Inexpensive external CMS and gamma control with HDMI - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 238 Old 11-20-2009, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Yes I realise we are both in the dark, but the text you highlighted does seem to indicate that's the only way of adjusting things. Hopefully we'll hear from the horse's mouth what the correct answer is.

Zooming: Been there, done that, bought the lens...
Kelvin1965S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 238 Old 11-20-2009, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Central California,USA
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I believe that there must be software for the user to install on their laptop that would connect to the unit, from AVFoundry.

If this was a Spectracal labeled product, then I would think otherwise.

Though the user will still have to have some equipment/software to measure what they're changing.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Lee Bailey is offline  
post #183 of 238 Old 11-20-2009, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Thanks Lee, I guess you'd know if they were selling Calman with the device, so hopefully you're right.

Zooming: Been there, done that, bought the lens...
Kelvin1965S is offline  
post #184 of 238 Old 11-20-2009, 08:50 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Bear5k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is no internal user interface planned for the device for the foreseeable future. You really need to use calibration software to use it effectively, anyway, so putting the UI on a PC is just the right way to go.

Color accuracy evangelist and CalMAN insider
Bear5k is offline  
post #185 of 238 Old 11-20-2009, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bear5k View Post

There is no internal user interface planned for the device for the foreseeable future. You really need to use calibration software to use it effectively, anyway, so putting the UI on a PC is just the right way to go.

So does this mean that the unit can only be adjusted with Calman or it will it come with some software to allow adjustment using a PC? I understand that using Calman means it can be really slick, but I'd still like the option of being able to use existing software and adjust the CMS 'manually' even if it's via a PC.

Zooming: Been there, done that, bought the lens...
Kelvin1965S is offline  
post #186 of 238 Old 11-20-2009, 09:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Posted earlier
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post

1) Does the CMS allow for control over all three axis - hue, saturation AND lightness?

Quote:
Originally Posted by derekjsmith View Post

Yes the VideoEq Pro does, you have to be able to change the hue, saturation and lightness of all 6 colors RGBCMY. But as with all system like this you can only take away you can't add more saturation for example than your display will allow. But since most displays these days have or can enable wide gamut we are good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post

3) What type of software is used to set the grayscale/CMS values?

Quote:
Originally Posted by derekjsmith View Post

The VideoEq and VideoEq Pro comes with software from AV Foundry to read/write and set the LUTs using text files in a common readable format that are compatible with Excel or Notepad for editing. This application will be enhanced over time to support industry standard formats all well.

We at SpectraCal are working on CalMAN v4 to support the direct control over the VideoEq and VideoEq Pro so you can use CalMAN to change the values within them directly. This is via the interface we design last spring and was showing at CEDIA this year with a prototype of CalMAN v4. This interface is copyrighted and patents are being applied for since we believe it is a unique way of controlling what can be a complex device. But all of this is for the CalMAN v4 beta.


Need to find a Professional Calibrator?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
me with your Display & City


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #187 of 238 Old 11-20-2009, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,621
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1965S View Post

So does this mean that the unit can only be adjusted with Calman or it will it come with some software to allow adjustment using a PC? I understand that using Calman means it can be really slick, but I'd still like the option of being able to use existing software and adjust the CMS 'manually' even if it's via a PC.

No you can load precalculated LUT's to the device via a command line utility (I believe that's the plan). But I don't believe the provided software can generate a LUT.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #188 of 238 Old 11-20-2009, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Central California,USA
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The other thing missing is a remote control interface so you don't have to get up, find where you hid the device, dust it off, and push a button to change to a different lut.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Lee Bailey is offline  
post #189 of 238 Old 11-20-2009, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Central California,USA
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1965S View Post

Thanks Lee, I guess you'd know if they were selling Calman with the device, so hopefully you're right.

I think that if they (AVFoundry) were selling CALMAN with the device the price would have to be higher. So far the only version of CALMAN that supports multiple calibration/generator devices is the Pro version.

Though Spectracal is always coming up with ideas.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Lee Bailey is offline  
post #190 of 238 Old 11-26-2009, 05:39 AM
amt
Senior Member
 
amt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Would it be possible to get a little more clarification on the 3x3 CMS matrix? Is this a true 3D Look-up-cube? How many index values for X,Y,Z (R,G,B)?

The reason I am curious is because I am wondering if this CMS could correct at not just 6 primary/secondary colors, but 6 colors at multiple levels of saturation. This would require more entries in the cube to be possible.

One would of course have to measure the 6 colors at, say 25%, 50%, 75%, and 100% saturation. And there would need to be an X,Y,Z index for each of these in the CMS cube. I think this would be nice for non-linear color gamuts in some projectors.
amt is offline  
post #191 of 238 Old 12-17-2009, 07:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lordcloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 2,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Any more info?

I LOVE MOVIES!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

 

lordcloud is offline  
post #192 of 238 Old 12-17-2009, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wrinklefree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordcloud View Post

any more info?

+1


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wrinklefree is offline  
post #193 of 238 Old 12-17-2009, 04:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
derekjsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 98
We just started shipping the EAP's today

Derek

CTO / Founder - SpectraCal Inc.
derekjsmith is offline  
post #194 of 238 Old 12-17-2009, 05:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gregg Loewen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New England
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 39
hopefully we (THX video training) will be able to have 1 for the Open House at CES (saturday evening January 9th) from 7p-9pm.

