Question on current MAME releases - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 04-28-2008, 06:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,873
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I built a cab several years ago and I believe the last version of MAME I had in there was...err...well I can't remember.

What I do remember is that it was one of the first releases to support the HD based games like Area 51 and such, tho the computer in my MameCAB (a 1.4Ghz Athlon system from ancient times, it now seems!) was woefully incapable of running them. Still it played all the classics.

But since then its been ages since I've even sniffed at MAME....is there a page out there that shows you the lists (or screenshots) of the newer games supported with each release? This way I can see if its even worthwhile to bother upgrading to a newer version.

Thanks

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 04-29-2008, 09:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
meany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try here


http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/inde...board,1.0.html

I have 0.93 and was able to play Area 51. Most of the CHD files on the last version are still realativly unplayable though.
meany is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 05-14-2008, 11:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah arcade controls is about the best for this stuff. IF your PC won't play it now, it will probably play even worse with the newer versions. I have noticed lately that Mame releases lately have been reducing optomization to make the releases more accurate. It only seems to negatively affect the games that are more recent.

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 05-15-2008, 06:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,873
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Yeah arcade controls is great, thats the place I hung when I was building my cab oh, ages ago......I was just wondering if MAME actually had any new games *worth playing* is all.

I was trying to find a list of games and it looks like.....a bunch of obscure "you'd never play it anyways" clones, a bunch of hard drive games that nobody can play due to accuracy, and a couple new fighting games.

???? I think the release I have has the two AD&D side-scrollres, etc..I think it was one of the last of the "really good releases"....I really need to fire it up and find out.

I remember hooking up a wheel to my cab and trying to play through like...Cruisin World, and then going "WTF am I doing", and I fired up Need FOr Speed Underground. 800x better graphics and performance, so MAME has its limitations.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 05-15-2008, 10:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Spartan94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Middle of Michigan
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Indeed. It's been well over 2 years since I've updated the software in my cab -- I think I am at release 105. The kids dig it, so why make more work for myself?
Spartan94 is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 05-19-2008, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah no kidding. Both of my MAME machines are decommissioned for repair. I am starting to miss them so I will probably update to a later MAME version. I think I might update my front end to a newer one. I was using MameWah.

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 05-19-2008, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Spartan94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Middle of Michigan
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cameron View Post

Yeah no kidding. Both of my MAME machines are decommissioned for repair. I am starting to miss them so I will probably update to a later MAME version. I think I might update my front end to a newer one. I was using MameWah.

I started out on ArcadeOS on DOS, then moved a couple of different ones (gamelauncher?) before I settled on MaLa. It works really well on my cocktail table.
Spartan94 is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 05-19-2008, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah Mala is up on the list. I am really lazy these days so I need something quick and easy on the setup.

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 05-21-2008, 08:48 PM
Newbie
 
sman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't forget about GameEX as a front end. It works pretty flawlessly for me. Finished this baby up a couple years ago.

guess i can't post urls til 3 posts. (forum rules)
sman26 is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 05-21-2008, 08:49 PM
Newbie
 
sman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let me see if this works....
sman26 is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 05-21-2008, 08:50 PM
Newbie
 
sman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sman26 is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 05-22-2008, 06:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,873
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Do you need to use the command line executable version of MAME for GameEX? Honestly I ran Mame32 for so long I never felt a need to switch......

OH and nice job on the Cab..is that an original or repo artwork, looks nice and clean....

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 05-22-2008, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check out the upcoming HyperSpin FE.

http://hyperspin-fe.com/index.php?op...d=21&Itemid=38

I think this will be the one for me. Not 100% sure yet.

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 05-30-2008, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gnolivos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: OHIO, USA
Posts: 1,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Nice work! Check my similar Centipede MAME cabinet:

http://www.vesperworks.com/mame/


Quote:
Originally Posted by sman26 View Post

here it is...

http://home.neb.rr.com/shawndone/


The Moderno Theatre! Slideshow (here, and here!)
Pixar screenplay slideshows here!
gnolivos is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 05-30-2008, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gnolivos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: OHIO, USA
Posts: 1,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Sman: Your cab has not bezel.. why? I have a PERFECT vecotr traced artwork for the bezel if you want it. I created it myself, and you can scale it to suit your specific sizing needs... it took me numerous hours to trace the original one, and it prints out absolutely beautifully. Stunning.

The Moderno Theatre! Slideshow (here, and here!)
Pixar screenplay slideshows here!
gnolivos is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 05-30-2008, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
meany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Those are some sweet Centipede cabs. Better than Atari could make. Have fun playing
meany is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 05-30-2008, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sweet cabs!

I am about to finish off my redo of my bartop project:
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=54840.0

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 06-01-2008, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
elmalloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Cameron I'm fighting with you to have the most "last" replies in the game room equipment forum

Current Projects:
IN PROGRESS (80%) - Building 3D Theater room.
IN PROGRESS (30%) - Building Lounge/Hallway Area.
IN PROGRESS (15%) - Building Home LAN (4 PCs).
ON HOLD - Building Home Gym.
ON HOLD - Building Simulation Room (Eyefinity).
ON HOLD - Building Theater room (Sim2 HT380, 2.35 14ft wide).
elmalloc is offline  
Reply Game Room Equipment & Accessories

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off