Does new JVC HD1/RS1 do vert stretch? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 33 Old 03-03-2007, 06:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jsaccio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the new JVC unit do the necessary stretching for CIH?
jsaccio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 33 Old 03-03-2007, 07:46 AM
Super Moderator
 
Bob Sorel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,460
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 111
No....
Bob Sorel is offline  
post #3 of 33 Old 03-03-2007, 07:50 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Chris1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So the question that needs to be addressed by JVC, why don't we have the 2.35 stretch option? The processor is easily capable. What excuse is there? Tom?
Chris1971 is offline  
post #4 of 33 Old 03-03-2007, 11:58 PM
Member
 
MichaelCarey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Port Lincoln, South Australia, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From what I understand from the (downloaded) manual, the Zoom function will do the required vertical stretch needed for CIH, but it only works for SD input sources. I hope someone can confirm or refute this.
Zoom mode in widescreen projectors is a "hangover" from the days of LaserDisc and non-anamorphic enhanced widescreen DVD's where 4:3 formatted video (with widescreen content) is stretched horizontally (to fit a widescreen display) and vertically to eliminate or minimize the black bars and restore image geometry.

I too hope JVC can provide a "proper" CIH solution for the HD1/RS1 without the need for an external scaler.

Michael.

Port Lincoln
South Australia

I love watching movies!

HT Flickr Page

MichaelCarey is offline  
post #5 of 33 Old 03-04-2007, 01:00 AM
Senior Member
 
benthx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes it will be seen and checked on the 9th March.

Ben

Home Theatre Experience.........thats whats its all about!

Dont tell me it cant be done...there is ALWAYS a way.
benthx is offline  
post #6 of 33 Old 03-04-2007, 06:11 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Chris1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why? What is March 9?

Tom T, any update... please!! Stretch is the only thing holding me back.
Chris1971 is offline  
post #7 of 33 Old 03-04-2007, 06:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CAVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 8,378
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Won't this still require the source to be anamorphically enhanced?

Mark

Mark Techer

I love my Constant Image Height system!
CAVX is offline  
post #8 of 33 Old 03-11-2007, 03:12 PM
Member
 
Certified D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The DLA-HD1 has "Letterbox" Aspect Ratio that does the vertical stretch. Unfortunately, it works only on SD input signals, NOT HD! Whenever you input 1080i/p, the projector assumes the source must be 16:9 and won't allow vertical stretch with the "Letterbox" AR.
Maybe JVC will come up with a fix/upgrade.
Certified D is offline  
post #9 of 33 Old 03-11-2007, 04:46 PM
Senior Member
 
benthx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Communication has been sent ot Japan and requested.

Ben

Home Theatre Experience.........thats whats its all about!

Dont tell me it cant be done...there is ALWAYS a way.
benthx is offline  
post #10 of 33 Old 03-11-2007, 07:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Jagercola's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Ben,

This feature was requested months ago by JVC engineers in the USA. Have you gotten some sort of indication that the VS feature will be added or did you just send in a similar request?
Jagercola is offline  
post #11 of 33 Old 03-12-2007, 06:36 AM
Member
 
Lone Granger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: UK Midlands
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jagercola View Post

Ben,

This feature was requested months ago by JVC engineers in the USA. Have you gotten some sort of indication that the VS feature will be added or did you just send in a similar request?

pardon my ignorance (not much anamorphic in UK) - assuming JVC offer firmware upgrade, will this then allow all horizontal pixels to be visually active (1080 not 810) then require a corretive lens

As such a lot of 1080 movie material is 2.35 shouldnt a quality 1080 PJ supplier offer alternative screw in primary lenses rather than expect the customer to go and tack on some aftermarket universal $2000 correcter??

Is lense user removable and we are just waiting for alternative primary from JVC?
Lone Granger is offline  
post #12 of 33 Old 03-12-2007, 06:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
video_bit_bucket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Atlanta Ga
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, the idea is to use the full vertical resolution and then correct with a lens, that is with a HC setup.

Yes it would make sense for the PJ manufacturer to offer something like that.