President, Lion Audio Video Consultants Inc.
Lead THX Video Standards Instructor
Gregg Loewen is offline  
post #195 of 238 Old 12-17-2009, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
derekjsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 98
^^^

Yes plus some other toys from AVF

Derek

CTO / Founder - SpectraCal Inc.
derekjsmith is offline  
post #196 of 238 Old 12-24-2009, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 4,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by derekjsmith View Post

We just started shipping the EAP's today

I only just now found out about VideoEq Pro. Very intriguing product!! This sounds like a great match for my RS-10.

Any chance one could still join the EAP?
____
Axel

Axel is offline  
post #197 of 238 Old 12-24-2009, 08:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axel View Post

Any chance one could still join the EAP?

The December newsletter said you could apply until 31-Dec-2009.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bodosom is offline  
post #198 of 238 Old 12-24-2009, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 4,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post

The December newsletter said you could apply until 31-Dec-2009.

Thanks!
Got it! I found it in Calman's Dec Newsletter. Email sent...!
____
Axel

Axel is offline  
post #199 of 238 Old 12-24-2009, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
derekjsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axel View Post

I only just now found out about VideoEq Pro. Very intriguing product!! This sounds like a great match for my RS-10.

Any chance one could still join the EAP?
____
Axel

This is exactly what the VideoEq was built for

Derek

CTO / Founder - SpectraCal Inc.
derekjsmith is offline  
post #200 of 238 Old 12-24-2009, 10:11 AM
amt
Senior Member
 
amt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axel View Post

I only just now found out about VideoEq Pro. Very intriguing product!! This sounds like a great match for my RS-10.

Any chance one could still join the EAP?
____
Axel

I was told there was no EAP for the Pro. I have an RS2 (actually FPJ1), and was also looking forward to an EAP for the Pro, as it sounded like regular Eq was not capable enough to correct both primary and secondary colors.
amt is offline  
post #201 of 238 Old 12-24-2009, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 88
The EAP VideoEq's have CMS

Quote:
Originally Posted by derekjsmith View Post


The VideoEq we are using for the EAP will have CMS




Need to find a Professional Calibrator?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
me with your Display & City


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #202 of 238 Old 12-24-2009, 01:22 PM
amt
Senior Member
 
amt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

The EAP VideoEq's have CMS

Not a complete one

Quote:
Originally Posted by derekjsmith View Post

If you care or need gamut correction (CMS) then the VideoEq Pro is what you need plus with the VideoEq Pro you also get to have 3 gamma/grayscale/gamut presets for day/night/sports type modes via IR jack.

amt is offline  
post #203 of 238 Old 12-24-2009, 01:25 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Bear5k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by amt View Post

Not a complete one

There may be a philosophical point you are making, but the EAP units have the full Pro CMS.

Color accuracy evangelist and CalMAN insider
Bear5k is offline  
post #204 of 238 Old 12-24-2009, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by amt View Post

Not a complete one

How is it incomplete? Is this like the Vision not having secondary color adjustments? Or not having hue, saturation AND luminance?
erkq is offline  
post #205 of 238 Old 12-24-2009, 01:27 PM
amt
Senior Member
 
amt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sorry, just edited my post above. Look at the quote from Derek above.

Here is the link for full context: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post17427545
amt is offline  
post #206 of 238 Old 12-24-2009, 01:32 PM
amt
Senior Member
 
amt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Believe me, I would love for the VideoEQ to have "complete" gamut correction. I would love to be wrong here, as I need a low cost solution for my FPJ1. So, can anyone say for sure the VideoEQ can correct saturation, hue and luminance on a projector like the RS2/FPJ1?

Also, is there a satisfaction guarantee? Can I return the product for a full refund within 30 days if it does not perform as expected, even if one participates in the EAP?
amt is offline  
post #207 of 238 Old 12-24-2009, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 4,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by amt View Post

Believe me, I would love for the VideoEQ to have "complete" gamut correction. I would love to be wrong here, as I need a low cost solution for my FPJ1. So, can anyone say for sure the VideoEQ can correct saturation, hue and luminance on a projector like the RS2/FPJ1?

Also, is there a satisfaction guarantee? Can I return the product for a full refund within 30 days if it does not perform as expected, even if one participates in the EAP?

I am looking forward to the answers to both questions. Maybe Derek could chime in...?
____
Axel

Axel is offline  
post #208 of 238 Old 12-24-2009, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by amt; View Post

Sorry, just edited my post above. Look at the quote from Derek above...
So, can anyone say for sure the VideoEQ can correct saturation, hue and luminance.

If Bill says it's so I think you can depend on it being so.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bodosom is offline  
post #209 of 238 Old 12-24-2009, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by amt View Post

Also, is there a satisfaction guarantee? Can I return the product for a full refund within 30 days if it does not perform as expected, even if one participates in the EAP?

Although this doesn't answer your question I think it's safe to assume that unless this is a complete bust someone would be willing to buy the unit from you.

That said it does sound like you should wait until the product is released, reviewed and refreshed before you get one.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bodosom is offline  
post #210 of 238 Old 12-24-2009, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 4,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post

Although this doesn't answer your question I think it's safe to assume that unless this is a complete bust someone would be willing to buy the unit from you.

That said it does sound like you should wait until the product is released, reviewed and refreshed before you get one.

I would expect that for the EAP there would be no or only a very limited satisfaction guarantee as it otherwise would take away from all the excitement that usually comes with being an early adopter. For my part, I am still very intrigued ...
____
Axel

Axel is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off