What brand HDMI Cable do you use? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 32 Old 06-26-2014, 08:49 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Plasma5300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 23
What brand HDMI Cable do you use?

I was just wondering which brand hdmi cable and at what length? Just curious.
Plasma5300 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 32 Old 06-30-2014, 05:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Signs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 606
Just cheap unbranded ones as i don't need to go over 5 meters
Signs is offline  
post #3 of 32 Old 06-30-2014, 06:23 AM
Member
 
landlocked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mooresville NC
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Monoprice

Last edited by landlocked; 06-30-2014 at 06:24 AM. Reason: included quote in error
landlocked is offline  
post #4 of 32 Old 06-30-2014, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 5,531
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Mono price Redmere 30 and 40 foot. Prefect, never once a drop or sparlly or any other cable related issue as of 1 year now.

Doug
Planar PD8150 with DC4 DMD paired with a Dalite HP 2.8 110"
http://www.airscapesart.com

 
airscapes is offline  
post #5 of 32 Old 08-01-2014, 06:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The best HDMI cable, that I heard its Monster 1000HD Ultimate High-Speed HDMI Cable.
But I use Cmple 28 AWG HDMI
grols is offline  
post #6 of 32 Old 08-02-2014, 02:26 AM
Member
 
aftcomet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 19
No offense, but discussing the brand of an HDMI cable is the most useless thing ever.
aftcomet is offline  
post #7 of 32 Old 08-02-2014, 03:29 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Plasma5300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by aftcomet View Post
No offense, but discussing the brand of an HDMI cable is the most useless thing ever.
I hear you. I was just curious. Hdmi is hdmi.
Plasma5300 is offline  
post #8 of 32 Old 08-02-2014, 02:30 PM
Member
 
aftcomet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plasma5300 View Post
I hear you. I was just curious. Hdmi is hdmi.
Yup. Digital so it doesn't matter. I usually get $1 cables from eBay.
aftcomet is offline  
post #9 of 32 Old 08-13-2014, 10:41 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Plasma5300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Ive heard of redmere for thin cables with the chip to push the data. Now I seen a sony slim cable. Its really thin. Im not sure if it has a chip in it. Is it ppssible for a thin cable without the chip to push all the data correctly?
Plasma5300 is offline  
post #10 of 32 Old 08-15-2014, 11:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Avliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Monoprice cables all'round, + a 30' Redmere to the PJ... no complaints whatsoever...

Regards, Chuck
Hold on tight to your dreams - ELO
Avliner is online now  
post #11 of 32 Old 08-16-2014, 08:23 PM
Member
 
SeveredDime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Monoprice, my longest run is 40'. No issues.
SeveredDime is offline  
post #12 of 32 Old 08-28-2014, 05:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
weaselfest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Home of the Hawkeyes
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plasma5300 View Post
Ive heard of redmere for thin cables with the chip to push the data. Now I seen a sony slim cable. Its really thin. Im not sure if it has a chip in it. Is it ppssible for a thin cable without the chip to push all the data correctly?
Extron's longest super thin HDMI cable that is passive is only available up to 2m in length, for what that's worth.

underachiever extraordinaire
weaselfest is offline  
post #13 of 32 Old 08-31-2014, 07:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 10,442
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1234 Post(s)
Liked: 795
Quote:
Originally Posted by grols View Post
The best HDMI cable, that I heard its Monster 1000HD Ultimate High-Speed HDMI Cable.
But I use Cmple 28 AWG HDMI
Pure marketing b.s. Plain and simple. Any HDMI cable that comes with a certificate of compliance for the length you buy will work just fine. Presently, 25' is the maximum length that can be certified for passive high speed hdmi. Thicker gauge wire can be used just fine for longer lengths, or if your runs are under 25', you can probably get away with a smaller gauge wire if you need the flexibility and less strain on the connector end. If you need an active cable, Redmere works great.
tubetwister likes this.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #14 of 32 Old 10-02-2014, 12:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yes, Monoprice is really great..
Levonpoche is offline  
post #15 of 32 Old 10-02-2014, 12:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,923
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 652 Post(s)
Liked: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by grols View Post
The best HDMI cable, that I heard its Monster 1000HD Ultimate High-Speed HDMI Cable.
But I use Cmple 28 AWG HDMI

I use to use those too but they are so heavy and rigid they started to break my HDMI inputs on my AVR's
bluewaves likes this.
NODES is offline  
post #16 of 32 Old 10-02-2014, 01:07 AM
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Outer Limits....Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 5,215
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1384 Post(s)
Liked: 620
Monoprice ,AmazonBasics , Newegg generics 6' to 12' they all are inexpensive and work fine .
tubetwister is offline  
post #17 of 32 Old 10-05-2014, 01:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Whatever I can find cheap, not brand loyal and have never had an issue...
adeehr is offline  
post #18 of 32 Old 11-18-2015, 05:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Most of the cheap ones are very good. I have a bunch of eBay ones that work perfect.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Jonnypro16 is offline  
post #19 of 32 Old 12-04-2015, 06:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Bill97Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonnypro16 View Post
Most of the cheap ones are very good. I have a bunch of eBay ones that work perfect.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I have been using mediabridge ultra from amazon. I tried amazon basics cables (3 pack) and two were bad. I started experiencing pink and purple color casts (BAD) on my TV and thought it was the set, but replacing the cables fixed it.
GrandPixel likes this.
Bill97Z is offline  
post #20 of 32 Old 12-04-2015, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
 
luisev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Monoprice Redmere to my projector and Belden Bonded Pair from Bluejeans Cable for everything else.

