Bar plans? - Page 12 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 856 Old 03-09-2008, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chinadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 5,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Not sure, but can you do it in two steps? First a smaller amount on the top to level it - it would pool to the lower area. The second pour would be to complete the top.

Bud
chinadog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 856 Old 03-09-2008, 10:24 PM
Member
 
dlclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://triplejinlay.com/

This link has a gallery of photos from a custom builder in central, IL. He builds custom bars, poker tables, etc. Notice that he doesn't use stain, the color variance comes from use of different wood species. The bar he made for the Pub II in Normal, IL is really something. Probably not a DIY project but maybe inspiration for someone.
dlclark is offline  
post #333 of 856 Old 03-10-2008, 06:52 AM
Member
 
cjrivera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlclark View Post

http://triplejinlay.com/

This link has a gallery of photos from a custom builder in central, IL. He builds custom bars, poker tables, etc. Notice that he doesn't use stain, the color variance comes from use of different wood species. The bar he made for the Pub II in Normal, IL is really something. Probably not a DIY project but maybe inspiration for someone.

Ahhh... the Pub II. Maybe I never noticed the bar there because I was too busy scarfing down all their famous cheese balls. Good times, good times.
cjrivera is offline  
post #334 of 856 Old 03-13-2008, 12:50 PM
Newbie
 
calmman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went to quite a few sites for ideas, and one I believe is called barplans.com.

<a href="http://www.scentorama.com">The Perfume</a>
<a href="http://www.emdrugs.com">Natural Diet</a>
calmman is offline  
post #335 of 856 Old 03-13-2008, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
str1der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ky
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wish I could find some plans that use premade cabinets in their plans. I'm sure I can eventually figure something out but it would be nice to see something to start with.
str1der is offline  
post #336 of 856 Old 03-13-2008, 03:32 PM
Newbie
 
Capy235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If your bar is not fastened to the floor you can use common wood wedges available at any home center to create a level before you pour. My bar is 10' on the front and a 6' return on one end and that is my plan when the time comes. Good luck and let us know how it come out.
Capy235 is offline  
post #337 of 856 Old 03-13-2008, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeyNow^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Martinsburg, Wv USA
Posts: 2,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by str1der View Post

I wish I could find some plans that use premade cabinets in their plans. I'm sure I can eventually figure something out but it would be nice to see something to start with.

wow...there are a lot of folks on here that have finished their bars and chronicaled how they did it with cabinets....Irmo, Bud (chinadAWG)(Chinadog), many others. Plans, smans....get creative bro!....
HeyNow^ is offline  
post #338 of 856 Old 03-14-2008, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IrmoGamecoq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 4,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yep, Randy's right, I used pre-built cabs on my bar, both for underneath and hanging back behind it.
IrmoGamecoq is offline  
post #339 of 856 Old 03-14-2008, 11:05 AM
Senior Member
 
str1der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ky
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IrmoGamecoq View Post

Yep, Randy's right, I used pre-built cabs on my bar, both for underneath and hanging back behind it.


Do you have any pics? This thread is getting kind of big.
str1der is offline  
post #340 of 856 Old 03-17-2008, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
str1der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ky
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this bar belong to anyone on this board? It's almost exactly what I was looking to build. http://www.electronichouse.com/slide...egory/3192/566
str1der is offline  
post #341 of 856 Old 03-17-2008, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IrmoGamecoq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 4,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by str1der View Post

Do you have any pics? This thread is getting kind of big.

Do a search on my userID for threads started...I don't start many threads so you won't have to look far. Good luck!
IrmoGamecoq is offline  
post #342 of 856 Old 03-17-2008, 10:37 AM
Senior Member
 
rmcveigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by str1der View Post

Does this bar belong to anyone on this board? It's almost exactly what I was looking to build. http://www.electronichouse.com/slide...egory/3192/566

That's Bud's (chinadog) bar! Bud, I didn't know you made Electronic House. Cool!

-Ryan
rmcveigh is offline  
post #343 of 856 Old 03-17-2008, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HeyNow^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Martinsburg, Wv USA
Posts: 2,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Chinadog. Look under Blazing Ridge Cinema in the Theater build forum.
HeyNow^ is offline  
post #344 of 856 Old 03-17-2008, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chinadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 5,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Yes, it got added just today. The person actually wrote the article a while back and it just went out. I forgot it was coming with all the stuff going on in the ATL over the weekend.

Bud
chinadog is offline  
post #345 of 856 Old 03-17-2008, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
str1der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ky
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IrmoGamecoq View Post

Do a search on my userID for threads started...I don't start many threads so you won't have to look far. Good luck!

None of your pics show up in the thread.
str1der is offline  
post #346 of 856 Old 03-17-2008, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IrmoGamecoq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 4,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Okay, sorry about that. Not sure what's up with it then.

