The Official ChromaPure thread - Page 214 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 150Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6391 of 6603 Old 04-01-2015, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,801
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 388
In these screen shots you show the corrections for the i1D3 are enabled, but for the CR-100 they are disabled. You are correcting only one of the meters with the CR-250.

The Cphw.dll file update may only be necessary for the 250. I am not even sure that it is. The CR drivers are finicky. I have reported this to them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pres2play View Post
Tom, I reinstalled CP and had to repeat our earlier procedure to get CP to recognize the CR meters; that being, delete and reinstall the CR drives and update the Cphw.dll file. After a few tries, the meters are now running again. I hope this is something that can be looked into.

I ran a few quick measurements and the readings are now similar between the CR100 and i1D3, but RGB balance is still off.


Please notice, I used the same reference values from the CR250 to profile each meter.

i1D3 field meter



CR100 field meter



Pre = i1D3
Post = CR100




Pre = i1D3
Post = CR100

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6392 of 6603 Old 04-01-2015, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Ok, I thought that the box was for enabling and disabling the CP corrections. I'll run a new session this weekend.


Thanks for informing Colorimetry Research about the drivers. I'll keep monitoring their site for updates.
Pres2play is offline  
post #6393 of 6603 Old 04-02-2015, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
peteS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm just getting ready to re-do my auto calibration using my Duo - I changed the audio processor which was also in the HDMI chain, so the Duo thinks it's in a new setup. It's a while since I did this last, so a couple of quick reminders .....


My display is Pana VT65B plasma btw.


1) RGB or 444/422
I currently have the Duo output RGB since I assume that everything actually gets converted to RGB in the end and that's what I had running last time i did a cal. Anyone got a view of if there is actually any reason to use one or the other.


2) HDMI Level - full or video
The Duo will be creating the test patterns - and the Duo can output at full or video HDMI levels. Should I set the Duo to output full before running the cal, or doesn't it make any difference?


3) How best to set contrast level
The Duo can output ISF pluge white test patterns, but adjusting the contrast doesn't seem to make any difference to the visibility of the 235 etc. and up panels vs. background. When adjusting the contrast on the display. What's the best way to set contrast - aim for 35fL?


4) Best to use Rec. 709 or 75% of Rec. 709, 100% intensity or 75% and full or windowed test patterns?


Thanks in advance


pete S
peteS is offline  
post #6394 of 6603 Old 04-02-2015, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,801
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 388
The color space should not matter, though YCbCr 422 is probably the safest.
Limited (Video), not Full (PC)
Increasing contrast will have an effect up to a point and then it will often simply stop responding. Aim for 120 cd/m2.
Always use 75% windows on plasmas. In the case of Panasonic plasmas use Rec. 709.


Quote:
Originally Posted by peteS View Post
I'm just getting ready to re-do my auto calibration using my Duo - I changed the audio processor which was also in the HDMI chain, so the Duo thinks it's in a new setup. It's a while since I did this last, so a couple of quick reminders .....


My display is Pana VT65B plasma btw.


1) RGB or 444/422
I currently have the Duo output RGB since I assume that everything actually gets converted to RGB in the end and that's what I had running last time i did a cal. Anyone got a view of if there is actually any reason to use one or the other.


2) HDMI Level - full or video
The Duo will be creating the test patterns - and the Duo can output at full or video HDMI levels. Should I set the Duo to output full before running the cal, or doesn't it make any difference?


3) How best to set contrast level
The Duo can output ISF pluge white test patterns, but adjusting the contrast doesn't seem to make any difference to the visibility of the 235 etc. and up panels vs. background. When adjusting the contrast on the display. What's the best way to set contrast - aim for 35fL?


4) Best to use Rec. 709 or 75% of Rec. 709, 100% intensity or 75% and full or windowed test patterns?


Thanks in advance


pete S

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6395 of 6603 Old 04-02-2015, 11:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,756
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pres2play View Post
Tom, I reinstalled CP and had to repeat our earlier procedure to get CP to recognize the CR meters; that being, delete and reinstall the CR drives and update the Cphw.dll file. After a few tries, the meters are now running again. I hope this is something that can be looked into.

I ran a few quick measurements and the readings are now similar between the CR100 and i1D3, but RGB balance is still off.
Hi, you have to verify the meter correction tables to see if they are accurate and which is closer to your reference.

