What brand HDMI Cable do you use? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Otto Pylot
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-26-2014, 07:49 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Plasma5300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 19
What brand HDMI Cable do you use?

I was just wondering which brand hdmi cable and at what length? Just curious.
Plasma5300 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2014, 04:21 AM
Member
 
Signs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Just cheap unbranded ones as i don't need to go over 5 meters
Signs is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 05:23 AM
Member
 
landlocked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mooresville NC
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Monoprice

Last edited by landlocked; 06-30-2014 at 05:24 AM. Reason: included quote in error
landlocked is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 5,016
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Mono price Redmere 30 and 40 foot. Prefect, never once a drop or sparlly or any other cable related issue as of 1 year now.

Doug
Planar PD8150 paired with a Dalite HP 2.8 110"
http://www.airscapesart.com

 
airscapes is offline  
Old 08-01-2014, 05:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The best HDMI cable, that I heard its Monster 1000HD Ultimate High-Speed HDMI Cable.
But I use Cmple 28 AWG HDMI
grols is offline  
Old 08-02-2014, 01:26 AM
Member
 
aftcomet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 19
No offense, but discussing the brand of an HDMI cable is the most useless thing ever.
aftcomet is offline  
Old 08-02-2014, 02:29 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Plasma5300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by aftcomet View Post
No offense, but discussing the brand of an HDMI cable is the most useless thing ever.
I hear you. I was just curious. Hdmi is hdmi.
Plasma5300 is offline  
Old 08-02-2014, 01:30 PM
Member
 
aftcomet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plasma5300 View Post
I hear you. I was just curious. Hdmi is hdmi.
Yup. Digital so it doesn't matter. I usually get $1 cables from eBay.
aftcomet is offline  
Old 08-13-2014, 09:41 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Plasma5300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Ive heard of redmere for thin cables with the chip to push the data. Now I seen a sony slim cable. Its really thin. Im not sure if it has a chip in it. Is it ppssible for a thin cable without the chip to push all the data correctly?
Plasma5300 is offline  
Old 08-15-2014, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Avliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Monoprice cables all'round, + a 30' Redmere to the PJ... no complaints whatsoever...

Regards, Chuck
Hold on tight to your dreams - ELO
Avliner is offline  
Old 08-16-2014, 07:23 PM
Member
 
SeveredDime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Monoprice, my longest run is 40'. No issues.
SeveredDime is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 04:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
weaselfest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Home of the Hawkeyes
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plasma5300 View Post
Ive heard of redmere for thin cables with the chip to push the data. Now I seen a sony slim cable. Its really thin. Im not sure if it has a chip in it. Is it ppssible for a thin cable without the chip to push all the data correctly?
Extron's longest super thin HDMI cable that is passive is only available up to 2m in length, for what that's worth.

underachiever extraordinaire
weaselfest is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 8,338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 503 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by grols View Post
The best HDMI cable, that I heard its Monster 1000HD Ultimate High-Speed HDMI Cable.
But I use Cmple 28 AWG HDMI
Pure marketing b.s. Plain and simple. Any HDMI cable that comes with a certificate of compliance for the length you buy will work just fine. Presently, 25' is the maximum length that can be certified for passive high speed hdmi. Thicker gauge wire can be used just fine for longer lengths, or if your runs are under 25', you can probably get away with a smaller gauge wire if you need the flexibility and less strain on the connector end. If you need an active cable, Redmere works great.
tubetwister likes this.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Old 10-01-2014, 11:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yes, Monoprice is really great..
Levonpoche is offline  
Old 10-01-2014, 11:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,352
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by grols View Post
The best HDMI cable, that I heard its Monster 1000HD Ultimate High-Speed HDMI Cable.
But I use Cmple 28 AWG HDMI

I use to use those too but they are so heavy and rigid they started to break my HDMI inputs on my AVR's
NODES is offline  
Old 10-02-2014, 12:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Outer Limits....Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 4,763
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1254 Post(s)
Liked: 581
Monoprice ,AmazonBasics , Newegg generics 6' to 12' they all are inexpensive and work fine .

"The wireless music box has no commercial value. Who would pay for a message sent to nobody in particular?"
- David Sarnoff's associates at RCA the 1920's -
tubetwister is offline  
Old 10-05-2014, 12:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Whatever I can find cheap, not brand loyal and have never had an issue...
adeehr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off