Can anybody else see the pics in the thread below?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=891879

Imagestation migrated to Shutterfly awhile back, but the links were supposed to still be valid...
IrmoGamecoq is offline  
post #347 of 856 Old 03-17-2008, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HeyNow^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Martinsburg, Wv USA
Posts: 2,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Maybe He/she is being blocked from work...like me
HeyNow^ is offline  
post #348 of 856 Old 03-17-2008, 12:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IrmoGamecoq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 4,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Which is exactly why I can't verify if the links are good either.
IrmoGamecoq is offline  
post #349 of 856 Old 03-17-2008, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
str1der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ky
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeyNow^ View Post

Maybe He/she is being blocked from work...like me

Nope He isn't being blocked. The links don't work.
str1der is offline  
post #350 of 856 Old 03-17-2008, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeyNow^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Martinsburg, Wv USA
Posts: 2,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Irmo,

No worky from homey either!
HeyNow^ is offline  
post #351 of 856 Old 03-17-2008, 05:17 PM
Senior Member
 
johnny15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kewaskum, WI
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quick question for anyone:

Has anyone tried using the envirotex lite on a bar top that has been tiled?? I think it would be neat to use a slate for a bar top, but because of the very rough and uneven texture that usually accompanies slate, it wouldn't be the best surface for setting beer & wine glasses and other things.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
johnny15 is offline  
post #352 of 856 Old 03-18-2008, 03:07 AM
Member
 
malbols's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southern Ontario , Canada
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I plan on putting ribbed black rubber matt on my bartop , then cover with Envirotex . This stuff is supposed to cover just about anything . I'll let you know how it turns out , should been doing top in another week .
malbols is offline  
post #353 of 856 Old 03-18-2008, 06:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IrmoGamecoq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 4,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeyNow^ View Post

Irmo,

No worky from homey either!

Dang it, guess I gotta update those links then. Thanks for checking...
IrmoGamecoq is offline  
post #354 of 856 Old 03-18-2008, 06:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IrmoGamecoq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 4,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny15 View Post

Quick question for anyone:

Has anyone tried using the envirotex lite on a bar top that has been tiled?? I think it would be neat to use a slate for a bar top, but because of the very rough and uneven texture that usually accompanies slate, it wouldn't be the best surface for setting beer & wine glasses and other things.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

I don't see why that wouldn't work. It would be interesting to see what the glossy envirotex does to the color of the tiles...I love how it pulls the color out of my hardwood flooring on my bar.

I would certainly suggest you test it on a seperate tile piece first though. Off your bar obviously. Slate tile is probably pretty porous, so you're likely to get all sorts of bubbles and other irregularities come up after you pour. You may need to seal it with poly first.

Good luck and show us how it turns out.
IrmoGamecoq is offline  
post #355 of 856 Old 03-19-2008, 08:21 AM
Senior Member
 
johnny15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kewaskum, WI
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by IrmoGamecoq View Post

I don't see why that wouldn't work. It would be interesting to see what the glossy envirotex does to the color of the tiles...I love how it pulls the color out of my hardwood flooring on my bar.

I would certainly suggest you test it on a seperate tile piece first though. Off your bar obviously. Slate tile is probably pretty porous, so you're likely to get all sorts of bubbles and other irregularities come up after you pour. You may need to seal it with poly first.

Good luck and show us how it turns out.

Yeah, I was planning on testing it before I do it, but I was just wondering if there was anyone that had possibly tried this. Thanks for the suggestion about sealing it with poly first. I didn't think of that, but it makes sense.
johnny15 is offline  
post #356 of 856 Old 03-19-2008, 10:50 AM
Senior Member
 
str1der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ky
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Irmo did you get those pics?

What would you guys say is the minimum space needed on the outside of the bar and a wall? I have an area that's about 10' X 10' with a wall on 3 sides. I'd like to do a corner type bar but not sure how far out I could come and still be comfortable.
str1der is offline  
post #357 of 856 Old 03-19-2008, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
elmalloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Irmo?

Current Projects:
IN PROGRESS (80%) - Building 3D Theater room.
IN PROGRESS (30%) - Building Lounge/Hallway Area.
IN PROGRESS (15%) - Building Home LAN (4 PCs).
ON HOLD - Building Home Gym.
ON HOLD - Building Simulation Room (Eyefinity).
ON HOLD - Building Theater room (Sim2 HT380, 2.35 14ft wide).
elmalloc is offline  
post #358 of 856 Old 03-19-2008, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IrmoGamecoq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 4,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I probably won't get to fixing those links until the weekend at the soonest, sorry...

As for space on the outside of the bar, I dunno...I hadn't really thought of that before. My concern was the space behind the bar, as I have lots of room outside the bar.

If your space is 10x10 though, I think it would probably look best to go symetrical and have the bar bisect that space right down the middle. But that really depends on whether you plan to have a back-counter behind your bar, which will eat up 2' feet of your back-bar space. You won't be able to split your 10x10 space if you do that.

One good suggestion I saw on here (I think it was Sdallnct that did it) was to use painter's tape and mark out your dimensions on the floor. You can get a good feel for the spatial relations that way, and if you want to go even farther, use cardboard boxes to fill in the spaces for the bar, cabinets, etc.
IrmoGamecoq is offline  
post #359 of 856 Old 03-19-2008, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
elmalloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
yes good advice

Current Projects:
IN PROGRESS (80%) - Building 3D Theater room.
IN PROGRESS (30%) - Building Lounge/Hallway Area.
IN PROGRESS (15%) - Building Home LAN (4 PCs).
ON HOLD - Building Home Gym.
ON HOLD - Building Simulation Room (Eyefinity).
ON HOLD - Building Theater room (Sim2 HT380, 2.35 14ft wide).
elmalloc is offline  
post #360 of 856 Old 03-19-2008, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
str1der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ky
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I was planning on doing some mock ups but was just sitting here trying to draw it out on some graph paper. The area is basically like a 10' X 10' square with one corner missing so that's where you would enter
str1der is offline  
Reply Game Room Equipment & Accessories

Tags
Basement Bar

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off