The Official ChromaPure thread - Page 236 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 240Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7051 of 7096 Old 02-02-2016, 08:16 AM
Member
 
hollisavrct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post
I am a Pro and frankly do mess up. I learned way back in my isf training that it is CRITICAL to be able to go back so would record that data on paper. I use my own paper form to write down the values.

Unfortunately, there is so much variation in the controls on displays these days that a pre-formated place to record those settings is essentially useless (for example: dealing with a 20 step grayscale).
I didn't mean to open a can of worms but maybe Tom could make up a form for 2, 11 and 20 point that we could keep on our desktops to record the settings.

Only a thought
hollisavrct
hollisavrct is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7052 of 7096 Old 02-02-2016, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollisavrct View Post
I didn't mean to open a can of worms but maybe Tom could make up a form for 2, 11 and 20 point that we could keep on our desktops to record the settings.

Only a thought
hollisavrct
You could do that yourself (notepad). And it is not just 2. 11, 21 point, either: CMS settings, gamma settings, etc. lots of variations. Where does one stop?

Maybe it is that I have been doing this since 2002, long before ChromaPure came along and haven't given up on my clipboard!

Dave Hancock
davehancock is offline  
post #7053 of 7096 Old 02-02-2016, 11:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,222
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post
You could do that yourself (notepad). And it is not just 2. 11, 21 point, either: CMS settings, gamma settings, etc. lots of variations. Where does one stop?

Maybe it is that I have been doing this since 2002, long before ChromaPure came along and haven't given up on my clipboard!
How about this?
Attached Files
File Type: zip calibrationSettings.zip (9.9 KB, 78 views)

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO


Last edited by TomHuffman; 02-03-2016 at 01:55 AM.
TomHuffman is online now  
post #7054 of 7096 Old 02-03-2016, 06:28 AM
Member
 
hollisavrct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
How about this?
Works for me. You the man.
Thanks
hollisavrct
hollisavrct is offline  
post #7055 of 7096 Old 02-03-2016, 06:28 AM
Member
 
hollisavrct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
How about this?
Works for me. You the man.
Thanks
hollisavrct
hollisavrct is offline  
post #7056 of 7096 Old 02-07-2016, 02:29 AM
Member
 
Plutotype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
How about this?
Thanks for the excel template.Do you have accidentally also the non-locked version of it?
Plutotype is offline  
post #7057 of 7096 Old 02-07-2016, 03:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,222
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plutotype View Post
Thanks for the excel template.Do you have accidentally also the non-locked version of it?
I made it non-editable so users could only add data in the provided fields. I am happy to edit it if I get a reasonable request.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #7058 of 7096 Old 02-07-2016, 05:03 AM
Member
 
hollisavrct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
I made it non-editable so users could only add data in the provided fields. I am happy to edit it if I get a reasonable request.
Could you add customer info field.

Thanks
Hollisavrct
hollisavrct is offline  
post #7059 of 7096 Old 02-07-2016, 05:11 AM
Member
 
Plutotype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Calibration includes usually additional set of display specific settings for picture options, like size, enhancements, motion, backlightning, etc.
These would require one additional field, where these settings can be entered manually by the calibrator.

Anyway, if v3 offers some kind of custom reporting, coding custom settings modules shouldnt be a problem. That would allow the calibrator finish the report for the customer by inputting all calibrated picture settings directly into one output pdf report file.

- Basic settings module ( Display make, model, mode, contrast, brightness, color... )
- WB module ( 2p/10p/20p selector )
- Gamma 10p module
- CMS module ( HSL/RGB/XYZ selector )
- Custom text module ( small/medium/big selector )

Last edited by Plutotype; 02-07-2016 at 05:18 AM.
Plutotype is offline  
post #7060 of 7096 Old 02-07-2016, 08:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,222
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollisavrct View Post
Could you add customer info field.
Here's an updated version.
Attached Files
File Type: zip calibrationSettings.zip (10.8 KB, 55 views)

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #7061 of 7096 Old 02-08-2016, 07:33 AM
Member
 
hollisavrct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
Here's an updated version.
Thanks Tom
Looks good.

