ColorMunki Create & HCFR? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 02-22-2009, 06:48 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
laeriq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Is the HCFR software compatible with the ColorMunki Create? My brother has the CM for his computer stuff and I was looking to use it as a cheap (free) tool until I can splurge on Calman and a meter. Since the Create should be the Display LT, HCFR should be able to use it? Thanks for any and all help!
laeriq is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 02-22-2009, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
derekjsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by laeriq View Post

Is the HCFR software compatible with the ColorMunki Create? My brother has the CM for his computer stuff and I was looking to use it as a cheap (free) tool until I can splurge on Calman and a meter. Since the Create should be the Display LT, HCFR should be able to use it? Thanks for any and all help!

Not it does not. CalMAN is the only 3rd party software licensed to support the ColorMunki Create.

Derek

CTO / Founder - SpectraCal Inc.
derekjsmith is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 02-22-2009, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
laeriq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by derekjsmith View Post

Not it does not. CalMAN is the only 3rd party software licensed to support the ColorMunki Create.

Well that's too bad. Guess I'll keep saving for CalMan. Thanks for the reply...
laeriq is online now  
post #4 of 23 Old 03-18-2010, 05:42 PM
Member
 
cbemoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to drag up an old thread, but I'm confused.

Derek has stated in many other threads that the Colormunki Create has identical hardware to the Eye One Display LT. The LT works perfectly with HCFR, so why wouldn't the Colormunki work too?
cbemoore is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 03-18-2010, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
IndianaGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Why didn't the OP just try it out? Afterall, HCFR is a free download.
IndianaGeorge is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 03-19-2010, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jkcheng122's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndianaGeorge View Post

Why didn't the OP just try it out? Afterall, HCFR is a free download.

Some people don't like to install stuff on their computers they won't get to use.
jkcheng122 is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 03-19-2010, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I would like the answer to this question myself. If the hardware is the same, then why is the ColorMunki considered very accurate and the EyeOne LT, not so much?

I have a DTP-94 and it is kind of driving me crazy having to calibrate it every ten minutes. As a newbie I spend ten minutes doing anything, then I have to recalibrate the meter again. Also it seems pretty squirrely once you get down to 30 IRE and lower.

Just another blank signature.
gtgray is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 03-19-2010, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jkcheng122's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtgray View Post

I would like the answer to this question myself. If the hardware is the same, then why is the ColorMunki considered very accurate and the EyeOne LT, not so much?

I have a DTP-94 and it is kind of driving me crazy having to calibrate it every ten minutes. As a newbie I spend ten minutes doing anything, then I have to recalibrate the meter again. Also it seems pretty squirrely once you get down to 30 IRE and lower.

You're confusing the hardware that comes with ColorMunki Photo vs Create. CM Photo comes with a spectrophotometer whereas Create comes with the same Colorimeter included with i1LT/i1D2.
jkcheng122 is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 03-19-2010, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jkcheng122's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
So is Munki pronounced "monkey" or "moonkie"?
jkcheng122 is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 03-19-2010, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
 
IndianaGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkcheng122 View Post

You're confusing the hardware that comes with ColorMunki Photo vs Create. CM Photo comes with a spectrophotometer whereas Create comes with the same Colorimeter included with i1LT/i1D2.

If it is truly the same, then you would think it would look the same to HCFR and would therefore work, and if that is truly the case then Derek mislead the OP.
IndianaGeorge is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 03-19-2010, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
IndianaGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkcheng122 View Post

So is Munki pronounced "monkey" or "moonkie"?

Hint: it has artwork that looks like a monkey on it
IndianaGeorge is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 03-19-2010, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
derekjsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndianaGeorge View Post

If it is truly the same, then you would think it would look the same to HCFR and would therefore work, and if that is truly the case then Derek mislead the OP.

Yes the ColorMunki Create is the same as a Display2 and DisplayLT except they have been locked to only work with X-Rite software and licensed OEM's.

Derek

CTO / Founder - SpectraCal Inc.
derekjsmith is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 03-19-2010, 03:37 PM
Senior Member
 
IndianaGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by derekjsmith View Post

Yes the ColorMunki Create is the same as a Display2 and DisplayLT except they have been locked to only work with X-Rite software and licensed OEM's.

