The Official ChromaPure thread - Page 216 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 130Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #6451 of 6467 Old 04-17-2015, 01:29 AM
Senior Member
 
anta1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Dear TOM!
1) What %background APL and ARL in yuor wonderfull calibration disk?
2) Why in the gamma is not possible to separate output by color -red, green, blue?
anta1974 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6452 of 6467 Old 04-17-2015, 02:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,706
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by anta1974 View Post
Dear TOM!
1) What %background APL and ARL in yuor wonderfull calibration disk?
2) Why in the gamma is not possible to separate output by color -red, green, blue?
I don't understand the first question. APL is the average level for the entire screen, not just the background. I don't know what ARL stands for. In any case, the black backgrounds are 16. The APL patterns have an APL of about 25.
RGB Gamma is the same thing as grayscale. It is redundant.
anta1974 likes this.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #6453 of 6467 Old 04-17-2015, 09:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,980
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalWldLif View Post
bt1886

Tried BT1886 and can't say I like the result. Maybe I'm doing it wrong. Color is awfully dull.
Pres2play is offline  
post #6454 of 6467 Old 04-18-2015, 02:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 76
I tried BT1886 myself last week, but although I'd ticked the box to manual measure white and black levels it didn't seem to let me change them as they are greyed out. As they were at 0.003 and 120 I left them there and the autocal (using a Lumagen 2041 with 729 point CMS), but results were poor with quite a few dEs in the 'poor' range (about 5% IIRC) for the colour gamut.

I plan to have another go soon, but I need to know how to set the black and white levels before I try with BT1886 again.

Zooming: Been there, done that, bought the lens...now using e-shift.
Kelvin1965S is offline  
post #6455 of 6467 Old 04-18-2015, 04:23 AM
Senior Member
 
maximus74's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1965S View Post
I tried BT1886 myself last week, but although I'd ticked the box to manual measure white and black levels it didn't seem to let me change them as they are greyed out. As they were at 0.003 and 120 I left them there and the autocal (using a Lumagen 2041 with 729 point CMS), but results were poor with quite a few dEs in the 'poor' range (about 5% IIRC) for the colour gamut.

I plan to have another go soon, but I need to know how to set the black and white levels before I try with BT1886 again.
You must enter your manual values for 0% IRE and 100% IRE in Options...there you will find BT.1886 and enter your own values.
maximus74 is offline  
post #6456 of 6467 Old 04-18-2015, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus74 View Post
You must enter your manual values for 0% IRE and 100% IRE in Options...there you will find BT.1886 and enter your own values.
I'm pretty sure I tried this as I changed the black level to 0.04 to see if it appeared on the autocal page with this setting, but it remained at 0.03.

Zooming: Been there, done that, bought the lens...now using e-shift.
Kelvin1965S is offline  
post #6457 of 6467 Old 04-18-2015, 08:57 AM
Senior Member
 
jh87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 150
I updated to the latest version. I have the impression there should be a "oled" mode for my display 3 pro meter, but I only see CRT, standard, front, plasma. Did I miss something?
what is the oled profile for chromaPure that other people talking about?
jh87 is offline  
post #6458 of 6467 Old 04-18-2015, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,980
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 209
I did mine manually, with BT 1886 set to 0.003 and 120 in the Options box. In Gamma module, I picked BT 1886 and adjusted gamma at each stimulus to match the curve. The result was a noticeable dimmer picture with muted color scheme. May be BT 1886 is not suitable for OLED displays
Pres2play is offline  
post #6459 of 6467 Old 04-18-2015, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,980
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by jh87 View Post
I updated to the latest version. I have the impression there should be a "oled" mode for my display 3 pro meter, but I only see CRT, standard, front, plasma. Did I miss something?
what is the oled profile for chromaPure that other people talking about?

You must send your meter to CP to have the profile installed.
Pres2play is offline  
post #6460 of 6467 Old 04-18-2015, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,684
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by jh87 View Post
I updated to the latest version. I have the impression there should be a "oled" mode for my display 3 pro meter, but I only see CRT, standard, front, plasma. Did I miss something?
what is the oled profile for chromaPure that other people talking about?
Hi, you don't see the OLED table because when you bought your meter with PRO corrections, Tom was not offering the OLED table, so he hasn't compared your meter using his JETI to the LG OLED he has.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #6461 of 6467 Old 04-18-2015, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
jh87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Hi, you don't see the OLED table because when you bought your meter with PRO corrections, Tom was not offering the OLED table, so he hasn't compared your meter using his JETI to the LG OLED he has.
I see. thanks
jh87 is offline  
post #6462 of 6467 Old 04-20-2015, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
anta1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Dear TOM!
In chromapure 3 planned support 3DLUT with madVR?
anta1974 is online now  
post #6463 of 6467 Old 04-20-2015, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
anta1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Dear TOM!
In chromapure 3 planned support 3DLUT with madVR?
anta1974 is online now  
post #6464 of 6467 Old 04-21-2015, 02:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,706
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by anta1974 View Post
Dear TOM!
In chromapure 3 planned support 3DLUT with madVR?
Not in 3.0. This may be something we do in a subsequent point release.
anta1974 likes this.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #6465 of 6467 Old Today, 03:40 AM
Member
 
BlueChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Guys i have a question...

Im not proffesional calibrator or anything and the latest 30 days for only my use i have an X-rite i1 pro and i use HCFR to calibrate my 55ub950v so far without been able to be perfect according to hcfr without blaming HCFR offcourse which is total great, so my question is if ChromaPure will help me better... meaning if it has more control and help etc...

If yes then i suppose i need the Standard version right? and not the lite because i will miss the Gamma and the other things that standard has additional.

Thx
Chris
BlueChris is online now  
post #6466 of 6467 Unread Today, 03:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,706
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueChris View Post
Im not proffesional calibrator or anything and the latest 30 days for only my use i have an X-rite i1 pro and i use HCFR to calibrate my 55ub950v so far without been able to be perfect according to hcfr without blaming HCFR offcourse which is total great, so my question is if ChromaPure will help me better... meaning if it has more control and help etc...

If yes then i suppose i need the Standard version right? and not the lite because i will miss the Gamma and the other things that standard has additional.
I would definitely recommend the Standard version over the Lite version. As to whether you will get better results with ChromaPure over HCFR, both are very good software and have many satisfied users. I and many people on this forum are available for support and our documentation is excellent.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #6467 of 6467 Unread Today, 03:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,684
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueChris View Post
so my question is if ChromaPure will help me better... meaning if it has more control and help etc...
Hi, If you like, you can check the well written and very useful manual of ChromaPure here: http://chromapure.com/ChromaPureManual.pdf

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off