From what I have read on the forums here the JVC lens is not removable. Generally Even the PJ manufactures that offer CIH scope functionality use a second lens in front and not an alternative primary lense.
video_bit_bucket is offline  
post #13 of 33 Old 03-19-2007, 05:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
mlang46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Posts: 905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris1971 View Post

So the question that needs to be addressed by JVC, why don't we have the 2.35 stretch option? The processor is easily capable. What excuse is there? Tom?


I was about ready to buy an RS1 untill I found out it did not have a stretch mode.

Key digital has an inexpensive switcher/ scaler which includes a stretch mode.

Has any one tried this? its much less expensive than an outboard processor.
mlang46 is offline  
post #14 of 33 Old 03-19-2007, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CAVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 8,378
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Do you have a link? If so, please post it...

Mark

Mark Techer

I love my Constant Image Height system!
CAVX is offline  
post #15 of 33 Old 03-19-2007, 10:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
mlang46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Posts: 905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAVX View Post

Do you have a link? If so, please post it...

Mark


Here is the link http://sewelldirect.com/4x1-hdmi-switch-processor.asp

It looks like it does the stretch
mlang46 is offline  
post #16 of 33 Old 03-19-2007, 03:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mark Lem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlang46 View Post

Here is the link http://sewelldirect.com/4x1-hdmi-switch-processor.asp

It looks like it does the stretch

I don't see where it says it does vertical stretch. It scales a lower res input to your PJ's resolution, it switches hdmi, it's also not cheap at $1000. Does not mention whose chip it uses either.
Mark Lem is offline  
post #17 of 33 Old 03-19-2007, 09:02 PM
Member
 
sarkleshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: san jose, ca
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is vertical zoom the same as vertical stretch on the key digital switcher/scaler?
sarkleshark is offline  
post #18 of 33 Old 03-19-2007, 10:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Samaritano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Samaritano is offline  
post #19 of 33 Old 03-19-2007, 11:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CAVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 8,378
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarkleshark View Post

Is vertical zoom the same as vertical stretch on the key digital switcher/scaler?

I would Ass-U-Me so, but then I have not seen the actual product...

Mark

Mark Techer

I love my Constant Image Height system!
CAVX is offline  
post #20 of 33 Old 03-20-2007, 04:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
A/Vspec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 1,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, the keydigital does the vertical stretch. There is a thread on it.

-Mark AKA A/Vspec
ISF certified Audio/Video Specialist

Home of the ISF and Audyssey Pro calibrated Medieval Knight Theater:
http://www.digitalvortex.com
A/Vspec is offline  
post #21 of 33 Old 03-20-2007, 10:57 AM
Member
 
frankm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if using the Lumagen Vision HDP with the RS-1 will allow the HD signals to be vertically stretched so an anamorphic lens will be able to expand the picture to 2.35? If so, how is this done? Thanks
frankm is offline  
post #22 of 33 Old 03-20-2007, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
usualsuspects's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankm View Post

Does anyone know if using the Lumagen Vision HDP with the RS-1 will allow the HD signals to be vertically stretched so an anamorphic lens will be able to expand the picture to 2.35? If so, how is this done? Thanks

Yes, the Lumagen HDP/HDQ/PRO scalers can vertically stretch SD and HD to fill the 16:9 panel, and the lens will either squish it back down by 33% (VC lens) or expand it horizontally by 33% (HE lens). It's just a matter of setup of the scaler.
usualsuspects is offline  
post #23 of 33 Old 03-20-2007, 12:27 PM
Member
 
LenVP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In regards to the RS-1, if a processor such as the Key Digital is used to achieve the vertical stretch, is the onboard Gennum video processing in the RS-1 bypassed? Would you then be using an inferior video processor, or will the Key Digital simply do the stretch and nothing else?
I'm a bit confused, as I understand that the Gennum in the RS-1 is outstanding. I really want to be able to use this for 2.35:1
It is tough to swallow, adding $600 just to stretch the image, but if it also hinders the quality, then it is not worth it to me.
Can someone attempt to clarify this?
Thanks alot.

Len
LenVP is offline  
post #24 of 33 Old 03-20-2007, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wet1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Given the seemingly unfixable oversaturation issue with the RS1 /HD1, it looks like I might be forced into buying a VP to gain saturation control. If I'm going to spend the money on a VP, going to a CIH system becomes an option I hadn't previously considered. With that said, I have a couple of basic questions for you guys...