hollisavrct
hollisavrct is offline  
post #7062 of 7096 Old 02-21-2016, 09:40 AM
Member
 
svellinis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi Tom . I did a clean install of windows 10 64 bit and will be installed the chromapure version 2.5.8
You must install a different version of the net framework ? The operating system has built-in version 4.6 .1
With version 2.5.8 should replace the excel report for the color checker module ?
svellinis is offline  
post #7063 of 7096 Old 02-21-2016, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,222
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by svellinis View Post
Hi Tom . I did a clean install of windows 10 64 bit and will be installed the chromapure version 2.5.8
You must install a different version of the net framework ? The operating system has built-in version 4.6 .1
With version 2.5.8 should replace the excel report for the color checker module ?
No, 4.6.1 is fine. Yes, replace the Excel files with the ones available on the Support page.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #7064 of 7096 Old 03-03-2016, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,311
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Tom, something's wrong with the Gamut Sweep. 25%, 50% and 75% saturation measurements not popping up on the chart. Only the baseline measurements dots appear on 100% targets.
Pres2play is offline  
post #7065 of 7096 Old 03-03-2016, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,222
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pres2play View Post
Tom, something's wrong with the Gamut Sweep. 25%, 50% and 75% saturation measurements not popping up on the chart. Only the baseline measurements dots appear on 100% targets.
Works fine here. What are you using as a test pattern source?

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #7066 of 7096 Old 03-03-2016, 07:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,311
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 252
I'm using the Chromapure Bluray test disc.


I'll post an image shortly.
Pres2play is offline  
post #7067 of 7096 Old 03-03-2016, 07:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,222
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pres2play View Post
I'm using the Chromapure Bluray test disc.


I'll post an image shortly.
After you take the baseline measurements are you then selecting Primary Color Saturations (take measurements) and then Secondary Color Saturations (take measurements)?

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #7068 of 7096 Old 03-04-2016, 01:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,311
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Hey, Tom. Here's what I mean. I measured Red saturation at 25% and 50% but there's no circle in the target box.


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Gamut sweep.PNG
Views:	595
Size:	169.9 KB
ID:	1293033  

Last edited by Pres2play; 03-04-2016 at 02:16 AM.
Pres2play is offline  
post #7069 of 7096 Old 03-04-2016, 02:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,311
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Looking at the 25% and 50% values again, they appear to be closer to the 100% target box. Both show high error.


I'm using a LUT box (eeColor) by the way. I get the same reading with and without the correction LUT enabled, however.
Pres2play is offline  
post #7070 of 7096 Old 03-04-2016, 03:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,222
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pres2play View Post
Hey, Tom. Here's what I mean. I measured Red saturation at 25% and 50% but there's no circle in the target box.


It looks to me that you may be displaying the the Amplitude test patterns instead of Saturation. Select Full Field, Window, or APL Sat/75%A test patterns and make sure that you select 75% Intensity on the main Adv Color Management page.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #7071 of 7096 Old 03-04-2016, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,311
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Thanks Tom, that was it.
Pres2play is offline  
post #7072 of 7096 Old 03-15-2016, 01:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
dunan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I use chromapure for my TV, can I use it for my pc monitor also?
dunan is offline  
post #7073 of 7096 Old 03-16-2016, 12:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,222
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunan View Post
I use chromapure for my TV, can I use it for my pc monitor also?
Sure. Just use the built-in test patterns on your PC and use your video card's color adjustments. Most include at least white balance.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #7074 of 7096 Old 03-20-2016, 09:38 AM
Member
 
Oilmanmojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Indianapolis, In
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Noobie question

Tom: Just got my license and program yesterday to start playing around. I have the calibration disk ordered, but in the interim will use my HD essentials disk to do a prelimary look at greyscale. But for front projector, the manual says to use a full full field patterns. I am assuming then, i should not use the grayscale patterns that have the smaller field in the middle and the Pluges to either side.

If that is the case, why? since i position the colorimeter 1-2 feet off the screen, was just curious why a full field was needed. As i said, noob question

thank
tomg
Oilmanmojo is offline  
post #7075 of 7096 Old 03-20-2016, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,222
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oilmanmojo View Post
Tom: Just got my license and program yesterday to start playing around. I have the calibration disk ordered, but in the interim will use my HD essentials disk to do a prelimary look at greyscale. But for front projector, the manual says to use a full full field patterns. I am assuming then, i should not use the grayscale patterns that have the smaller field in the middle and the Pluges to either side.

