The Official ChromaPure thread - Page 193 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 28Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5761 of 5783 Old 10-01-2014, 07:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
mskreis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Clancy, MT, USA
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I tried the latest version on a new Radiance 2143 and with Auto calibration I only have the option of 125 point matrix. I was expecting to have access to 4913 points. What am I missing?

I'm using the service menu on the 2143 and have enabled 17x17x17.

Mark
mskreis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5762 of 5783 Old 10-01-2014, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,447
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by mskreis View Post
I tried the latest version on a new Radiance 2143 and with Auto calibration I only have the option of 125 point matrix. I was expecting to have access to 4913 points. What am I missing?

I'm using the service menu on the 2143 and have enabled 17x17x17.
You probably just need an adjustment to your license. Send to ChromaPure Support and I will make the adjustment and send it back.

-TH

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #5763 of 5783 Old 10-02-2014, 05:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
I have seen no experimental results demonstrating any advantage above 729 colors. In fact, I am getting sub 1.0 average dE results for 2-passes of 125 colors.
Tom: This is not a big issue for me, more like a nice to have. As a practical matter, 729 points should be more than enough. Thanks
dsinger is offline  
post #5764 of 5783 Old 10-02-2014, 10:45 AM
Member
 
MSL_DK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How long does it take to get the license number after payment is approved?
MSL_DK is offline  
post #5765 of 5783 Old 10-02-2014, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,447
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSL_DK View Post
How long does it take to get the license number after payment is approved?
Same day. If I am at my computer at the time, it would be within 15-20 minutes.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #5766 of 5783 Old 10-02-2014, 04:58 PM
Senior Member
 
ausdavep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just a quick question, when setting the CMS, I use the Spears & Munsil HD Color Bars pattern. In the pattern, theres an off-white and a brighter white. For the white measurement in Chromapure, should I be using the brighter white?

(see top pic here) http://www.spearsandmunsil.com/portf...olor-and-tint/
ausdavep is online now  
post #5767 of 5783 Old 10-02-2014, 04:58 PM
Senior Member
 
ausdavep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just a quick question, when setting the CMS, I use the Spears & Munsil HD Color Bars pattern. In the pattern, theres an off-white and a brighter white. For the white measurement in Chromapure, should I be using the brighter white?

(see top pic here) http://www.spearsandmunsil.com/portf...olor-and-tint/
ausdavep is online now  
post #5768 of 5783 Old 10-02-2014, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,447
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by ausdavep View Post
Just a quick question, when setting the CMS, I use the Spears & Munsil HD Color Bars pattern. In the pattern, theres an off-white and a brighter white. For the white measurement in Chromapure, should I be using the brighter white?

(see top pic here) http://www.spearsandmunsil.com/portf...olor-and-tint/
Do not use color bars for this. Use uniform color windows or full fields. Color bars are an old way of testing for color decoding problems, not for CMS calibration.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #5769 of 5783 Old 10-02-2014, 05:21 PM
Senior Member
 
ausdavep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Would this be true for grayscale too then? I just use the 11-bar pattern. I dont recall Spears and Munsil having full field patterns, but then again, I havnt been through the menu's exhaustively. I also have DVE on BR, so maybe i'll see if they're there too.

Thanks for the tip. Having a lot of fun so far.
ausdavep is online now  
post #5770 of 5783 Old 10-04-2014, 09:44 AM
Member
 
MSL_DK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
Same day. If I am at my computer at the time, it would be within 15-20 minutes.
Thank you.

I just ran a pre-calibration and 0 and 10 surprises me. I can in no way achieve a satisfactory result for 0 and 10, I have tried with Samsung's 2 and 10-point, but I can not turn down enough for blue ... My TV is a Samsung UE46H7005SQXXE in movie mode. is there anything I can do?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	gi.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	32.4 KB
ID:	294474  

Last edited by MSL_DK; 10-04-2014 at 09:51 AM.
MSL_DK is offline  
post #5771 of 5783 Old 10-04-2014, 09:51 AM
Member
 
1forsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSL_DK View Post
Thank you.

I just ran a pre-calibration and 0 and 10 surprises me. I can in no way achieve a satisfactory result for 0 and 10, I have tried with Samsung's 10-point, but I can not turn down enough for blue ... My TV is a Samsung UE46H7005SQXXE in movie mode. is there anything I can do?
can you raise red or does that make it worse? I wouldnt worry too much about 0.....
1forsnow is online now  
post #5772 of 5783 Old 10-04-2014, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,447
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSL_DK View Post
Thank you.

I just ran a pre-calibration and 0 and 10 surprises me. I can in no way achieve a satisfactory result for 0 and 10, I have tried with Samsung's 2 and 10-point, but I can not turn down enough for blue ... My TV is a Samsung UE46H7005SQXXE in movie mode. is there anything I can do?
First, 0 is black. Don't concern yourself with the color of black. The only reason this is even measured is for luminance so contrast can be calculated. Second, you should be able to fix 10% by using the main RGB Offsets first and then the 10-point for fine adjustments. If lowering blue isn't enough, then just raise red and green also. Third, going blue at the low end is a fairly typical result from Samsung displays, so this isn't surprising.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #5773 of 5783 Old 10-06-2014, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
humbug2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Farmington Hills MI
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Lumagen XS, Sony Vaio laptop, win 7. X-Rite EyeOne Display 3 PRO with ChromaPure Standard + Auto-Calibrate add-on.

Is it advisable to use this with a 25 ft USB extension cable between the meter and the PC?
humbug2 is offline  
post #5774 of 5783 Old 10-06-2014, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
humbug2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Farmington Hills MI
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Lumagen XS, Sony Vaio laptop, win 7. X-Rite EyeOne Display 3 PRO with ChromaPure Standard + Auto-Calibrate add-on.

