Spears & Munsil Calibration Advice - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 162 Old 01-23-2011, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sspears View Post

If you are using the new Edge FW that claims to fix the color space, I would set contrast back to 0 in the Edge.

We continue to learn as well. The clipping pattern on our disc was designed for one specific test and has since exposed other issues we were unaware of the time.

Is there a summary of these issues somewhere? This test alone causes me to reduce contrast significantly on my Samsung LCD.
kjgarrison is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 162 Old 01-23-2011, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sspears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Sammamish, WA, USA
Posts: 5,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Is there a summary of these issues somewhere?

Are you asking for a summary of what the pattern can be used for? If so:

-White Clipped, RGB Not clipped: Clipping occurs in YCbCr space before conversion to RGB. Not great, but still protects majority of image.

-White Clipped, RGB Clipped. Clipping occurs in RGB. Could mean contrast is set too high. Might be using PC levels instead of video levels. Highlights will be lost in the image. Light sources, shiny objects, etc...

-White Not Clipped, RB not clipped, Green Clipped. This means 601 color conversion is being used instead of 709.

Quote:
This test alone causes me to reduce contrast significantly

That is pretty common. Displays default settings are usually to try and produce the brighest image possible, not the best.

I lowered contrast on my Panasonic VT20 down to 42. I think the default was in the 70s for THX mode.
sspears is offline  
post #93 of 162 Old 01-23-2011, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sspears View Post

Are you asking for a summary of what the pattern can be used for? If so:

-White Clipped, RGB Not clipped: Clipping occurs in YCbCr space before conversion to RGB. Not great, but still protects majority of image.

-White Clipped, RGB Clipped. Clipping occurs in RGB. Could mean contrast is set too high. Might be using PC levels instead of video levels. Highlights will be lost in the image. Light sources, shiny objects, etc...

-White Not Clipped, RB not clipped, Green Clipped. This means 601 color conversion is being used instead of 709.



That is pretty common. Displays default settings are usually to try and produce the brighest image possible, not the best.

I lowered contrast on my Panasonic VT20 down to 42. I think the default was in the 70s for THX mode.

Well, while I certainly appreciate the primer (thank you), I was asking about the "issues" (your word) which I took to mean some sort of unexpected glitches or unintended consequences under certain circumstances.

I assume these can be pieced together by going back through the thread; I'm just getting lazy I guess.
kjgarrison is offline  
post #94 of 162 Old 01-23-2011, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sspears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Sammamish, WA, USA
Posts: 5,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:


I was asking about the "issues" (your word) which I took to mean some sort of unexpected glitches

The original purpose of the pattern was strictly for:
-White Clipped, RGB Not clipped: Clipping occurs in YCbCr space before conversion to RGB. Not great, but still protects majority of image.

When I said other issues, I meant issues exposed by using the pattern. Maybe other uses might have been better. The following are the other uses, outside of original intent, of the pattern:
-White Clipped, RGB Clipped. Clipping occurs in RGB. Could mean contrast is set too high. Might be using PC levels instead of video levels. Highlights will be lost in the image. Light sources, shiny objects, etc...
-White Not Clipped, RB not clipped, Green Clipped. This means 601 color conversion is being used instead of 709.
sspears is offline  
post #95 of 162 Old 01-23-2011, 10:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks.

My combo is:
White not clipped and only Red is clipped in RGB. Turning down contrast corrects the clipping issue.
kjgarrison is offline  
post #96 of 162 Old 02-01-2011, 04:11 PM
Newbie
 
funkystuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just ordered this from crutchfield, will check out the replies some more, but will be back when it gets here...hope i'm not too slow to figure it out, never calibrated anything before..
funkystuff is offline  
post #97 of 162 Old 02-01-2011, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sspears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Sammamish, WA, USA
Posts: 5,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 53
We are here to answer any questions you may have. There are two threads here to look at. This one and one under the Blu-ray software section. You can also send us email.
sspears is offline  
post #98 of 162 Old 02-07-2011, 06:59 PM
Newbie
 
Deelow537's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have a samsung 46b8500.... i understand it's best if i set my sharpness to 0... is that correct??? Help would be appreciated... thanx
Deelow537 is offline  
post #99 of 162 Old 02-07-2011, 07:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,632
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deelow537 View Post

i have a samsung 46b8500.... i understand it's best if i set my sharpness to 0... is that correct??? Help would be appreciated... thanx

sharpness belongs where it doesn't effect the image, essentially the off position.

