Guide: GREYSCALE CALIBRATION FOR DUMMIES - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-19-2011, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
kal
AVS Special Member
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigboar View Post
Hi kal! first I want to say thanks for the guide. now, for you or anybody that can help. I calibrated my lg55wl5600 last night(or should I say am trying) here are my graphs. I think everything is ok, but am curious if it is normal for the 0 ire to always be way off in the delta-e value. also my cie trianle does not line up(I have no idea what that means) I have only done greyscale and not color calibrations. any help would be appreciated!!!!
Ignore any readings at 0 IRE. There's basically no light there and you can't trust the meter.

If the CIE triangle doesn't ligne up then the primaries are off. The green is likely going to be most noticeable in your case. You can use the built in CMS of your projector to adjust (if it has one) otherwise an external video processor with CMS has to be used to tame the overly saturated primaries. I talk about this in the last section of your guide.

Kal
kal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-19-2011, 09:29 AM
Member
 
bigboar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok, thanks! I hvent got to the color portion yet. Will this end up throwing off all the values i entered in the 10-100ire section of my display? I had settings for rgb for each step up and used them to get my greyscale. sorry if that is a stupid question...
bigboar is offline  
Old 05-19-2011, 11:31 AM - Thread Starter
kal
AVS Special Member
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigboar View Post

ok, thanks! I hvent got to the color portion yet. Will this end up throwing off all the values i entered in the 10-100ire section of my display? I had settings for rgb for each step up and used them to get my greyscale. sorry if that is a stupid question...

Yes it will. Keep reading in the guide...

Further down (near the end) I mention that you need to keep running through the entire process until you can make it through without changing one thing. Any change can affect other things.

Once you make it through from start to end without changing anything you are done.

Kal
kal is offline  
Old 05-19-2011, 11:33 AM
Member
 
bigboar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok thanks, sorry I didnt read before asking, I am going to read the next section when i get home from work. thanks again for doing this!!!
bigboar is offline  
Old 08-29-2012, 11:39 PM
Member
 
neogeosnk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stupid question.. on the grayscale for dummies I only see RGBHighEnd & RGBLowEnd calibration instructions. How would you go about calibrating using 10 point?
neogeosnk is offline  
Old 08-30-2012, 03:12 AM
Member
 
kanedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by neogeosnk View Post

Stupid question.. on the grayscale for dummies I only see RGBHighEnd & RGBLowEnd calibration instructions. How would you go about calibrating using 10 point?

In this guide, High is used for IRE 80 and Low is used for IRE 30. When you only have high and low controls, you hope that the rest of the white balance comes close to correct after adjusting at IRE 80 and IRE 30. If you have 10pt control. you should use each point to adjust each of the IRE levels. A 10 point WB control will allow you to finely tune your entire white balance and gamma much more precisely than just using two points. Some TVs like the recent LGs have 20point adjustments. This is an overkill in my opinion, but it allows you to tune even more finely. In an ideal world, we would have 256 point adjustments, but this isn't very practical, so a 10 point or 20point W/B controls is offered with newer TVs so you can calibrate your TV more finely than 2point.
kanedo is offline  
Old 08-30-2012, 03:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Even a 2pt system is sufficient if it worked properly (if it was completely linear, but that's usually not the case). 10pt is enough, 20pt is excessive.

On the topic of 2pt systems, you should still check the entire grayscale and not just the two points you're measuring. I use 20/80 rather than 30/80 as a starting point, but I do a 10% sweep and fine tune RGB to the lowest average dE across the entire grayscale.

10pt is similar to 2pt, except you can adjust RGB in 10pts rather than 2 (high-end of the scale and low-end of the scale) for more precision. It takes much longer but results in better accuracy.
rahzel is offline  
Old 08-30-2012, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
kal
AVS Special Member
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by neogeosnk View Post

Stupid question.. on the grayscale for dummies I only see RGBHighEnd & RGBLowEnd calibration instructions. How would you go about calibrating using 10 point?

Still do the main calibration at around 30 and 80. Get that as good as you can. Then you can tweak the other points if needed to get it as flat as possible.

Kal
kal is offline  
Old 08-30-2012, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahzel View Post

Even a 2pt system is sufficient if it worked properly (if it was completely linear, but that's usually not the case). 10pt is enough, 20pt is excessive.
On the topic of 2pt systems, you should still check the entire grayscale and not just the two points you're measuring. I use 20/80 rather than 30/80 as a starting point, but I do a 10% sweep and fine tune RGB to the lowest average dE across the entire grayscale.
10pt is similar to 2pt, except you can adjust RGB in 10pts rather than 2 (high-end of the scale and low-end of the scale) for more precision. It takes much longer but results in better accuracy.