Is it advisable to use this with a 25 ft USB extension cable between the meter and the PC?
humbug2 is offline  
post #5775 of 5783 Old 10-06-2014, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,447
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by humbug2 View Post
Lumagen XS, Sony Vaio laptop, win 7. X-Rite EyeOne Display 3 PRO with ChromaPure Standard + Auto-Calibrate add-on.

Is it advisable to use this with a 25 ft USB extension cable between the meter and the PC?
It is not. Don't go beyond 1 meter (10 feet).

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #5776 of 5783 Old 10-06-2014, 01:52 PM
Senior Member
 
rmongiovi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
It is not. Don't go beyond 1 meter (10 feet).
1 meter is a bit more than 3 and a quarter feet. I think you meant 3 meters.
rmongiovi is online now  
post #5777 of 5783 Old 10-06-2014, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,447
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmongiovi View Post
1 meter is a bit more than 3 and a quarter feet. I think you meant 3 meters.
Sorry, yes.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #5778 of 5783 Old 10-07-2014, 11:52 AM
Member
 
MSL_DK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
First, 0 is black. Don't concern yourself with the color of black. The only reason this is even measured is for luminance so contrast can be calculated. Second, you should be able to fix 10% by using the main RGB Offsets first and then the 10-point for fine adjustments. If lowering blue isn't enough, then just raise red and green also. Third, going blue at the low end is a fairly typical result from Samsung displays, so this isn't surprising.
Thanks.

why is it not possible to select a white LED, CCFL or OLED? thought I should have the same opportunities as iProfiler correction?
MSL_DK is offline  
post #5779 of 5783 Old 10-08-2014, 06:17 AM
Newbie
 
vincz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
in 729 Colors with idisplay Pro : 28 minutes with 2.5.4 software and 88 minutes with 2.5.3 How it is possible?
this is exactly the same result ?, time is very good but i need to be sure for gamut
vincz is offline  
post #5780 of 5783 Old 10-11-2014, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,447
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Beta release

We discovered some bugs in the 729 and 4913 Lumagen LUT auto-cal and with i1Pro 2 support.

We have fixed both problems, and these fixes will be included in a maintenance release very soon.

If you don't want to wait, we have a beta build with the fixes included.

Edit: Also, we discovered and fixed another bug that was not of our making. This one was Microsoft's fault. The latest version of Microsoft's development software creates installers that are not compatible with Windows XP. So, if you were still using XP, 2.5.4 would not install. We replaced the installer with an older version and now it works on XP as well as Windows 7/8.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO


Last edited by TomHuffman; 10-11-2014 at 12:33 PM. Reason: Additional Information
TomHuffman is online now  
post #5781 of 5783 Old 10-13-2014, 06:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,197
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I m looking for test patterns for doing a Advanced Color Management measurement in Chromapure. Where can I find test patterns for this? I assume I need the following test patterns for this:

Red 100%
Red 75%
Red 50%
Red 25%
Green 100%
Green 75%
Green 50%
Green 25%
Blue 100%
Blue 75%
Blue 50%
Blue 25%
Magenta 100%
Magenta 75%
Magenta 50%
Magenta 25%
Yellow 100%
Yellow 75%
Yellow 50%
Yellow 25%
Cyan 100%
Cyan 75%
Cyan 50%
Cyab 25%

I can only find 100 and 75% patterns in the AVS 709 disc, the one I use.
sanderdvd is offline  
post #5782 of 5783 Old 10-14-2014, 03:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,447
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
I m looking for test patterns for doing a Advanced Color Management measurement in Chromapure. Where can I find test patterns for this? I assume I need the following test patterns for this:

Red 100%
Red 75%
Red 50%
Red 25%
Green 100%
Green 75%
Green 50%
Green 25%
Blue 100%
Blue 75%
Blue 50%
Blue 25%
Magenta 100%
Magenta 75%
Magenta 50%
Magenta 25%
Yellow 100%
Yellow 75%
Yellow 50%
Yellow 25%
Cyan 100%
Cyan 75%
Cyan 50%
Cyab 25%

I can only find 100 and 75% patterns in the AVS 709 disc, the one I use.
It has been a while since I used the AVS 709 disc, but the patterns you are looking for are in the ChromaPure disc, Ryan Masciola's disc, and Ted's Lightspace disc.
buzzard767 and ConnecTEDDD like this.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #5783 of 5783 Old 10-15-2014, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,447
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 226
75% of Rec. 709 and Color Luminance

In the Options, Calibration, Color Luminance panel there is an option to select between
  • Fixed Target from Gamut (default)
  • Calculated Target
The first option establishes the color luminance target from the gamut specification. The second option calculates a target from the measured values of red, green, blue, and white.

If you have selected "75% of Rec. 709" as your Reference Gamut, then ensure that you have also selected "Fixed Target from Gamut" from above. The reason is that use of this gamut is for the purpose of getting good Rec. 709 results, so you want to aim towards luminance values that are as close to the Rec. 709 values as possible. Since 75% of Rec. 709 is not a real gamut, but a pseudo-gamut that I basically invented for this narrow purpose, the fixed target option uses the Rec. 709 luminance targets.

By way of contrast. the calculated target option will use something close (depending on your measurements) to the targets that would exist if 75% of Rec. 709 were a real gamut. These targets are very different from Rec. 709, especially in the blue channel. Calibrating to these targets will provide results that are not a good choice for a Rec. 709 calibration.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off