Use the CR-250 to create a meter correction table to CR-100, (write down to a text file the xyY values of WRGB that CR-250 measured), now with correction table enabled measure WRGB and write down the xyY values also.

After that use the free Meter Profile Comparison Tool and enter both values of WRGB readings of colorimeter/spectro manually.

So you will see how accurate is your profiling, by providing you the delta E results in dE 1976 Luv, dE 1976 Lab, dE 1994 and dE 2000.

Later do the same test by comparing the CR-250 vs. profiled id3.

Doing this you will find where the problem is located and which meter profiling is the correct.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #6396 of 6603 Old 04-03-2015, 01:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,801
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Doing this you will find where the problem is located and which meter profiling is the correct.
The profiles use exactly the same code. There are not really different profiles, other than the field meter data changes. The math for the correction is the same.

The problem here is almost certainly user error. I will follow-up with Bob to get this straighened out.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6397 of 6603 Old 04-03-2015, 01:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Hi, you have to verify the meter correction tables to see if they are accurate and which is closer to your reference.

Use the CR-250 to create a meter correction table to CR-100, (write down to a text file the xyY values of WRGB that CR-250 measured), now with correction table enabled measure WRGB and write down the xyY values also.

After that use the free Meter Profile Comparison Tool and enter both values of WRGB readings of colorimeter/spectro manually.

So you will see how accurate is your profiling, by providing you the delta E results in dE 1976 Luv, dE 1976 Lab, dE 1994 and dE 2000.

Later do the same test by comparing the CR-250 vs. profiled id3.

Doing this you will find where the problem is located and which meter profiling is the correct.

You mean create a correction table using the CRIApp, first?


Nevermind, just saw Tom's post.
Pres2play is offline  
post #6398 of 6603 Old 04-03-2015, 01:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,756
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pres2play View Post
You mean create a correction table using the CRIApp, first?


Nevermind, just saw Tom's post.
It's better to co-operate with Tom to locate the issue. I was taking about doing all operations from ChromaPure only.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #6399 of 6603 Old 04-03-2015, 01:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Tom, you sent me a license before without the Chromapure Pro Corrections, so I wouldn't have to disable the Pro Corrections manually anymore.


The new license for the CR meters also has the CP Pro Corrections box. Can you check this out, and sent me a license without the corrections?


Sometimes I forget to disable it.
Pres2play is offline  
post #6400 of 6603 Old 04-03-2015, 02:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,032
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
It's better to co-operate with Tom to locate the issue. I was taking about doing all operations from ChromaPure only.

Ok, Ted. As Tom said, I just run the 4-matrix measurement once with the reference meter. Then do separate WRGB measurements with the field meters.
Pres2play is offline  
post #6401 of 6603 Old 04-03-2015, 03:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,801
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pres2play View Post
Tom, you sent me a license before without the Chromapure Pro Corrections, so I wouldn't have to disable the Pro Corrections manually anymore.


The new license for the CR meters also has the CP Pro Corrections box. Can you check this out, and sent me a license without the corrections?


Sometimes I forget to disable it.
It doesn't matter whether they are active or not. Whatever meter you profile against the CR-250 (which has no corrections) will mimic the CR-250, whether they have corrections before or not.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6402 of 6603 Old 04-03-2015, 11:14 AM
Member
 
svellinis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Tom I have the 2.5.8.26.190 version of chromapure and lumagen xe 3d with 012515 firmware
I have calibrate manual the grayscale in my Samsung ue55h7000 . We have chosen in auto calibration to not calibrate the greyscale (not tick the option ) and auto calibration did new calibration and as you can see the result changes the gamma values
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Grayscale.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	118.9 KB
ID:	644425   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gamma.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	109.9 KB
ID:	644433  
svellinis is offline  
post #6403 of 6603 Old 04-03-2015, 01:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,801
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by svellinis View Post
Tom I have the 2.5.8.26.190 version of chromapure and lumagen xe 3d with 012515 firmware
I have calibrate manual the grayscale in my Samsung ue55h7000 . We have chosen in auto calibration to not calibrate the greyscale (not tick the option ) and auto calibration did new calibration and as you can see the result changes the gamma values
Even if you don't use auto-cal to calibrate grayscale, the Lumagen LUT includes several grayscale points, so this is expected.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6404 of 6603 Old 04-03-2015, 04:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
rmongiovi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Maybe autocal should just skip over the grayscale LUT points and rely on the grayscale table...
rmongiovi is offline  
post #6405 of 6603 Old 04-04-2015, 02:02 AM
Senior Member
 
anta1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Tom!
Where I can download chromapure 2.5.8?

