Spyder3TV Upgrade - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 06-13-2008, 02:46 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
hoyty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Parkville, MD
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the meter in the Spyder3TV package the same as all the other Spyder3 packages? Also in case anyone has older Spyder product and wants a Spyder3TV on the cheap you can upgrade at http://spyder.datacolor.com/s3tv_upgrade.php with your serial number.
hoyty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 06-13-2008, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael TLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: THX/ISF Calibrationist/Instructor, Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Greetings

The electronics are the same ... the finish is different.

Regards

Michael Chen @ The Laser Video Experience
ISF/THX/TLV Video Instructor
The Video Calibration Education Hub - www.TLVEXP.com

Michael TLV is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 06-15-2008, 08:19 PM
Senior Member
 
drrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: LaHarpe, IL
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Michael, I was wondering the same thing as the OP, since I also got the e-mail. I don't mean to be dense, but just wanted to be sure of what you were saying--that the "new" spyder3 will not give us any improvement over a spyder2? Am I understanding you correctly? Thanks!
drrick is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 06-15-2008, 08:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael TLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: THX/ISF Calibrationist/Instructor, Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Greetings

I did not say that ...

There are two S3 probes out there. One with a shiny finish .. and the other with a dull finish. The Shiny one comes with the more $$ packages. The performance is the same for both types of S3 probes.

The S3 is supposed to be more accurate than the S2 ... and faster too.

Regards

Michael Chen @ The Laser Video Experience
ISF/THX/TLV Video Instructor
The Video Calibration Education Hub - www.TLVEXP.com

Michael TLV is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 06-15-2008, 09:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rayjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 1,665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Send a message via AIM to Rayjr Send a message via Yahoo to Rayjr Send a message via Skype™ to Rayjr
Michael,
Do you know if the spyder3 sensor will work with my spyderTV pro 2007 software?

Thanks
RayJr
Rayjr is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 06-15-2008, 10:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael TLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: THX/ISF Calibrationist/Instructor, Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Greetings

If you had the S2 probe with the package, then it won't work with the S3 probe.

There might be a STV3 pro package in the works eventually ...

Nothing for now ...

Regards

Michael Chen @ The Laser Video Experience
ISF/THX/TLV Video Instructor
The Video Calibration Education Hub - www.TLVEXP.com

Michael TLV is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 06-16-2008, 12:45 AM
Senior Member
 
mlaun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have much experience with TV's and HT but a lot with computer monitors.

I'm using a spyder 3 for computer moniters as well as an eye one. Both seem very close to each other, ergo: spyder 3 seems to be as accurate as the eye one. I did try a spyder II once was way off compare to the eye one.
mlaun is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 06-16-2008, 06:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael TLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: THX/ISF Calibrationist/Instructor, Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Greetings

Not to jump on you, but ...

I have spyder 2 probes that out performed my S3 probe by a wide margin. The S2 probes were closer to my spectrometer devices. That said, we then had an opportunity at the Datacolor facility to compare my S3 probe to 10 other S3 probes to test for accuracy. Turns out my S3 probe was the worst of the bunch and was tossed. The 10 others that they had varied in accuracy from "good" to "excellent." I took an "excellent" one as my replacement.

Lesson ... unless you have used a whole bunch of the same devices, saying that one's own experience with one device means that they are all like that is not good. These things are not high priced precision instruments so there will be manufacturing variance.

Sometimes you get a dog of a unit. But without the ability to see how well it compares to others, you can mistakenly conclude that the product does not work at all. All the while, 98% of others are getting good results from it.

Regards

Michael Chen @ The Laser Video Experience
ISF/THX/TLV Video Instructor
The Video Calibration Education Hub - www.TLVEXP.com

Michael TLV is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 06-16-2008, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
mlaun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I probably got a good III and an off II.

A shame that they vary so much. Beginners could have quite frustrating experiences. Not everybody has a spectrometer to compare his/her colorimeter against.
mlaun is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 06-16-2008, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Central California,USA
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael TLV View Post

Greetings

Not to jump on you, but ...

