The Official ChromaPure thread - Page 224 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 163Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6691 of 6700 Old Yesterday, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,839
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kid Jansen View Post
Wouldn't the accuracy of measurements on a TV with a QDEF (Quantum Dot Enhancement Film) depend on its color gamut? There are TV's with a QDEF that are only aiming for DCI-P3 color space, of which only the monochromatic 615 nm red would be difficult to measure. But there are also TV's with a QDEF that are aiming for the much larger Rec. 2020 color space. I know that Nanosys / 3M demonstrated 93.7% Rec. 2020 coverage with QDEF at the last SID Display Week and I know from a direct source at Nanosys that with better color filters from DNP that were also demonstrated at SID Display Week they expect to reach 96 to 97% coverage of the Rec. 2020 color space.

I think that the i1D3 would have quite some difficulty measuring that accurately and I highly doubt the deviations would be smaller than 3 dE2000, especially with the red primary.
Perhaps, but I see very little evidence of this from the SUHD. In the Movie mode--which is essentially Rec. 709--the red primary reference measurement is x0.637, y0.332 and the i1D3 measurement was off from that by only 0.3 dE. When I switched to Natural Mode--which essentially a DCi-P3 mode--the red reference measurement was x0.675, y0.312 and the i1D3 dE was now 0.8. This is a larger error to be sure, but still one that is negligible. In fact, the i1D3 has the least trouble with red and blue regardless of the gamut. The errors in green and white are larger.

To be very specific our Quantum Dot mode is intended for use with the Samsung SUHD displays, which are currently by far the most popular quantum dot displays available. If other manufacturers release QD TVs that capture a meaningful market share then we will look at providing support for that as well.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO


Last edited by TomHuffman; Yesterday at 08:46 PM.
TomHuffman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6692 of 6700 Old Yesterday, 07:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
dunan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
Yes. When setting up an auto-cal session, you specify gamma. BT.1886 is one of the choices.
Guess I forgot to add my TV brand, its an ST60 plasma, I don't have an auto-calibrate option. Is there any other way to do it manually?
dunan is online now  
post #6693 of 6700 Old Yesterday, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,839
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunan View Post
Guess I forgot to add my TV brand, its an ST60 plasma, I don't have an auto-calibrate option. Is there any other way to do it manually?
Sure, just select BT.1886 in the gamma module and adjust to the indicated targets. Make sure that you include the black and white levels in Options, Calibration, BT.1886.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6694 of 6700 Old Yesterday, 09:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
dunan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
Sure, just select BT.1886 in the gamma module and adjust to the indicated targets. Make sure that you include the black and white levels in Options, Calibration, BT.1886.
Thanks, I see it now. The white/black levels, they are defaulted to 120/0.03, do they have to be set to something specific or is that like a standard?
dunan is online now  
post #6695 of 6700 Old Today, 02:01 AM
Member
 
Chris5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Without putting words into people's mouths who actually know, yes... You have to manually measure your 100% and 0% and update the values.
Chris5 is offline  
post #6696 of 6700 Old Today, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
dunan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris5 View Post
Without putting words into people's mouths who actually know, yes... You have to manually measure your 100% and 0% and update the values.
So I take it you do a 0% and 100% reading, input the values into chromapure and go from there? It seems like it's a little more involved than a straight 2.2 calibration, what if your meter doesn't do a 0% reading very well? I have a hard enough time getting my meter to get a good reading under 20%, much less 0%.

Its an i1 display pro meter btw, for reference.
dunan is online now  
post #6697 of 6700 Old Today, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,839
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunan View Post
So I take it you do a 0% and 100% reading, input the values into chromapure and go from there? It seems like it's a little more involved than a straight 2.2 calibration, what if your meter doesn't do a 0% reading very well? I have a hard enough time getting my meter to get a good reading under 20%, much less 0%.

Its an i1 display pro meter btw, for reference.
If you can't measure black, then just use the defaults. BT.1886 IS "more involved" than using a straight power law gamma like 2.2. You have to measure black and white levels first.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6698 of 6700 Old Today, 05:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
dunan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
If you can't measure black, then just use the defaults. BT.1886 IS "more involved" than using a straight power law gamma like 2.2. You have to measure black and white levels first.
Ok, Is that the only difference then, just the B/W measurements first?
dunan is online now  
post #6699 of 6700 Old Today, 06:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunan View Post
Ok, Is that the only difference then, just the B/W measurements first?
Yes, but you also need to have a display that allows gamma adjustments at 5% or (as a minimum) 10% increments. If you don't have gamma adjustments at those intervals, BUT do have white balance at those intervals then, at each point, first adjust Green to hit the target luminance, then tweak Red & Blue to restore white balance (you might have to tweak Green slightly).

Dave Hancock
davehancock is online now  
post #6700 of 6700 Old Today, 07:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
dunan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post
Yes, but you also need to have a display that allows gamma adjustments at 5% or (as a minimum) 10% increments. If you don't have gamma adjustments at those intervals, BUT do have white balance at those intervals then, at each point, first adjust Green to hit the target luminance, then tweak Red & Blue to restore white balance (you might have to tweak Green slightly).
OK good, my ST60 has a 10 point gamma adjustment, so it should be fine? I can see why it would be more beneficial to have a 20 point adjustment, wish my TV had that but oh well.
dunan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off