The Official ChromaPure thread - Page 238 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 243Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7111 of 7135 Old 05-09-2016, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,263
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by effadj View Post
Question about CP 3.0.8. Would I expect the resultant picture to look very close to the same when calibrating using dE for Gamut & Gamma of CIE2000 vs CIE94? I've been used CIE2000 recently with CIELuv for Grayscale.
Yes, they are very similar, which is why I personally prefer CIE94, since it is so much simpler.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7112 of 7135 Old 05-13-2016, 03:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 6,785
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 1797
Question about the D3 Pro II non contact. Finally going to get to try mine out tonight on the OLED with the Accupel, and was wondering (say 6-8" off screen) how much the meter being level matters. I will have it setup with my boom mic stand and aimed at the screen, just wondering if it is an eye ball thing or a torpedo level thing? This may be an OCD thing for me, when I owned one several years ago I always used in contact with the screen.

Thanks.

LG 65EF9500 / Sony UHP-H1
AV7702mkII / Model 5000
Klipsch RF-7II's / RC-64II
Dual Rythmik FV15HP's
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #7113 of 7135 Old 05-14-2016, 01:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,263
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Question about the D3 Pro II non contact. Finally going to get to try mine out tonight on the OLED with the Accupel, and was wondering (say 6-8" off screen) how much the meter being level matters. I will have it setup with my boom mic stand and aimed at the screen, just wondering if it is an eye ball thing or a torpedo level thing? This may be an OCD thing for me, when I owned one several years ago I always used in contact with the screen.
Yes, I believe that you are overthinking this a little. Perpendicular to the screen is ideal, but it doesn't have to be perfect.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #7114 of 7135 Old 05-14-2016, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 6,785
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 1797
Thanks Tom, figured I was.

LG 65EF9500 / Sony UHP-H1
AV7702mkII / Model 5000
Klipsch RF-7II's / RC-64II
Dual Rythmik FV15HP's
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #7115 of 7135 Old 05-24-2016, 05:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 6,785
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 1797
I finally got a 2D cal where I liked it and the 9500 looks great after watching several days of familiar content. Since I can't find any warts I am moving on to 3D this week.

When you open up CP and get ready to pick your meter and profile is there a way to trigger 3D output from the software (controlling the Accupel 5000)? I have not noticed a selection, but maybe I missed it. Or do you just use the display to force 3D and then use the Accupel as normal?

Thanks.

LG 65EF9500 / Sony UHP-H1
AV7702mkII / Model 5000
Klipsch RF-7II's / RC-64II
Dual Rythmik FV15HP's
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #7116 of 7135 Old 05-24-2016, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 6,785
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 1797
Nevermind, I found it today when I got home and looked around more. I noticed "3D Frame Packing" under Resolution. Not sure how I missed that.

LG 65EF9500 / Sony UHP-H1
AV7702mkII / Model 5000
Klipsch RF-7II's / RC-64II
Dual Rythmik FV15HP's
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #7117 of 7135 Old 06-11-2016, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
robobob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Replacement for Lumagen Radiance XS-3D?

Does anyone know which model Lumagen would be the logical successor to a Radiance XS-3D VP?

Lumagen Radiance Pro - 4242: 4 inputs, 2 processed outputs, 1U case looks to be the closest match re: I/O, since I only use 4 inputs of the XS-3D.

The money question is: Does Chromapure's auto-calibration software (calibrating JVC projectors) run OK on this newer VP platform?

TIA

=>><<=robobob

Last edited by robobob; 06-11-2016 at 11:35 AM. Reason: layout?
robobob is offline  
post #7118 of 7135 Old 06-11-2016, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,263
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by robobob View Post
Does anyone know which model Lumagen would be the logical successor to a Radiance XS-3D VP?

Lumagen Radiance Pro - 4242: 4 inputs, 2 processed outputs, 1U case looks to be the closest match re: I/O, since I only use 4 inputs of the XS-3D.

The money question is: Does Chromapure's auto-calibration software (calibrating JVC projectors) run OK on this newer VP platform?

TIA
Auto-cal works fine on the Lumagen PRO models. However, the Lumagen PROs are not yet ready as a UHD/HDR calibration device. They work fine with standard 4K content, but HDR and Rec. 2020 support has yet to be implemented. When it is implemented we will have to make some changes to auto-cal to accommodate this.

