Contrasting Settings - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 56 Old 02-02-2011, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This is yet another "Where to set contrast thread" (sorry).

I'm quite confused about the white level and that's sad because I've been studying calibration (as an enthusiast) for about 5 years now and this is the one thing that's haunted me this whole time. Any further clarification would be appreciated.

It seems that some say something like "maximize contrast ratio by jacking up your white level control so long as it doesn't cause clipping, geometry distortion (crt), color-shifting, or eye fatigue/strain"

and another that states something like "keep contrast (white level) LOW; very dim. Turn contrast all the way down and start slowly bringing it up to the point where white JUST becomes white, etc.".

My issue is that I have tried MANY MANY times, both ways (and many others) of setting contrast on my displays.

I find that the "pop" of cranking the white level (without the previously mentioned issues) is very exciting. I worry however that this might be something like an "SRS WOW effect" in WMP or something equally cheesy.

I also find that I can get my whites to appear to be white to me at a VERY low level for a direct view display (crt and lcds in my cases); namely hovering around 5ftL or less of light output (measured with an i1d2). This is dimmer than a lot of projectors and I happen to think it too looks absolutely fantastic (given the corresponding room environment).

Now my problem is that it upsets me that there's exact (or at least as I see them "exact") measurements and points for every other adjustment with displays (black levels, color gamut, greyscale, rec601 and 709, etc.). However with white level, all I ever seem to come across is a kind of "whateva floats ya boat, yo." and that bothers me.