Spyder3TV Sucks!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-25-2008, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mp006ltk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have owned the Spyder 2 Pro system for my computer and been very happy with it for some time. I decided to buy the Spyder3TV and was severely disapointed. The display had been previously calibrated with good old video essentials. I was hoping to gain the ability to read RGB levels to set color temperature the way I do my computer monitors, but no such luck. The only thing it can do is tell you which of your presets are closest to the mark. All the other settings were identical + or - 1 notch to video essentials. Basically it didn't do any better with color temp then me just eyeballing it. SAVE YOUR MONEY!!! Buy a calibration DVD and skip the Spyder. What erks me the most is that the device is fully capable of performing this function but it's intentionally crippled by their software. If someone were to write a program using the spyder for this application, I would think they could make alot of money.
mp006ltk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 07-25-2008, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael TLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: THX/ISF Calibrationist/Instructor, Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Greetings

The program is just an extension of the old spyderTV program but with the new 3 probe. Nothing has changed.

Some get this package in order to use the probe with other software like the free one available at this site ....That HCFr program.

Traditionally, it was the Spyder TV pro package that permitted grayscale changes.

Regards

Michael Chen @ The Laser Video Experience
ISF/THX/TLV Video Instructor
The Video Calibration Education Hub - www.TLVEXP.com

Michael TLV is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 07-25-2008, 11:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
eddiscus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Like Michael TLV had said the only reason to buy the package is to get the Spyder 3 probe to use with another software package. The Spyder TV 2007 pro was the package before the spyder 3 that would do greyscale. But for some reason the spyder 3 does not work with the 207 pro version of software. If I rember correctly they wanted near $ 1000.00 you were not upgrading from a previous version.
The really entertaining point is if you purchase their pro version of software at about 3K it comes with a spyder 3 probe. Although the license in the software will run with other probes.

If you are just wetting your feet then the spyder 3 with the HCFR software is an ok start. Although there are other beginner level probes that are better choices.

The Calman 3 with I1 Pro probe package offers a higher level of accuracy and a software package that includes alot of calibration info as well as screen groups for beginners to advanced users.
eddiscus is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 07-29-2008, 09:51 AM
Newbie
 
tomhungtom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I use Spyder3 Probe with HCFR 2.0.1 now?
tomhungtom is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 07-29-2008, 01:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
eddiscus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomhungtom View Post

Can I use Spyder3 Probe with HCFR 2.0.1 now?


http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post14308341
eddiscus is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 07-30-2008, 10:08 AM
Newbie
 
kronickidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i doubt it
kronickidd is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 07-31-2008, 04:05 AM
Member
 
Rudy A-traxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently bought it in France and I am as disappointed as you are.
I can't do anything with their software, my projector has no tint or color settings but just RGB... hope I'll find a simple software that could drive the Spyder 3 colorimeter.

Do you know if there is a software - not expensive - on Mac ? Thanks
Rudy A-traxx is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 07-31-2008, 04:51 AM
Senior Member
 
mlaun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomhungtom View Post

Can I use Spyder3 Probe with HCFR 2.0.1 now?

YES. I have version 2.1 Beta 160 of HCFR which works just fine with the '3'.
mlaun is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 07-31-2008, 04:57 AM
Senior Member
 
mlaun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy A-traxx View Post

I recently bought it in France and I am as disappointed as you are.
I can't do anything with their software, my projector has no tint or color settings but just RGB... hope I'll find a simple software that could drive the Spyder 3 colorimeter.

Do you know if there is a software - not expensive - on Mac ? Thanks

AFAIK HCFR has a MAC-Intel beta and are looking for people willing to test.

Go to www.homecinema-fr.com . Be warned though, the site is in french.
mlaun is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-01-2008, 03:42 AM
Member
 
Rudy A-traxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great for me since I'm french. But I thought it was not compatible with this colorimeter. I will check that with them and I'll let you know.

But I can see - in the previous post - that on Windows, the HCFR software seems to be compatible with the Spyder 3 TV colorimeter. I'll also check and I'll tell you...
Rudy A-traxx is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off