My RS1 is mounted at the min throw and using max zoom to achieve the largest 16:9 image I can given my space constraints. Will this be an issue with using an add-on CIH lens?

My 16:9 screen is 83.5" x 47". Does this mean I could go to a 110.5" x 47" screen given the same throw and zoom setting if I used a HE lens?

What lens are you guys considering with this PJ? Any recommendations for a VP (under $2k) which will do at least as good of a job scaling as the RS1 does independently?

Sorry about the newbie questions... I've never had any interest in going CIH before I realized I might be forced into buying a VP.
Wet1 is offline  
post #25 of 33 Old 03-20-2007, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wet1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LenVP View Post

In regards to the RS-1, if a processor such as the Key Digital is used to achieve the vertical stretch, is the onboard Gennum video processing in the RS-1 bypassed? Would you then be using an inferior video processor, or will the Key Digital simply do the stretch and nothing else?
I'm a bit confused, as I understand that the Gennum in the RS-1 is outstanding. I really want to be able to use this for 2.35:1
It is tough to swallow, adding $600 just to stretch the image, but if it also hinders the quality, then it is not worth it to me.
Can someone attempt to clarify this?
Thanks alot.

Unfortunately, you would be using the inferior processor to achieve the desired stretch. While the cheap VP idea sounds great, it's not worth giving up one of the better attributes of the RS1 to do so IMO.
Wet1 is offline  
post #26 of 33 Old 03-21-2007, 10:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
mlang46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Posts: 905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Lem View Post

I don't see where it says it does vertical stretch. It scales a lower res input to your PJ's resolution, it switches hdmi, it's also not cheap at $1000. Does not mention whose chip it uses either.


It says it does letterbox which is vertical stretch. I don't know what chip it has and there is a power buy on AVS forum for 599.

I have looked at outboard processors and the average price seems to be around 3000 dollars and manufactures which use the Genum chip charge 5000 dollars or more which shows you what a shame it is that JVC did not incorporate the function of the Genum chip to stretch a 2:35 image.

John From Integrity Home Theater mentioned to me that he is bringing one in house to test

I want a letterbox stretch function because I want to set up a CIH screen and without it the anamorphic lens I have is useless
mlang46 is offline  
post #27 of 33 Old 03-21-2007, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Be carefull with the word letterbox. It is NOT always used to mean vertical stretch. That aside, this unit, according to its manual, does the proper stretch.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #28 of 33 Old 03-21-2007, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Samaritano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet1 View Post

Unfortunately, you would be using the inferior processor to achieve the desired stretch. While the cheap VP idea sounds great, it's not worth giving up one of the better attributes of the RS1 to do so IMO.

This unit says to have pass-through mode as long as the input equals the output.
So if you are feeding it a 1080i/60 from a HD-DVD, do the vertical stretch and then output this as 1080i/60. Wouldn't then the RS-1 onboard video processor take over the duties of de interlacing, rescaling and such?

Edgar
Samaritano is offline  
post #29 of 33 Old 03-21-2007, 06:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wet1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samaritano View Post

This unit says to have pass-through mode as long as the input equals the output.
So if you are feeding it a 1080i/60 from a HD-DVD, do the vertical stretch and then output this as 1080i/60. Wouldn't then the RS-1 onboard video processor take over the duties of de interlacing, rescaling and such?

Someone please correct me if I'm wrong:

If the unit is in pass-through mode, you won't be able to use the stretch function.... the image will need to be processed by the VP for the stretch to happen.
Wet1 is offline  
post #30 of 33 Old 03-21-2007, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CAVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 8,378
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by coldmachine View Post

Be carefull with the word letterbox. It is NOT always used to mean vertical stretch. That aside, this unit, according to its manual, does the proper stretch.

My understanding of this unit is yes, it does provide the "scaling" we need for CIH, but only for SD. You will still need an external scaler for HD at this time...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet1 View Post

Someone please correct me if I'm wrong:

If the unit is in pass-through mode, you won't be able to use the stretch function.... the image will need to be processed by the VP for the stretch to happen.

I would have to agree. This sounds like the "through" mode on many projectors...

Mark

Mark Techer

I love my Constant Image Height system!
CAVX is offline  
Reply 2.35:1 Constant Image Height Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off