MegaTouch Replacement Monitor - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 16 Old 01-06-2007, 11:11 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a newbie here, but I feel I know my stuff pretty well or at least can adapt quickly. I had posted last night on a different thread about how I shipped a MegaTouch Game and it got destroyed in UPS's hands. So this-morning I finally decided to take a harder look into what was wrong. and after ripping out the guts of the machine and plugging in one piece at a time to see what went up in smoke, With my computer (non touch screen) VGA monitor plugged in and the hard drive and mother board sitting out on my dinning room table I have come to the conclusion that "lucky" the only thing that went out is the monitor, everything else seems to be running just fine.

With my little knowledge of this machine (and this is where i'm coming to you guys for) It seems like the monitor is just a monitor and their is a plat of "touchscreen" glass in front of the monitor. Am I right??
The touch screen is plugged into the motherboard in the COM1 port.

Now this is what I want to do and if anyone knows please lend me your knowledge. I was looking at touch screen flat screens on ebay. i'm guessing their newer then this machine and have USB for the touch screen port. Is their a way to use on of these touch screen flat panels with the current MegaTouch Motherboard? If so, what do I need to look for with the monitor? Are their any limitations to what I should look for in a new touch screen monitor? Dose anyone know any Monitor models that do work?

Thanks for any help you guys can give me.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 01-06-2007, 08:06 PM

Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I don't know that I can answer your questions, but I will add what I know.

I recently had my Megatouch Vibe develop a bad touchscreen. (Luckily it was under warranty)