Need help with onkyo and long hdmi run - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 01-12-2013, 06:42 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have a fairly new house that has a dedicated HT room that I had premiered for 7.1 and projector set up with everything terminating in the closet at the back of the room. Before entering into the projector world, I started with a Mitsubishi 65 DLP that I have been using for 3 yrs. I also purchased an Onkyo TX-SR876 that is 3 yrs old with the hopes that one day i would add the projector and utilize the sub-hdmi output for the projector and still use the mitsu for everyday tv watching.

For as long as I have had them, I have never been able to pass anything better than a 1080i signal, whether it was just a throughput or utilizing the upconverting feature on the onkyo. BD would not pass and as soon as I changed receiver to 1080p or auto, it would fail to handshake. Audio would pass though. So I just lived with 1080i or less.

For Christmas I got an appletv but I could not get a signal at all unless connected direct to the TV. I should note that I can get 1080p to work on Mitsubishi if connected directly. So this made me think that possibly the hdmi cable (40+ ft run) that the builders ht sub installed might not be of sufficient quality for 1080p at such a long run. So, I purchased 60 ft redmere cable from monoprice.com. Everything was working likr "normal" but i went ahead and I disconnected existing ht cable and immediately connected the redmere with source at receiver and display end direct to TV and nothing. Couldn't get it to handshake. Tried connecting BD direct, DVR, etc direct through the redmere and nothing worked. Pulled bd out and connected direct with a short 5 ft cable regular hdmi cable and then a shorter 5 ft redmere cable and all worked.