The Official ChromaPure thread - Page 185 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5521 of 5540 Old 07-02-2014, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
fahrenheit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollisavrct View Post
I am using a WD TV Live Plus as my generator source and I have to use MP4 format. I have the GCD MP4 loaded onto my flash drive but the colors do not match up.
Be careful with the WDTV. I believe RGB LOW is the only colour space which complies to standard. Even then, it can change between firmwares. I also had problems with an older display where luminance would go completely off the reservation after switching to a different HDMI input and then back to the WD again.
fahrenheit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5522 of 5540 Old 07-02-2014, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wouter73 View Post
Your mediaplayer can read iso files, so why not store the disc as an iso image for calibration?
Check if you Media Player can play Blu-Ray ISO files with Full Menu Navigation.... If it can play them with full menus then ask from Tom if he can provide you the Blu-Ray ISO Download instead of sending you the actual Blu-Ray Disk Copy.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #5523 of 5540 Old 07-02-2014, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollisavrct View Post
Does anyone know if the calibration disc sold by ChromaPure is in MP4 format? I am using a WD TV Live Plus as my generator source and I have to use MP4 format. I have the GCD MP4 loaded onto my flash drive but the colors do not match up. I would buy the ChromaPure disc but I don't think it is in the right format. I own a Sencore VP403C but the colorchecker pattern is not on it.

Any ideas?
Thanks
hollisavrct
Hi, I have seen that ChromaPure Calibration Disc contains the ColorChecker Patterns and not the ColorChecker Skintones Patterns that came as a measuring feature of ChromaPure after the initial disk release.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #5524 of 5540 Old 07-02-2014, 03:32 PM
Newbie
 
hollisavrct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Hi, I have seen that ChromaPure Calibration Disc contains the ColorChecker Patterns and not the ColorChecker Skintones Patterns that came as a measuring feature of ChromaPure after the initial disk release.
So the disc does not have the correct pattern which means the only pattern that works is the built in one?

hollisavrct
hollisavrct is online now  
post #5525 of 5540 Old 07-02-2014, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollisavrct View Post
So the disc does not have the correct pattern which means the only pattern that works is the built in one?

hollisavrct
ChromaPure software has 2 ColorChecker type of measurements:

ColorChecker Classic (24 Patches)

ColorChecker Skintones (16 Patches)

ChromaPure Calibration Disc has the required patterns for the ColorChecker Classic measurement.

Currenly, ColorChecker Skintones are not available inside that disk according to current version features list.

Of-course it has the correct RGB Triplets for each pattern in the ColorChecker Classic Chapter.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #5526 of 5540 Old 07-02-2014, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
ChromaPure software has 2 ColorChecker type of measurements:

ColorChecker Classic (24 Patches)

ColorChecker Skintones (16 Patches)

ChromaPure Calibration Disc has the required patterns for the ColorChecker Classic measurement.

Currenly, ColorChecker Skintones are not available inside that disk according to current version features list.

Of-course it has the correct RGB Triplets for each pattern in the ColorChecker Classic Chapter.
We released the Skin Tones update to ChromaPure AFTER we had released the disc. However, the disc has been subsequently updated. Existing users can get a new version on request.
ConnecTEDDD likes this.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #5527 of 5540 Old 07-02-2014, 07:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollisavrct View Post
Does anyone know if the calibration disc sold by ChromaPure is in MP4 format? I am using a WD TV Live Plus as my generator source and I have to use MP4 format. I have the GCD MP4 loaded onto my flash drive but the colors do not match up. I would buy the ChromaPure disc but I don't think it is in the right format. I own a Sencore VP403C but the colorchecker pattern is not on it.
In fact, the Sencore does not support any custom colors. That is, it only supports RGBYCMW at 21 levels of intensity. You'll need a more modern signal generator for this.

The disc is a standard Blu-ray.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #5528 of 5540 Old 07-03-2014, 02:44 AM
Newbie
 
hollisavrct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
In fact, the Sencore does not support any custom colors. That is, it only supports RGBYCMW at 21 levels of intensity. You'll need a more modern signal generator for this.

The disc is a standard Blu-ray.
Can I use the GCD disc?