I find - online site download version 2.5.8

Last edited by anta1974; 04-04-2015 at 04:18 AM.
anta1974 is offline  
post #6406 of 6603 Old 04-04-2015, 03:26 AM
Member
 
SteveWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmongiovi View Post
Maybe autocal should just skip over the grayscale LUT points and rely on the grayscale table...
I agree.
SteveWK is offline  
post #6407 of 6603 Old 04-04-2015, 04:21 AM
Senior Member
 
anta1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 29
What changelog in chromapure 2.5.8?
anta1974 is offline  
post #6408 of 6603 Old 04-04-2015, 04:35 AM
Senior Member
 
maximus74's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by anta1974 View Post
What changelog in chromapure 2.5.8?
I can't find ChromaPure 2.5.8...do you have a link?
maximus74 is offline  
post #6409 of 6603 Old 04-04-2015, 07:23 AM
Senior Member
 
anta1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Online site download chromapure 2.5.7 - real download 2.5.8!
anta1974 is offline  
post #6410 of 6603 Old 04-04-2015, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
maximus74's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Thanks anta
maximus74 is offline  
post #6411 of 6603 Old 04-04-2015, 02:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
rmongiovi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Tom names every chromapure release "chromapure.zip". Every link in a news entry on the web site, regardless of what version number the text says, is a link to chromapure.zip which is always the latest version.
rmongiovi is offline  
post #6412 of 6603 Old 04-04-2015, 02:59 PM
Member
 
svellinis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
Even if you don't use auto-cal to calibrate grayscale, the Lumagen LUT includes several grayscale points, so this is expected.
Why chromapure change the aspect ratio from 16:9 to LBox before start the auto calibration ?
svellinis is offline  
post #6413 of 6603 Old 04-04-2015, 03:02 PM
Member
 
svellinis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmongiovi View Post
Tom names every chromapure release "chromapure.zip". Every link in a news entry on the web site, regardless of what version number the text says, is a link to chromapure.zip which is always the latest version.

So every time we wonder if we have installed the latest version .
svellinis is offline  
post #6414 of 6603 Old 04-04-2015, 05:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,801
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Guys, 2.5.8 has not been released yet. When it is available I will announce it as always. The version on our web site has a 2.5.8 release number only because a user needed support for the CR-250 spectroradiometer immediately. Unless you have this instrument there is no reason to download a new version now.
anta1974 likes this.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6415 of 6603 Old 04-04-2015, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,801
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by svellinis View Post
Why chromapure change the aspect ratio from 16:9 to LBox before start the auto calibration ?
It doesn't. If you select the Reset to Lumagen Default option, then it may briefly look that way. Once the test patterns start it will be at 16:9.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6416 of 6603 Old 04-05-2015, 08:10 AM
Member
 
svellinis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
It doesn't. If you select the Reset to Lumagen Default option, then it may briefly look that way. Once the test patterns start it will be at 16:9.

Αre you sure; When chromapure finish the procedure has changed aspect ratio to LBOX
And I have not chosen to reset to default settings
svellinis is offline  
post #6417 of 6603 Old 04-05-2015, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,801
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by svellinis View Post
Αre you sure; When chromapure finish the procedure has changed aspect ratio to LBOX
And I have not chosen to reset to default settings
We do not execute any command that would affect the aspect ratio settings. You might try doing a clean reinstall. The Official ChromaPure thread
I have never seen this.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6418 of 6603 Old 04-06-2015, 02:29 AM
Member
 
Chris5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quite often over the years of using many versions of CP my screen ends up split in 2 (some sort of 3D mode I guess) after completing an autocal. I can clear this by taking my lumagen in and out of standby mode. Does that work for you? Or does it stay in letterbox mode?
Chris5 is offline  
post #6419 of 6603 Old 04-06-2015, 03:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,801
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Yes, I have had this happen as well, and not just after auto-cal. As you say, it is fixed by an off/on switch on the Lumagen.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6420 of 6603 Old 04-06-2015, 06:24 AM
Member
 
Chris5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 17
It did scare the whats'it's out of me the first time I saw it though
Chris5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off