But the location of off is not necessarily 0 (it may be, I don't know).

To find out put up a sharpness pattern and adjust it till the image doesn't ring (artificial "halos" around the lines) and doesn't blur.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #100 of 162 Old 02-07-2011, 07:46 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,486
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deelow537 View Post

i have a samsung 46b8500.... i understand it's best if i set my sharpness to 0... is that correct??? Help would be appreciated... thanx

That's the correct setting on mine: UN46B8500.

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #101 of 162 Old 02-07-2011, 08:19 PM
Newbie
 
Deelow537's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanx guys.... I keep it on 0...
Deelow537 is offline  
post #102 of 162 Old 02-08-2011, 12:32 AM
Member
 
petersw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I've been playing with your disk for a while, but I'm afraid that I could use some help. My HTPC setup:

DVD Player - LG GGC-H20L
Video Card - nVidia 8400
TV - JVC 46FN97
DVD Software - TotalMedia Theater 3

Problems:
1) Regardless of the TV's brightness setting, the Pluge Low screen stays black. No bars on left or right. Pluge High shows the white border, but the inside box stays black.

2) On the Contrast screen, with "Picture" (eg. Contrast) at the lowest setting, I can only see the first two or three numbered white bars on the left side, and none of the black bars. Changing the brightness settings has no effect on this.

I've tried changing the nVidia settings from RGB to YCC, but this had no effect.

Any ideas??
petersw is offline  
post #103 of 162 Old 02-08-2011, 05:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sspears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Sammamish, WA, USA
Posts: 5,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 53
The levels are being clipped by either by your graphics driver or by TotalMedia3.

NVIDIA was pretty good about not clipping, so it is possible that TM3 is asking for PC levels.

I can send mail to ArcSoft and see if they can anwer. I know someone there.
sspears is offline  
post #104 of 162 Old 02-08-2011, 08:28 AM
Member
 
petersw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sspears View Post


I can send mail to ArcSoft and see if they can anwer. I know someone there.

That would be great! The other equipment that I forgot to mention is the AV receiver between the HTPC and the TV. It's an Onkyo TX-SR606, and the signal is passed via HDMI from: HTPC --> Onkyo --> JVC.

Thanks for the help!
petersw is offline  
post #105 of 162 Old 02-08-2011, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sspears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Sammamish, WA, USA
Posts: 5,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 53
You should try bypassing the Onkyo to find out if it is causing any of the problems. Also, the JVC needs to go into expanded mode. By default it clips as well. I think it is in the HDMI menu.
sspears is offline  
post #106 of 162 Old 02-14-2011, 12:17 PM
Member
 
twscarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Elyria, Ohio
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, used the new S&M Blue Ray disc yesterday on a 42S2 Panasonic, that had D-Nice's SM offsets and UM applied. I took the TV and Blue Ray player in the laundry room (no windows), shut the door and proceeded to go through each screen. Is this the correct way to do it, or should the disc be used in a lighted room? By the way, the D-Nice settings were virtually right on, thanks,...Tom
twscarp is offline  
post #107 of 162 Old 02-14-2011, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sspears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Sammamish, WA, USA
Posts: 5,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:


Is this the correct way to do it, or should the disc be used in a lighted room?

Most controls can be calibrated in the dark. The brightness control should be calibrated under the viewing conditions. If you view in a dark room, calibrate it that way. You may need multiple brightness settings for different viewing enviroments. e.g. day vs. night.
sspears is offline  
post #108 of 162 Old 02-19-2011, 06:38 PM
Member
 
petersw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sspears View Post

You should try bypassing the Onkyo to find out if it is causing any of the problems. Also, the JVC needs to go into expanded mode. By default it clips as well. I think it is in the HDMI menu.

Ok, I tried hooking the PC directly to the JVC, but it didn't make any difference. Also, I'm not sure what you mean by "expanded mode". I don't see that option under any JVC menu setting.

Thanks!
petersw is offline  
post #109 of 162 Old 03-21-2011, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 507
Bought your disk and have used it to calibrate my 50" GT25. Contrast comes out very low compared to some of the other settings I have seen. Around a ""36" to get all the white bars except the last one at the bottom. I am using a Sony Bluray player to play the disk. Any idea why my contrast setting would be so low ?