BTW, the Lumagen PRO models are designed for UHD use. If all you are interested in is Blu-ray and HD broadcast, the regular Lumagen Radiance line is MUCH less expensive.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #7119 of 7135 Old 06-11-2016, 11:50 AM
Senior Member
 
robobob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
Auto-cal works fine on the Lumagen PRO models. However, the Lumagen PROs are not yet ready as a UHD/HDR calibration device. They work fine with standard 4K content, but HDR and Rec. 2020 support has yet to be implemented. When it is implemented we will have to make some changes to auto-cal to accommodate this.

BTW, the Lumagen PRO models are designed for UHD use. If all you are interested in is Blu-ray and HD broadcast, the regular Lumagen Radiance line is MUCH less expensive.
Thanks Tom for the quick reply; was just about to edit this post after hitting your site.

Doh!, I posted here before going to your site.

Looks like the 2143 package you offer is the ticket; ready for 4K processed output anyway.

Keep up the good work!

=>><<=robobob
robobob is offline  
post #7120 of 7135 Old 06-24-2016, 08:15 AM
Member
 
hollisavrct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 10
4K Calibration

I just bought a Vizio P55-C1 and had a question about calibrating it. I have a Accupel DVG-5000 so I can do the REC 709 calibration. I would also like to do a 4K calibration but I do not own a 4K generator. I was wondering if I could use the DVDO iscan mini and upscale the DVG-5000 to a 4K resolution and use the patterns built into the iscan mini to set the basic settings and then do the grayscale and the cms using the up scaled patterns from my DVG-5000. Also would I use REC 2020 for the gamut? Do I need to break in display for 100 HRS before calibrating?

I also own the I1D3 and a I1Pro2. Can I profile the I1D3 using the I1Pro2 on this display and should I was the standard display mode?

Thanks
hollisavrct
hollisavrct is offline  
post #7121 of 7135 Old 06-24-2016, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,263
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollisavrct View Post
I just bought a Vizio P55-C1 and had a question about calibrating it. I have a Accupel DVG-5000 so I can do the REC 709 calibration. I would also like to do a 4K calibration but I do not own a 4K generator. I was wondering if I could use the DVDO iscan mini and upscale the DVG-5000 to a 4K resolution and use the patterns built into the iscan mini to set the basic settings and then do the grayscale and the cms using the up scaled patterns from my DVG-5000. Also would I use REC 2020 for the gamut? Do I need to break in display for 100 HRS before calibrating?

I also own the I1D3 and a I1Pro2. Can I profile the I1D3 using the I1Pro2 on this display and should I was the standard display mode?
For a 4K display, there are really only 2 or 3 test patterns that really require 4K resolution--crosshatch, multiburst, and sharpness. For the remainder, upscaling 2K test patterns is fine.

Doing a calibration for UHD/HDR content is a different story altogether. You need HDR test patterns with the correct metadata. You must have a display that does not lock you out of calibration adjustments when it is in HDR mode. Some do and some don't. Finally, you need software that allows you to measure the HDR EOTF and the color performance with a Rec. 2020 reference, preferably at a less-than-100% saturation. CP 3.1 will have everything you need on the software side.

I will have a relevant announcement about an AccuPel product fairly soon that will speak to the remaining issues.

Profiling with the i1Pro 2 in Standard mode is a good idea.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #7122 of 7135 Old 06-25-2016, 02:58 AM
Member
 
hollisavrct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
For a 4K display, there are really only 2 or 3 test patterns that really require 4K resolution--crosshatch, multiburst, and sharpness. For the remainder, upscaling 2K test patterns is fine.

Doing a calibration for UHD/HDR content is a different story altogether. You need HDR test patterns with the correct metadata. You must have a display that does not lock you out of calibration adjustments when it is in HDR mode. Some do and some don't. Finally, you need software that allows you to measure the HDR EOTF and the color performance with a Rec. 2020 reference, preferably at a less-than-100% saturation. CP 3.1 will have everything you need on the software side.

I will have a relevant announcement about an AccuPel product fairly soon that will speak to the remaining issues.

Profiling with the i1Pro 2 in Standard mode is a good idea.
Thanks Tom can't wait.
Will it be ok to calibrate Rec.709 while I am waiting and what about break in time?

Thanks
Hollisavrct
hollisavrct is offline  
post #7123 of 7135 Old 06-25-2016, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,263
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollisavrct View Post
Thanks Tom can't wait.
Will it be ok to calibrate Rec.709 while I am waiting and what about break in time?
Sure.