Thanks
hollisavrct
hollisavrct is online now  
post #5529 of 5540 Old 07-03-2014, 03:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollisavrct View Post
Can I use the GCD disc?
You'll have to ask the author.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #5530 of 5540 Old 07-04-2014, 10:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I bought the Chromapure package with a i1 Display 3 Upgraded (Pro) meter. I m going to use a 'HTPC CMS' solution (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-display-calibration/1471169-madvr-argyllcms-57.html#post25501642) but I need a ''meter correction file''. Did my Chromapure package came with a meter correction file? I can t find anything about this. All I have is a license file for Chromapure.
sanderdvd is offline  
post #5531 of 5540 Old 07-04-2014, 11:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
I bought the Chromapure package with a i1 Display 3 Upgraded (Pro) meter. I m going to use a 'HTPC CMS' solution (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-display-calibration/1471169-madvr-argyllcms-57.html#post25501642) but I need a ''meter correction file''. Did my Chromapure package came with a meter correction file? I can t find anything about this. All I have is a license file for Chromapure.
The corrections are built-in to the ChromaPure license file. You should have also gotten a calibration report that documents the corrections made. Presumably the information in this document can be used to generate a correction file for ArgyllCMS, but you'd have to ask them about this.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #5532 of 5540 Old Yesterday, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Which of the next 9 calibrations is the best when I want the best compromise between Greyscale, Gamma and Color Gamut?


CALIBRATION 1




CALIBRATION 2





CALIBRATION 3





CALIBRATION 4





CALIBRATION 5





CALIBRATION 6





CALIBRATION 7





CALIBRATION 8





CALIBRATION 9

sanderdvd is offline  
post #5533 of 5540 Old Yesterday, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 47
gamma is really high but i think 8 is the best of them "low" DE and pretty steady gamma of ~2.46 did you aim for 2.5?
did you select random settings or why did you get so weired readings?
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #5534 of 5540 Old Yesterday, 03:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 173
sanderdvd,

Which display or projector are you calibrating?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #5535 of 5540 Old Yesterday, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
sanderdvd,

Which display or projector are you calibrating?
sanderdvd,

use 4-Point Saturation + ColorChecker of ChromaPure next time you will measure, it will makes you easier to decide between different post-calibration reports.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5

Last edited by ConnecTEDDD; Yesterday at 05:15 PM.
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #5536 of 5540 Old Yesterday, 09:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
gamma is really high but i think 8 is the best of them "low" DE and pretty steady gamma of ~2.46 did you aim for 2.5?
did you select random settings or why did you get so weired readings?
Aimed for 2.4 gamma. What do you think about CALIBRATION 6?
sanderdvd is offline  
post #5537 of 5540 Old Yesterday, 09:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimp View Post
sanderdvd,

which display or projector are you calibrating?
jvc rs-49
sanderdvd is offline  
post #5538 of 5540 Old Yesterday, 09:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
sanderdvd,

use 4-Point Saturation + ColorChecker of ChromaPure next time you will measure, it will makes you easier to decide between different post-calibration reports.
Where do I do this in CP?
sanderdvd is offline  
post #5539 of 5540 Old Today, 01:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gordon Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: S.E. England
Posts: 1,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
Where do I do this in CP?
You use the ADVANCED COLOUR MANAGEMENT tab to see the multiple saturation levels and to set the luminance they are measured at. The reality is the colour gamut charts you post are pretty meaningless. They show accuracy of a handful of points at maximum saturation and stimulus levels. Put on a disc or tv and press pause and see how much stuff is on screen that is actually BOTH maximum saturation and stimulus...i suspect that there will be nothing. What is much more important is the accuracy of the stuff in the middle of the colour cube, not the stuff at the extremes.

On the bottom section of the tabs on left of screen on chromapure is where the colour checker tab is. That allows you to check around 80 isH separate colours and it is more useful but again, it's just a small subset of the colours your display can show. It is an "industry" reference though. You will find when you investigate this more that there are LOTS of displays where the outer edges of the cube can look great but the inside is a non linear mess with all sorts of errors...and sometimes those errors are actually made worse by using the internal tools of the display to fix the outer edge.

As for the greyscale and gamma. Well, I would suggest that if you have an error in the greyscale you don't want it to be that there is too much red or green, too much blue is nicer to look at. So I quite like 3...but as has been pointed out 8 has better numbers and they are very low...but the error is in the wrong direction...so if you had the ability I'd be doing a visual comparison of them both to see which I actually preferred.
ConnecTEDDD likes this.

Convergent-AV
ISF, Home Theater Consultants and Distribution, U.K.

Last edited by Gordon Fraser; Today at 01:43 AM.
Gordon Fraser is online now  
post #5540 of 5540 Old Today, 03:45 AM
Senior Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
Aimed for 2.4 gamma. What do you think about CALIBRATION 6?
dE
<1 very good
<2 good
<3 not good
>3 bad
5.3 very bad...
so i think it's pretty bad
mightyhuhn is online now  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off