I have spyder 2 probes that out performed my S3 probe by a wide margin. The S2 probes were closer to my spectrometer devices. That said, we then had an opportunity at the Datacolor facility to compare my S3 probe to 10 other S3 probes to test for accuracy. Turns out my S3 probe was the worst of the bunch and was tossed. The 10 others that they had varied in accuracy from "good" to "excellent." I took an "excellent" one as my replacement.

Lesson ... unless you have used a whole bunch of the same devices, saying that one's own experience with one device means that they are all like that is not good. These things are pretty cheap to make and there will be manufacturing variance.

Sometimes you get a dog of a unit. But without the ability to see how well it compares to others, you can mistakenly conclude that the product does not work at all. All the while, 95% of others are getting good results from it.

Regards


Michael,
How does your new S3 perform then?
Lee Bailey is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 06-16-2008, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael TLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: THX/ISF Calibrationist/Instructor, Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Greetings

It is performing just fine and replaces my older S2 devices.

Regards

Michael Chen @ The Laser Video Experience
ISF/THX/TLV Video Instructor
The Video Calibration Education Hub - www.TLVEXP.com

Michael TLV is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 12-04-2008, 09:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
hellerbrewing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I use the Spyder3TV to calibrate my plasma as well as my LCD monitor? I don't really want something that contatnly monitors light and changes settings on the LCD, can I get away with one product for both?
hellerbrewing is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 12-04-2008, 03:51 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Bear5k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael TLV View Post

Lesson ... unless you have used a whole bunch of the same devices, saying that one's own experience with one device means that they are all like that is not good. These things are not high priced precision instruments so there will be manufacturing variance.

Sometimes you get a dog of a unit. But without the ability to see how well it compares to others, you can mistakenly conclude that the product does not work at all. All the while, 98% of others are getting good results from it.

This is the essence of why we had to quit recommending the S2 a ways back. The unit-to-unit variation was just too much.

I wonder if the S3's "quirks" have been fixed for use with phosphor-based displays.

Color accuracy evangelist and CalMAN insider
Bear5k is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 01-01-2009, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Will the Spyder3TV software work with Spyder2 sensor? I dropped my Spyder3TV sensor (and cracked it) but I still have a couple of Spyder2 sensors. However, it doesn't seem to work with the software.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 01-01-2009, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rayjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 1,665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Send a message via AIM to Rayjr Send a message via Yahoo to Rayjr Send a message via Skype™ to Rayjr
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

Will the Spyder3TV software work with Spyder2 sensor? I dropped my Spyder3TV sensor (and cracked it) but I still have a couple of Spyder2 sensors. However, it doesn't seem to work with the software.

Short answer.....no

RayJr
Rayjr is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 01-01-2009, 08:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gregg Loewen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New England
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 39
just email datacolor and tell them your s3 sensor is broken...they will send a replacement.

Ray...turn on your AOL IM !!

President, Lion Audio Video Consultants Inc.
Lead THX Video Standards Instructor
Gregg Loewen is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 01-01-2009, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rayjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 1,665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Send a message via AIM to Rayjr Send a message via Yahoo to Rayjr Send a message via Skype™ to Rayjr
Rayjr is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 01-01-2009, 10:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gregg Loewen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New England
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 39
ping me then!!

President, Lion Audio Video Consultants Inc.
Lead THX Video Standards Instructor
Gregg Loewen is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 01-01-2009, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rayjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 1,665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Send a message via AIM to Rayjr Send a message via Yahoo to Rayjr Send a message via Skype™ to Rayjr
I can't see or contact you online.....we have a problem
Rayjr is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 01-02-2009, 12:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ethenolas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 1080ub projector and can't seem to get the colors right...

Would you recommend spyder 2pro?

I have no experience calibration, but am good with computers...

OR

would you just recommend a calibration disc? (HD basics BD)
Ethenolas is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 01-02-2009, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 360
for calibration software, just use HCFR software (freeware) and HD709 disc (free download). For the sensor, Spyder2 is enough for most people.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off