Definitely a novice so I appreciate your patience in answering my questions.

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #110 of 162 Old 03-21-2011, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sspears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Sammamish, WA, USA
Posts: 5,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:


Any idea why my contrast setting would be so low ?

Because that is what the display is probably really capable of. Some people clip in order to get more contrast out of the display. The question is, is the display bright enough for you? Where did you end up setting brightness? These two controls interact with each other.

I have the VT20 and have contrast set to 42 and brightness set to 73. I am sending in 4:2:2 from the Panasonic BDT300.
sspears is offline  
post #111 of 162 Old 03-21-2011, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by sspears View Post

Because that is what the display is probably really capable of. Some people clip in order to get more contrast out of the display. The question is, is the display bright enough for you? Where did you end up setting brightness? These two controls interact with each other.

I have the VT20 and have contrast set to 42 and brightness set to 73. I am sending in 4:2:2 from the Panasonic BDT300.

Brightness at 59. Display seems too dark for me. I'll take another stab at it see if it comes out any different. I read some of the supplemental articles on your website so have a little greater insight now. The main thing I am trying to improve is shadow detail although I realize that may require a full calibration to make a difference. Appreciate the quick response, thank you Stacey

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #112 of 162 Old 03-21-2011, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sspears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Sammamish, WA, USA
Posts: 5,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 53
On the VT20, I used the THX picture mode as the starting point. Cinema/movie should be similar, if the GT25 does not have THX mode.
sspears is offline  
post #113 of 162 Old 03-21-2011, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by sspears View Post

On the VT20, I used the THX picture mode as the starting point. Cinema/movie should be similar, if the GT25 does not have THX mode.

Yes my set does have the THX mode and that is definitely the one I prefer.

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #114 of 162 Old 03-21-2011, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sspears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Sammamish, WA, USA
Posts: 5,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Shadow detail is a combination of gamma and brightness settings as well as artistic intent.
sspears is offline  
post #115 of 162 Old 03-21-2011, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by sspears View Post

Shadow detail is a combination of gamma and brightness settings as well as artistic intent.

So shadow detail in the THX mode may be negatively impacted by the gamma ? Maybe I'd be better off calibrating and using custom for my TV viewing. The gamma is adjustable in the custom mode.

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is offline  
post #116 of 162 Old 03-21-2011, 01:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sspears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Sammamish, WA, USA
Posts: 5,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 53
THX does not use the proper gamma, but it will actually result in more shadow detail being seen than should be.
sspears is offline  
post #117 of 162 Old 03-21-2011, 02:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nutdotnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sspears View Post

THX does not use the proper gamma, but it will actually result in more shadow detail being seen than should be.

THX mode on the GT25 (post calibration) averages 2.19. If you consider 2.2 "proper" than I would say THX does meet that. If you don't consider 2.2 proper than of course it doesn't lol. I am not saying one is and one isnt Just stating data.
Nutdotnet is offline  
post #118 of 162 Old 03-21-2011, 02:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nutdotnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post

So shadow detail in the THX mode may be negatively impacted by the gamma ? Maybe I'd be better off calibrating and using custom for my TV viewing. The gamma is adjustable in the custom mode.

Don't use Custom for critical viewing. Even with the Gamma being selectable in custom it is very very wonky. Also the gamut is fairly off from Rec. 709. What Custom is decent for is a "daytime mode". It can get very bright.

The GT25 (similar to the VT) does clip WTW at a pretty low light output level. Most of us in the GT20/25 thread generally set it in the 50 range. 55 gives me a ftL of 32, which is fine for dim/dark viewing.
Nutdotnet is offline  
post #119 of 162 Old 03-21-2011, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sspears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Sammamish, WA, USA
Posts: 5,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:


I am not saying one is and one isnt

Understood. For the record, we consider 2.35 or 2.4 to be the correct display gamma for viewing movies in a light controlled room. If you watch sports, news, or your room is not light controlled, then 2.2. is a good gamma.
sspears is offline  
post #120 of 162 Old 03-21-2011, 07:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nutdotnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sspears View Post
Understood. For the record, we consider 2.35 or 2.4 to be the correct display gamma for viewing movies in a light controlled room. If you watch sports, news, or your room is not light controlled, then 2.2. is a good gamma.
I concur lol.
Nutdotnet is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off