If that is the case, why? since i position the colorimeter 1-2 feet off the screen, was just curious why a full field was needed. As i said, noob question

thank
tomg
Full fields are not required. They just make aiming the meter easier.
Bill Cruce likes this.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #7076 of 7096 Old 04-04-2016, 07:34 AM
Senior Member
 
SoulOfUniverse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: London
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Hi Thomas,

Yesterday spotted this issue or strange behavior. I've connected i1Display3 for taking readings and doing Sequential contrast I've managed to get 0.002 only in CRT Mode 1.0 seconds integration time for my 0 IRE pattern, if I select 0.5 integration time values are always 0.005, I know it should be much lower of JVC projector and close to 0.0001 also different integration time settings directly impact on the value of sequential contrast, can you please clarify that?

Thank you.
SoulOfUniverse is offline  
post #7077 of 7096 Old 04-04-2016, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,222
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoulOfUniverse View Post
Yesterday spotted this issue or strange behavior. I've connected i1Display3 for taking readings and doing Sequential contrast I've managed to get 0.002 only in CRT Mode 1.0 seconds integration time for my 0 IRE pattern, if I select 0.5 integration time values are always 0.005, I know it should be much lower of JVC projector and close to 0.0001 also different integration time settings directly impact on the value of sequential contrast, can you please clarify that?
You are bumping up against the low-light capabilities of this meter. Longer integration times will give more accurate readings. To get accurate sequential contrast readings, place the diffuser in the light path and point the meter towards the lens. Get it close enough to the lens that black is at least 0.1.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #7078 of 7096 Old 04-05-2016, 12:47 AM
Senior Member
 
SoulOfUniverse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: London
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
You are bumping up against the low-light capabilities of this meter. Longer integration times will give more accurate readings. To get accurate sequential contrast readings, place the diffuser in the light path and point the meter towards the lens. Get it close enough to the lens that black is at least 0.1.
I meant when I was measuring with integration time equal to 1 second I was getting 0 IRE 0.002 value in fL, then I've changed integration time to 1.6 I was getting the same 0 IRE 0.002 fL however native contrast value increased, where 100 IRE remain untouched.

I've tested today with diffusor on and I'm getting 0 IRE 0.004 fL and 100 IRE 21.200 fL native contrast is still very low, am I doing something wrong?
SoulOfUniverse is offline  
post #7079 of 7096 Old 04-05-2016, 01:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,222
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoulOfUniverse View Post
I meant when I was measuring with integration time equal to 1 second I was getting 0 IRE 0.002 value in fL, then I've changed integration time to 1.6 I was getting the same 0 IRE 0.002 fL however native contrast value increased, where 100 IRE remain untouched.

I've tested today with diffusor on and I'm getting 0 IRE 0.004 fL and 100 IRE 21.200 fL native contrast is still very low, am I doing something wrong?
You don't have the meter nearly close enough to the lens. As I recommended in my previous post, get it close enough so that that black measures at least 0.1.

Without exact numbers I can't comment on the contrast figures. "native contrast value increased" by exactly how much? No contrast value will be accurate so long as the black level measures that low.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #7080 of 7096 Old 04-11-2016, 08:18 AM
Member
 
Oilmanmojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Indianapolis, In
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 16
tom
Another couple noob questions: I am still working on precalibration data (yeah i move slow). But i wanted to make sure i have this done correctly before attempting a calibration
1. I was working on the greyscale calibration. after 100% white, the calibration calls for 5% and then at the end 95%. Am i missing something, or does the chromapure calibration disk not have these entries? I have a DVE disk that does, but was wondering why the chromapure does not.

2. There is a section for color calibration at 50% saturation. Again, i see the 100% and 75% but is there not a 50% saturation. How do i perform this on the chromapure disk

Thanks in advance for your reply. I will soon post my results. The red is looking funny on the first graph as it is low then jumps high at 50% white then stays high. Green and blue look very close. My color gamut is slightly off but i wanted to get an opinion on my precalibration before i attempt a move on any control

tomg
Oilmanmojo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

taboola here
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off