The Official ChromaPure thread - Page 243 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 255Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7261 of 7271 Old 02-14-2017, 04:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
I haven't experimented with the display personally, but if the Adaptive Backlight Control is a dynamic system that changes light output as content changes (like a dynamic iris on a projector), then I would turn it off. The backlight level should be set as low as possible while still getting adequate light output from the panel.
Thanks Tom

I'll experiment with the settings. One thing I am learning already is that the rewards for calibrating are for patience and experimentation as much as the mere objective use and interpretation of the calibration equipment.

TV: Panasonic TX58-DX902B
BluRay: Panasonic: MP-UB900EBK
SoundBar: Panasonic: SC-HTB885EBK
Calibration: ChromaPure 3.2.1, X-Rite Display 3 PRO II Colorimeter
Aletheia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7262 of 7271 Old 02-14-2017, 05:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Terminology

Tom

Would you make sure my understanding of basic terminology is correct please. Reading your explanatory articles I understand most things but the words Stimulus and Amp. are used and I am not 100% sure of what they mean.

What is Amp.? Eg Full Field Amp/75%S

S = Saturation but does Amp = Amplitude = Stimulus = Brightness = Luminance?

Are the following correct:

Intensity = Luminance?
Stimulus = Luminance?
Stimulus = Brightness = Luminance?

Thank you.

TV: Panasonic TX58-DX902B
BluRay: Panasonic: MP-UB900EBK
SoundBar: Panasonic: SC-HTB885EBK
Calibration: ChromaPure 3.2.1, X-Rite Display 3 PRO II Colorimeter
Aletheia is offline  
post #7263 of 7271 Old 02-14-2017, 05:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Tom, as you can see I cannot select any OLED option. Which setting in CP V2 comes closest for ideal OLED calibration?

sanderdvd is offline  
 
post #7264 of 7271 Old 02-14-2017, 05:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,433
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 693 Post(s)
Liked: 616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aletheia View Post
Would you make sure my understanding of basic terminology is correct please. Reading your explanatory articles I understand most things but the words Stimulus and Amp. are used and I am not 100% sure of what they mean.

What is Amp.? Eg Full Field Amp/75%S

S = Saturation but does Amp = Amplitude = Stimulus = Brightness = Luminance?

Are the following correct:

Intensity = Luminance?
Stimulus = Luminance?
Stimulus = Brightness = Luminance?
Yes, these terms are used more or less interchangeably. % Video is also used. They all refer to the strength of the signal. A stronger signal yields a brighter image.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #7265 of 7271 Old 02-14-2017, 05:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,433
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 693 Post(s)
Liked: 616
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
Tom, as you can see I cannot select any OLED option. Which setting in CP V2 comes closest for ideal OLED calibration?

Probably plasma.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #7266 of 7271 Old 02-14-2017, 05:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
Yes, these terms are used more or less interchangeably. % Video is also used. They all refer to the strength of the signal. A stronger signal yields a brighter image.
Thanks for your quick response Tom.

I can see a great deal of time, effort, competence and dedication has gone in to what's you write and produce and I am enjoying reading it and learning a lot from it.

TV: Panasonic TX58-DX902B
BluRay: Panasonic: MP-UB900EBK
SoundBar: Panasonic: SC-HTB885EBK
Calibration: ChromaPure 3.2.1, X-Rite Display 3 PRO II Colorimeter
Aletheia is offline  
post #7267 of 7271 Old 02-16-2017, 09:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Considering a ChromaPure purchase, but have some questions

Hi everyone,

I'm really new to the word of calibrating, but I have some questions that drive me crazy.
(And please excuse my english, I'm from France)

I just bought a Samsung UE55KS9000 that I'm really happy with (maybe too much clouding, I'll see with time), but I'd like to calibrate it to get a great TV experience.

Important for the whole thing, I'm not a pro or power user, quite a real noob about color, gamut stuff, etc.

I have a Spyder 4 HDTV I got years ago, but from what I read, it's quite crap, so after hours of reading on forums (here mainly), I won't use it and I bought a "X-rite EODIS3 i1 Display Pro" on amazon and I'm receiving it later today.

amazon.fr/gp/product/B0055MBQOW/ << what I took (put the 3w before)


Now I think I have 2 choices :

Go with HCFR (free but time consuming and seek method for yourself)
or ChromaPure (paid but quite straightforward and help is included from what I read)

(I saw other solutions like Calman Control, but really out of my budget)
Beacause yes, after the TV and the meter, I'm short...