the 10-pt grayscale controls on last year's LG LCD/LED lineup are very good; when calibrated to minimize dE at each 10% interval, the in between (5% intervals) track perfectly as well... this means you can get perfect RGB tracking and gamma at every 5% interval short of 0% (black) and 5% (near black)

also, there is no need to do 2-pt first on these LGs... everything I mentioned above can be done with 10-pt only

I don't know why they stripped the 2012 sets of this great calibration feature... I can't imagine it saving them much money.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
Old 08-30-2012, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

the 10-pt grayscale controls on last year's LG LCD/LED lineup are very good; when calibrated to minimize dE at each 10% interval, the in between (5% intervals) track perfectly as well... this means you can get perfect RGB tracking and gamma at every 5% interval short of 0% (black) and 5% (near black)
also, there is no need to do 2-pt first on these LGs... everything I mentioned above can be done with 10-pt only
I don't know why they stripped the 2012 sets of this great calibration feature... I can't imagine it saving them much money.
Ya, LG has improved their 10pt system over the years. My LH90 wasn't very linear between points causing banding when looking at >10 step patterns or grayscale ramps... it took me a long time to get it right. My LD350 (which is a model a year after the LH90 was released) is much more linear between points and I didn't have such issues (or at least it was much less of an issue).

Does doing the 2pt first on the LGs help make the 10pt more linear between points? I see many people doing the 2pt then 10pt on the VT50 plasma for that reason, but I didn't know if that worked on all 10pt systems. If the 10pt system worked properly as you said, doing the 2pt first shouldn't be needed.
rahzel is offline  
Old 08-30-2012, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahzel View Post


Does doing the 2pt first on the LGs help make the 10pt more linear between points? I see many people doing the 2pt then 10pt on the VT50 plasma for that reason, but I didn't know if that worked on all 10pt systems. If the 10pt system worked properly as you said, doing the 2pt first shouldn't be needed.

No, it actually makes the 10% intervals (10, 20... 90, 100) slightly worse in terms of dE (though it shouldn't make any visible differences... so either approach is fine). The Panasonic VT50 does require 2-pt to be done first, AFAIK (but it's a different brand/model/model year/display tech, etc.).
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
Old 12-07-2012, 10:32 AM
Newbie
 
RBP1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi and thanks for your info on HDTV calibration.

The One Eye Display LT is not longer available. Will the replacement model X-Rite ColorMunki Smile work?

Thanks
Ralph
RBP1955 is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 09:13 PM - Thread Starter
kal
AVS Special Member
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I don't believe the X-Rite ColorMunki is supported by the free ColorHCFR software, so no.

Kal
kal is offline  
Old 12-11-2012, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
angryht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What about the fork of HCFR: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed I believe it's supported with that: http://sourceforge.net/p/hcfr/wiki/Home/

-Greg
angryht is offline  
Old 12-11-2012, 08:40 AM - Thread Starter
kal
AVS Special Member
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I don't know. I haven't been following the fork closely as it's in constant flux/change. I'm hesitant to make any changes to my 20,000 word guide until it stabilizes. I don't want to be continously changing it nor can I try every meter that that intend on supporting.

If their new version supports it (or any other meter) then yes, you may of course use it and follow my guide. For driver installation and other specifics that relate to newly supported meters, you'll have to refer to the notes supplied by the authors of the new forked version.

I don't see a meter called the Colormunki Smile here however : http://sourceforge.net/p/hcfr/wiki/Home/
I'm not sure if that's a completely different meter from from Colormunki Display. It may be the same thing with simply different packaged X-Rite software (that you wouldn't use if you're using ColorHCFR).

Any questions that relate to getting new meters to work with the new forked version of ColorHCFR should be asked in the official thread here:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed

Once you get a new meter up and running in ColorHCFR, my guide will of course work as it's meter agnostic.

Kal
kal is offline  
Old 12-11-2012, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
angryht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Actually, I didn't realize it was the Smile. Thought he was just asking about the ColorMunki. My mistake. Thanks for the clarification, and the guide, of course.

-Greg
angryht is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter
kal
AVS Special Member
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Update:

A new 2014 edition of the Grayscale & Color Calibration for Dummies guide is now available.

My previous guide was written in 2008 and focused primarily on the calibration of CRT projectors (what I had at the time). I've since then switched to a JVC RS-56 projector so this new guide focuses on the calibration of newer display technologies such as digital projectors and flat panel TVs and includes information on the finer controls offered by these newer display devices, especially in the areas of gamma and color calibration.

Cheers,

Kal
kal is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,975
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by kal View Post

I don't know. I haven't been following the fork closely as it's in constant flux/change. I'm hesitant to make any changes to my 20,000 word guide until it stabilizes. I don't want to be continously changing it nor can I try every meter that that intend on supporting.

If their new version supports it (or any other meter) then yes, you may of course use it and follow my guide. For driver installation and other specifics that relate to newly supported meters, you'll have to refer to the notes supplied by the authors of the new forked version.

