Vizio VX32L - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-19-2008, 12:35 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
xboxman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I was wondering if any of you have ANY calibration settings for the Vizio VX32L?
xboxman123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-19-2008, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,621
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 167
screens are quite frequently different from unit to unit.

Go get a disc and a blue filter and you can do some basic contrast/brightness color/tint setup.

Anything more involved than that NEED to be done with a colorimeter.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-19-2008, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
xboxman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you, I have done all the various discs out there, from AVIA to the Halo Calibration to HD DVD DVE Essentails. If I get a colorimeter such as the Datacolor SpyderTV will there be a drastic difference? Enoogh to warrant the 200 dollar price tag?
xboxman123 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 03-19-2008, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,621
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 167
the colorimeter to get in the sub-$200 range is the i1 display 2 (lt variant comes with netured software and lower price point, but the packaged software is only useful for PC calibration).

Pair that with software from either calman(added expense but user friendly) or HCFR (free but steep learning curve), and your service menu and you'll be able to get a very accurate greyscale and be able to more precisely set your white level, black level and to adjust both your color and tint.

The biggest get will be the white point and greyscale, it's hard to deffine "worth it" my wife doesn't think my time spent playing with the TV is worth it. And that's just my free time after she goes to sleep. Personally I'm ready to take another pass at it tonight after she goes to sleep. Quantifing perceptual difference is hard to do. At least you can use it to calibrate your PC too.

white point: cie location and color temprature of white
white level: lumanace of white
black level: luamance of black
grey scale: the tracking of grey staing at the same point as white as the lumance is reduced
color and tint controls do different things based on different set designs.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 04-01-2008, 06:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
jim.bennett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sotti-

Do you know how to access the service mode on the VX32L? Tried following the instructions here:http://www.bruzziforum.com/vbf/showthread.php?t=52 but none of the methods worked.

Thanks
jim.bennett is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 04-03-2008, 08:41 AM
Member
 
ashman5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Decatur, AL
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim.bennett View Post

Sotti-

Do you know how to access the service mode on the VX32L? Tried following the instructions here:http://www.bruzziforum.com/vbf/showthread.php?t=52 but none of the methods worked.

Thanks

i'm looking for this code also.
ashman5 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 04-03-2008, 01:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
jim.bennett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got a hold of the service manual for the VX37L (should be almost identical to the VX32L except for size) and there is nothing in it telling how to access a service mode, so I believe this TV does not have one.
jim.bennett is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 04-03-2008, 02:25 PM
Member
 
ashman5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Decatur, AL
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
probably has to be accessed through the service port
ashman5 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 05-11-2008, 07:02 PM
Newbie
 
Sutanreyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

screens are quite frequently different from unit to unit.

Go get a disc and a blue filter and you can do some basic contrast/brightness color/tint setup.

Anything more involved than that NEED to be done with a colorimeter.

Could you go into that a bit further? I'm new to this deal and I need somewhere to start, (in terms of calibration). I don't want to plunk down a ton of cash on equipment that will only be used as a one-time deal, (not just yet, anyway).
Sutanreyu is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off