B&W 804 and HTM | Emotiva ERD-1 | DIY 18" Sub
Emotiva XMC-1 | XPA-2 | XPA-5 | Crown XLS 2502
Samsung 58" Plasma | BenQ HT1075 100" Screen
Amazon Fire TV with XMBC | Oppo BDP-103 Bluray Player
Mogami and Blue Jeans Cables
ATS and DIY Acoustic Panels
luisev is offline  
post #21 of 32 Old 12-04-2015, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Md's lower shore
Posts: 1,116
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 206
amazon mediabridge 3', 5' 10'

TV- Samsung 55" UHD (UN55JU6500FXZA)
service - directv
Receiver - Denon AVR-X2100W,
Speakers -F L/R - Infinity Primus P363, C - Infinity Primus PC351
Sub - Klipsch Sub-12HG
(slow build out)
mdram is offline  
post #22 of 32 Old 12-04-2015, 09:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 4
+1 monoprice
sweets1 is offline  
post #23 of 32 Old 04-16-2016, 09:51 AM
Member
 
ELECTRICDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I only use Audioquest
ELECTRICDON is offline  
post #24 of 32 Old 04-20-2016, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Md's lower shore
Posts: 1,116
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 206
amazon

TV- Samsung 55" UHD (UN55JU6500FXZA)
service - directv
Receiver - Denon AVR-X2100W,
Speakers -F L/R - Infinity Primus P363, C - Infinity Primus PC351
Sub - Klipsch Sub-12HG
(slow build out)
mdram is offline  
post #25 of 32 Old 04-21-2016, 01:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Amazon as well.
rajivhifi is offline  
post #26 of 32 Old 04-23-2016, 11:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I've used Monoprice HDMI cables for years and they still remain the only place I buy HDMI cables from. I'm sure other places have good quality for the price, but I have found their cables to be fantastic quality at great prices with very good customer service to boot. Any time I've had to talk to their support staff, they've fixed any issue I've had quickly and with little to no effort on my part. I recommend them to anybody who asks.
stufio is offline  
post #27 of 32 Old 05-04-2016, 11:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
GrandPixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I got a variety of lengths of thin (flexible) and cheap hdmi cables from ebay a while back. They work fine and it's handy to have some extras for various purposes. I also purchased 30' and 50' RedMere cables (Cabernet Ultra series) from monoprice a while back during 40% off! sale - excellent deal! I intend to use them when I set up theater at my new place this Summer. Equipment will be in a closet at back of room, so 30' is to projector, 50' is to TV at front of room. I used the 30' one for an outdoor movie, worked great! Also they are both 18Gbps, so 4k60 capable.
GrandPixel is offline  
post #28 of 32 Old 05-09-2016, 02:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 10,442
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1234 Post(s)
Liked: 795
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrandPixel View Post
I got a variety of lengths of thin (flexible) and cheap hdmi cables from ebay a while back. They work fine and it's handy to have some extras for various purposes. I also purchased 30' and 50' RedMere cables (Cabernet Ultra series) from monoprice a while back during 40% off! sale - excellent deal! I intend to use them when I set up theater at my new place this Summer. Equipment will be in a closet at back of room, so 30' is to projector, 50' is to TV at front of room. I used the 30' one for an outdoor movie, worked great! Also they are both 18Gbps, so 4k60 capable.
Unless the cables are certified by an ATC for a given length at 18Gbps there is no guarantee that you will get 4k, 4:4:4 @60Hz over about 15' - 20' unless they are 26AWG or thicker. And even then, there's no guarantee. The cable is probably listed as "up to 18Gbps".
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #29 of 32 Old 05-09-2016, 02:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
GrandPixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Unless the cables are certified by an ATC for a given length at 18Gbps there is no guarantee that you will get 4k, 4:4:4 @60Hz over about 15' - 20' unless they are 26AWG or thicker. And even then, there's no guarantee. The cable is probably listed as "up to 18Gbps".
These are active cables with RedMere, and yes they are claiming 18Gbps for cables up to 50'.

http://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=12962
GrandPixel is offline  
post #30 of 32 Old 05-09-2016, 03:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 10,442
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1234 Post(s)
Liked: 795
There is nothing magical about cables with Redmere technology. They just draw a little power from the sink end to extend the HDMI signal longer than 25' using proprietary chipsets to ensure signal integrity and timing. However, at long lengths some Redmere cables do not have the updated chipsets in them so they have issues with the video protocols that require the higher bandwidths. Just be aware of that in case you start to develop issues. They may claim bandwidths up to 18Gbps at 50' but I'd be surprised if it comes with a certificate of compliance for a 50' cable that has been tested for 4k, 4:4:4 @60Hz following ATC testing protocols.
'
Otto Pylot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Game Room Equipment & Accessories



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off