Since you can re-calibrate any time you want, I don't see a need for a break-in period.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #7124 of 7135 Old 06-26-2016, 10:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
hungro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 104
When I go to take my pre color gamut reading what patterns do I use? 100%A/100 %S or 75%A/100%S? I get a little confused about this. Calibrating my ST60. I know that for the ST60 when it comes to color, you calibrated at 75%A/75%S. This makes the lower saturation points line up better to their targets with having 100% saturation point over saturated.
hungro is offline  
post #7125 of 7135 Old 06-26-2016, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,263
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by hungro View Post
When I go to take my pre color gamut reading what patterns do I use? 100%A/100 %S or 75%A/100%S? I get a little confused about this. Calibrating my ST60. I know that for the ST60 when it comes to color, you calibrated at 75%A/75%S. This makes the lower saturation points line up better to their targets with having 100% saturation point over saturated.
The ST60 is all about using the correct presets and getting a good white balance. Once you do that very little color calibration should be necessary. 75% saturation is for displays that do not track well throughout the color space. This display does, so it isn't necessary.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #7126 of 7135 Old 06-28-2016, 08:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
hungro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
The ST60 is all about using the correct presets and getting a good white balance. Once you do that very little color calibration should be necessary. 75% saturation is for displays that do not track well throughout the color space. This display does, so it isn't necessary.
What are those "correct presets"?
What pattern do I use to calibrate my CMS to? 75%A/100%S saturation or 100%A/100%S?

Last edited by hungro; 06-28-2016 at 08:55 AM.
hungro is offline  
post #7127 of 7135 Old 06-28-2016, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,263
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by hungro View Post
What are those "correct presets"?
What pattern do I use to calibrate my CMS to? 75%A/100%S saturation or 100%A/100%S?
Before you even start thinking about calibrating with the CMS, first determine if it is needed. Put it into
Custom Picture mode
Adjust brightness and contrast
Do a full grayscale calibration
Panel brightness: Mid
AGC and Black Extension: zero
Normal Color Space
Gamma: 2.4

Now measure color using the Saturations sweep and ColorChecker.

Does it require further adjustment?

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #7128 of 7135 Old 07-01-2016, 01:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,349
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I just bought a Sony KDL-W50828B tv and I want to calibrate it with CP2. I have the i1 DIsplay 3 Pro meter from CP with CP2 (latest V2). I calibrated a lot of projectors with CP2 but no tvs untill now.

The Sony 828B has a VA LCD panel. I have 2 main questions:

1. which calibration mode/profile do I select in CP2?
2. Where do I exactly put the meter? (for projectors 10-30cm from the screen is fine but how does this work with tvs? 10cm?)
3. other tips.......
sanderdvd is offline  
post #7129 of 7135 Old 07-01-2016, 01:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,263
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
I just bought a Sony KDL-W50828B tv and I want to calibrate it with CP2. I have the i1 DIsplay 3 Pro meter from CP with CP2 (latest V2). I calibrated a lot of projectors with CP2 but no tvs untill now.

The Sony 828B has a VA LCD panel. I have 2 main questions:

1. which calibration mode/profile do I select in CP2?
2. Where do I exactly put the meter? (for projectors 10-30cm from the screen is fine but how does this work with tvs? 10cm?)
3. other tips.......
Sony LED. Almost anywhere from between a meter to full contact.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #7130 of 7135 Old 07-01-2016, 01:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,349
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
Sony LED. Almost anywhere from between a meter to full contact.
Thanks Tom.

So just put it eg. 1 cm in front of the screen? with the cap from the i1 display pro meter closed or opened?
sanderdvd is offline  
post #7131 of 7135 Old 07-01-2016, 01:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,263
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
Thanks Tom.

So just put it eg. 1 cm in front of the screen? with the cap from the i1 display pro meter closed or opened?
The diffuser should ONLY be used when pointing the meter directly at a projector lens.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #7132 of 7135 Old 07-01-2016, 02:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,349
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
The diffuser should ONLY be used when pointing the meter directly at a projector lens.
Ok, and 1 cm from the screen is ok?
sanderdvd is offline  
post #7133 of 7135 Old 07-01-2016, 02:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,263
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
Ok, and 1 cm from the screen is ok?
"Almost anywhere from between a meter to full contact."

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #7134 of 7135 Old 07-05-2016, 05:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
hungro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
Now measure color using the Saturations sweep and ColorChecker.

Does it require further adjustment?
What pattern do I use to do a Saturations sweep? 75%A/100%S or 100%A/100%S?
hungro is offline  
post #7135 of 7135 Old 07-05-2016, 09:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,263
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by hungro View Post
What pattern do I use to do a Saturations sweep? 75%A/100%S or 100%A/100%S?
A saturation sweep is just that: a sweep. There is no one level of saturation. Use 75% amplitude.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off