Apparently Argyll CMS figured out how to unlock them... a few quotes from their site:

"The Eye-One Display LT and Eye-One Display 2 are currently available, packaged in various ways by the manufacturer, X-Rite.
The ColorMunki Create colorimeter can also be used, and will appear as an i1Display2 colorimeter."

"The Eye-One Display LT is a less expensive package with more limited software from the manufacture.
The Eye-One Display 2 package has more software features, but the instruments are virtually identical, and will operate identically using Argyll.
The ColorMunki Create package is another alternative, and will operate identically using Argyll."
IndianaGeorge is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 03-22-2010, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndianaGeorge View Post

Apparently Argyll CMS figured out how to unlock them

Perhaps lock is the wrong word here. Professor Gill has both the CM tri-stim and the CM spectro working with Argyll. Not bad for a hobbyist.
bodosom is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 03-22-2010, 09:07 PM
Senior Member
 
tpaxadpom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtgray View Post

I would like the answer to this question myself. If the hardware is the same, then why is the ColorMunki considered very accurate and the EyeOne LT, not so much?

I have a DTP-94 and it is kind of driving me crazy having to calibrate it every ten minutes. As a newbie I spend ten minutes doing anything, then I have to recalibrate the meter again. Also it seems pretty squirrely once you get down to 30 IRE and lower.

May be you should stop calibrating it every 10 minutes. I know I know it's recommended to have it calibrated. Though let me recommend doing a little experiment. Let your display warm up. Calibrate the meter, take measurements and then recalibrate meter once again and take measurement. This is to make sure you can set it up the same way you had it in the first place. You should get consistent results. Then let it idle for an hour and measure again. I really doubt you'll see drastic change if any. Personally I haven't noticed any difference. Though just to be on the safe side I usually calibrate the display and when it gets down to fine tuning I recalibrate the meter. Also down below 30 IRE (not sure what it translates into on your displays in ftL) I always get consistent results. Perhaps you just have a bad meter?
tpaxadpom is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 03-22-2010, 09:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkcheng122 View Post

So is Munki pronounced "monkey" or "moonkie"?

Probably "meenkey".
bodosom is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 06-08-2010, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Hey,

Can anyone with the Create package plug the sensor in load up HFCR and see?

I will buy the ColorMunki Create NOW if HFCR will see it as a Eye1.

(And I really want to... so someone please tell me... Locked or Not.)
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 06-08-2010, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Hey,

If no one knows... I'll find out myself. I ordered it and hope it will work with HFCR or maybe support will be added to HFCR.

If not.. I understand there is another free-ware calibration software that it does work with so I may go that way.

-Brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 06-11-2010, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Hi,

Now I know. ColorMunki create does not work with HCFR. Not at all. They may add support for it... or not.

It does work with ArgyllCMS and seems to work well. (It also works with it's own software but that sort of goes without saying.)

-Brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 06-12-2010, 12:21 AM
Member
 
inflatablemouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Brian, you saved me some bucks there
inflatablemouse is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 06-14-2010, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 59
No problem,... Didn't cost me anything. They agreed to a return and paid return shipping as well.

I think I'll keep looking for the ColorMunki Spectro device for my own use. It's use-able with argylcms and eventually may show up as supported by HCFR which is my favorite software for DIY calibration.

-Brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 06-14-2010, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 59
You know what? ... I just realized that even though I run HCFR on a very old laptop running Windows98... They don't actually support windows 98.

I wasn't able to get the ColorMunki Create to accept the driver so actually... It may have worked if I had checked on a more recent PC.

Now,.. I don't know. Doesn't matter much I guess since the i1 LT definitely works and can be found on Ebay for similar prices to what I paid for the ColorMunki Create but I wish I had realized that so I could try it before I sent it back.

=Brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 11-20-2010, 02:42 PM
Senior Member
 
kyotousa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does Argyll still work with Color munki?
Is there a guid to use Argyll?
kyotousa is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off