Help w/ Sony vpl hs20 2.35:1 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-15-2007, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dewboy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Valparaiso, In
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a sony vpl hs20 pioneer dv45a dvd player and AnthemD-1
What do I need to do to get them to play 2.35:1 movie's on a 2.35:1 screen instead of 1.85:1?
I have been thinking about upgrading to a Anthem D-2 an/or new Sony vw 50 pearl
Again if I do not upgrade what if anything doI need to do?
I'm new to this have been reading alot and still lost sorry

Thanks
Dewboy
Dewboy3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-15-2007, 05:55 PM
Member
 
redcar54's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking of setting up 2.35 CIH too, I also have HS20. With Denon AVR2805 and replaced Denon 2910 DVD with HD DVD XA1.

After reading through 235CIH posts for a couple of weeks I would think that you/I would need an anamorphic lens and video processor. If you are going to upgrade projector now to 1080 look at the Panasonic PT-AE1000UI (read this thread)
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=769520 you will not need video processor with this projector. If you go with the Pearl you will need video processor.

Anyone correct me if I'm wrong!

I'm going to wait at least 6 months before changing over to 235CIH. Waiting to see what changes are going to happen to 1080 projectors. I'm thinking of going to go with 10ft wide CIH set up with curved screen.
redcar54 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-16-2007, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 2,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
It might be worthwhile to consider an upgrade. I have an HS10, and the problem I found with that PJ (and I believe the HS20, too) is the lens is recessed significantly. So many of the anamorphic lenses are too small, at least the more affordable ones. I'm taking the route of building my own, but you still have to factor in the HS10/20 doesn't do the needed stretch (I'm using an HTPC for that).

I'll probably upgrade in another year or so, hopefully to a 1080p PJ with the vertical stretch function built in. Then I'd be able to use CH for all source, not just my HTPC.
JDLIVE is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-16-2007, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CAVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 8,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Both the SONY HS 10 and 20 have the needed "scaling" built in, but the problem they both have is that recessed lens...

You need an anamorphic lens with a really BIG rear optic...

Mark

Mark Techer

I love my Constant Image Height system!
CAVX is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-16-2007, 08:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dewboy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Valparaiso, In
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cavx,

So is there anything out there that will work?
Or a DIY len of some type?

Thanks
Dewboy
Dewboy3 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-16-2007, 10:15 PM
Member
 
redcar54's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAVX View Post

Both the SONY HS 10 and 20 have the needed "scaling" built in, but the problem they both have is that recessed lens...

You need an anamorphic lens with a really BIG rear optic...

Mark

Mark if scaling is done with HS 20 I'm having a problem! How do I scale 1080 signal from HD DVD player or Cable box? Cable box attached to Input A and HD DVD player attached HDMI. WIDE MODE on remote can not be switched, message comes up on screen: not applicable! Also when running a 480 signal into Input A WIDE MODE scaling works, but not with 1080 signal!

Do I have to change something in menu, set up? If this could be done then I'll go for anamorphic lens.

Jim
redcar54 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-17-2007, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CAVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 8,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dewboy3 View Post

Cavx,

So is there anything out there that will work?
Or a DIY len of some type?

Thanks
Dewboy


PM me...

Quote:
Originally Posted by redcar54 View Post

Mark if scaling is done with HS 20 I'm having a problem! How do I scale 1080 signal from HD DVD player or Cable box? Cable box attached to Input A and HD DVD player attached HDMI. WIDE MODE on remote can not be switched, message comes up on screen: not applicable! Also when running a 480 signal into Input A WIDE MODE scaling works, but not with 1080 signal!

Do I have to change something in menu, set up? If this could be done then I'll go for anamorphic lens.

Yeah bummer huh... The Sonys only allow the scaling on SD signals...Right now I am using a Samsung HD 950 and it has vertical stretch for upscaled DVD to 1080i...

Mark

Mark Techer

I love my Constant Image Height system!
CAVX is offline  
Reply 2.35:1 Constant Image Height Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off