I don't see a meter called the Colormunki Smile here however : http://sourceforge.net/p/hcfr/wiki/Home/
I'm not sure if that's a completely different meter from from Colormunki Display. It may be the same thing with simply different packaged X-Rite software (that you wouldn't use if you're using ColorHCFR).

Any questions that relate to getting new meters to work with the new forked version of ColorHCFR should be asked in the official thread here:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed

Once you get a new meter up and running in ColorHCFR, my guide will of course work as it's meter agnostic.

Kal

Kal,

Thanks for your guide! It has been and extremely useful resource. The current version of HCFR (3.1.0.4) is stable and will not likely change regarding meter support, the meter front-end is completely based off of ArgyllCMS code and all meters referenced on this page are supported.

cheers,

-zoyd
zoyd is offline  
Old 01-03-2014, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd like to use my laptop's HDMI to calibrate my new LED. Greyscale obviously I can do with HCFR patterns. But what do you recommend I use for test patterns, since I'm using my computer (with my TV as the second monitor) to set brightness, contrast, color/tint? Also, should brightness/contrast be set before greyscale?
SnakeEyes is offline  
Old 01-04-2014, 12:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
realzven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 84
realzven is offline  
Old 02-17-2014, 11:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Kal,

I want to order a ChromaPure package. Which meter would you recommend for a curved OLED screen?

Great guide!

Bob
Pres2play is offline  
Old 02-18-2014, 12:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
realzven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 84
The i1 pro is the best option if you have the budget, if not The i1 display pro is the way to go.

Best combo is i1pro + i1 display pro
realzven is offline  
Old 02-18-2014, 06:01 AM - Thread Starter
kal
AVS Special Member
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pres2play View Post

Kal,
I want to order a ChromaPure package. Which meter would you recommend for a curved OLED screen?
Great guide!
Bob
Hi Bob. If ChromaPure is what you're after, I'd recommend the ChromaPure + Display 3 PRO package.

Kal
kal is offline  
Old 02-19-2014, 03:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by realzven View Post

The i1 pro is the best option if you have the budget, if not The i1 display pro is the way to go.

Best combo is i1pro + i1 display pro

So I should get the i1 Pro bundled with ChromaPure Standard? Then add the i1 display pro meter?
Pres2play is offline  
Old 02-19-2014, 04:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by kal View Post

Hi Bob. If ChromaPure is what you're after, I'd recommend the ChromaPure + Display 3 PRO package.

Kal

Thanks, Kal. The ChromaPure site shows the bundles that are available. Which version of ChromaPure should I go with, OEM or Retail?
Pres2play is offline  
Old 02-19-2014, 06:13 AM - Thread Starter
kal
AVS Special Member
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pres2play View Post

So I should get the i1 Pro bundled with ChromaPure Standard? Then add the i1 display pro meter?

This is an option but it's beyond most people's budgets. The i1Pro is a spectroradiometer that remains accurate (doesn't drift) as much or basically not at all. It lets you keep your calibrate i1 Display Pro (Display 3) meter accurate. For more info see the"FAQ: Which meter is right for me?" in my sig. Read the second on using 2 meters.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pres2play View Post

Thanks, Kal. The ChromaPure site shows the bundles that are available. Which version of ChromaPure should I go with, OEM or Retail?

If you only want to calibrate TVs and projectors using ChromaPure, the OEM is fine. The retail boxed version also comes with X-Rite software to calibrate PC/MAC monitors automatically (.iCC profiles). Choose whichever works for you.

Kal
kal is offline  
Old 02-20-2014, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Can you explain a little further the gamma calibration for sets that don't have 10-point gamma control? My display has presets (-3, -2, -1, 0, 1, 2, 3) and I can try each one, as you suggest, but which measurement mode(s) do I select in the Gamma module?
Pres2play is offline  
Old 02-20-2014, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
kal
AVS Special Member
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Sorry, I don't understand what you mean by "which measurement mode(s) do I select in the Gamma module?" Can you explain?


Kal
kal is offline  
Old 02-20-2014, 03:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
hungro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pres2play View Post

Can you explain a little further the gamma calibration for sets that don't have 10-point gamma control? My display has presets (-3, -2, -1, 0, 1, 2, 3) and I can try each one, as you suggest, but which measurement mode(s) do I select in the Gamma module?

You don't select any mode. If all you have is gamma presets then use the gamma preset value that is closest to 2.22. In this instance since you don't have the 10pt gamma controls you just select the best gamma preset. That's all you can do. You need not to use the gamma module since you have no way of calibrating the gamma . Recheck brightness after changing the gamma.
hungro is offline  
Old 02-20-2014, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by kal View Post

Sorry, I don't understand what you mean by "which measurement mode(s) do I select in the Gamma module?" Can you explain?


Kal

It's not clear if I have to pick one of the measure modes (10%, 20% and so on) to find out which one of the presets will give me 2.2 gamma. According to Hungro, I don't choose any of the modes.
Pres2play is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off