Epson 8700UB use extended or normal video range? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 30 Old 10-18-2010, 06:22 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I am a bit of a newbie at calibrating (done a couple of displays without a full CMS) and now I am trying to calibrate my epson 8700UB projector.

I am a bit perplexed on which mode I should be using for the video range.

In my setup, my blu ray player goes through my onkyo pre-pro to my projector. I am using the AVS HD disc and a i1 colorimeter.

On the AVS black level screen, if I use "normal" mode I get no flashing bars below black (as expected) however I get white levels all the way up to 255 (depending on my constrast level obviously). I guess I would be expecting information above 235 to be clipped off along with info below 16. If I set it to expanded, I get the below black (16) bars and the above white (235) bars.

So it looks like a simple answer, of course just use expanded but I am wondering if the below black information is really there or if the Epson is simply "streching" a 16-235 range to "fill" a 0-255 range in? When watching something (movies, football etc...) I prefer it set to "normal". If I set it to expanded everything looks washed out and undersaturated.

I am wondering if this is the cause of the issue outlined in great detail from another poster here about undersaturated colors. http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...7#post16166537
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 Old 10-18-2010, 08:59 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by engelba View Post

So I am a bit of a newbie at calibrating (done a couple of displays without a full CMS) and now I am trying to calibrate my epson 8700UB projector.

I am a bit perplexed on which mode I should be using for the video range.

In my setup, my blu ray player goes through my onkyo pre-pro to my projector. I am using the AVS HD disc and a i1 colorimeter.