, but the method escapes me at the moment.

John Schuermann, Filmmaker / Film Composer
Home Theater Industry Consultant
JS Music and Sound
Panamorph
Check out my new movie!: www.stephensonmovie.com
John Schuermann is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 05-22-2014, 09:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,034
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Schuermann View Post

IIRC there is a way to adjust it on the fly without having to go into the setup menu, but the method escapes me at the moment.

If you hold down the subtitle button for a few seconds, a menu will come up allowing you to shift the position up or down. But if you go into the Setup menu, you can see the numerical value.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 05-26-2014, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Edgar_in_Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I also upgraded to an Oppo for this specific feature. Kind of a high price to pay for one feature since I was perfectly happy with my Sony BDP-S590 in almost every other respect. But my wife and her family are from Brazil, so the subs are definitely a must in our house. My family just enjoyed the subtitle shift feature last night when we were watching "Amadeus".

My home theater gallery Epson 5010 Projector, 133" Cinemascope Screen, Klipsch RF-7
Edgar_in_Indy is offline  
Reply 2.35:1 Constant Image Height Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off