So my questions are :

1) Will my EODIS3 i1 will work with Chromapure, or it has to be modded by TomHuffman? (I read this on a review here (homecinema-fr.com/forum/les-logiciels-de-calibration/la-calibration-chromapure-pas-a-pas-t30015916.html) (put the 3w before)

2) For what expect to do with, is the lite version enough? (I have actually no idea how valuable for me are "Gamma, Advanced Color Management, ColorChecker, Reports, Auto-Calibrate, Lumens Calculator, Conversion Utility, PRO meters, Signal Generator support, and Options."
- Gamma, Advanced Color Management, ColorChecker, mostly, the rest is aiming quite advanced users I think.

3) For the paterns, chromapure's seem to be included with a "hardware purchase", can I use AVS HD 709 just fine ?

3) My TV seems to be capable of HDR-10, should I get "R.Masciola's HDR-10 UHD Test Patterns" to calibrate my HDR mode, or AVS HD 709 is fine, since my meter is not HDR capable like the SpectraCal C6-HDR?

I'm really sorry if some of these questions look stupid, I'm really getting started with all of this, and just want to get my picture (and maybe a friend's) fine for the best price

In advance a huge thank to you,
ZeroDegre is online now  
post #7268 of 7271 Old 02-16-2017, 01:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,433
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 693 Post(s)
Liked: 616
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroDegre View Post
1) Will my EODIS3 i1 will work with Chromapure, or it has to be modded by TomHuffman? (I read this on a review here (homecinema-fr.com/forum/les-logiciels-de-calibration/la-calibration-chromapure-pas-a-pas-t30015916.html) (put the 3w before)

2) For what expect to do with, is the lite version enough? (I have actually no idea how valuable for me are "Gamma, Advanced Color Management, ColorChecker, Reports, Auto-Calibrate, Lumens Calculator, Conversion Utility, PRO meters, Signal Generator support, and Options."
- Gamma, Advanced Color Management, ColorChecker, mostly, the rest is aiming quite advanced users I think.

3) For the paterns, chromapure's seem to be included with a "hardware purchase", can I use AVS HD 709 just fine ?

4) My TV seems to be capable of HDR-10, should I get "R.Masciola's HDR-10 UHD Test Patterns" to calibrate my HDR mode, or AVS HD 709 is fine, since my meter is not HDR capable like the SpectraCal C6-HDR?
1. Yes, it will work, but for the modifications you have to send the meter to us.
2. No, I don't think so. I would recommend ChromaPure Standard.
3. Yes.
4. Yes. To do HDR calibration you would need this.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #7269 of 7271 Old 02-16-2017, 03:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
1. Yes, it will work, but for the modifications you have to send the meter to us.
2. No, I don't think so. I would recommend ChromaPure Standard.
3. Yes.
4. Yes. To do HDR calibration you would need this.
Hi TomHuffman, thanks a lot for your answer.

Points 2,3 & 4, Ok and big thanks.

Point 1: So "as it", out of the box, I cannot use it if I decide to get à Chromapure licence?

Or the "hardware mod" unlocks possibilities for better calibration?

Sorry to double ask but licence + 2 way shipping + (potential import taxes) + mod cost = a no go for my wallet
ZeroDegre is online now  
post #7270 of 7271 Old 02-16-2017, 05:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,433
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 693 Post(s)
Liked: 616
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroDegre View Post
Hi TomHuffman, thanks a lot for your answer.

Points 2,3 & 4, Ok and big thanks.

Point 1: So "as it", out of the box, I cannot use it if I decide to get à Chromapure licence?

Or the "hardware mod" unlocks possibilities for better calibration?

Sorry to double ask but licence + 2 way shipping + (potential import taxes) + mod cost = a no go for my wallet
Not at all. You can use it as is. You would just get improved accuracy by having it corrected. Even without corrections, the i1d3 is an excellent meter.
ZeroDegre likes this.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #7271 of 7271 Old Today, 03:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
Not at all. You can use it as is. You would just get improved accuracy by having it corrected. Even without corrections, the i1d3 is an excellent meter.
Thanks for everything! Waiting my licence from chromapure.co.uk (no answer since friday, maybe on holiday), but can't wait to start using it
ZeroDegre is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off