X-Rite's Revolutionary New Colorimeter - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 338
An increase in technology. Period.

I expressed an interest in buying a Hubble awhile back to a guy in England who is as close to X-Rite as CP, SpectraCal, etc. He said to hold off because he had a meter under a non disclosure agreement and thought I might want to be patient. He answered an email today and verified that the NDA meter is the D3. He saved me a ton if the D3 performs. We'll know soon enough.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 462




Toshiba 55ZL1 Direct LED-TV Auto-Calibrate System With D3

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #63 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 2,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post





Toshiba 55ZL1 Direct LED-TV Auto-Calibrate System With D3

What if this is simply the same kind of "calibration" that the SpyderTV does, with adjustments done directly to the set via DDC? Then it's no bargain at all, IMHO.

EDIT: It appears that the calibration is more in-depth, with grayscale, gamut, and gamma parameters checked and adjusted. But it also appears that the unit is meant to work with certain high-end Toshiba sets that feature a particular 3D LUT containing reference standards that the TV checks the meter's readings against and then develops corrections so the set's output matches those standards. See here:

http://eu.press.toshiba.eu/en/downlo...pril_2011.pdf?

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #64 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 08:49 AM
Senior Member
 
sellmejunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK, England
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I`m a noob to chromapure, i`m sure the software is excellent; however i`d like to know if x-rite have improved their software for the i1 display 3.

If chromapure can access all the hidden features of colormunkie turning it into a i1 display 3 then it makes sense to get the colormunkie and chromapure as it alot more affordable.

My questions are:
does chromapure turn the colormunkie 5x faster?

Can chromapure with colormunkie enable White Point, & white luminanc to Custom or Measured?

Can chrompure enable colormunkie display 3 for tone respnse (1.8, 2.2, 3.0, sRGB)

I really want to buy one in the next few days so my choices are i1pro display 3 without chromapure or i could get colormunkie display 3 with chromapure standard.
sellmejunk is offline  
post #65 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post

What if this is simply the same kind of "calibration" that the SpyderTV does, with adjustments done directly to the set via DDC? Then it's no bargain at all, IMHO.

I think it just might possibly be the first consumer TV with internal 3D LUT hardware ---- check this out:

http://thegadgetsite.com/2011/04/tos...l-recognition/

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is offline  
post #66 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 338
looked at other info - incomplete, more than likely 2D with a limited number of color points.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is offline  
post #67 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 338
buzzard767 is offline  
post #68 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by sellmejunk View Post

Can chromapure with colormunkie enable White Point, & white luminanc to Custom or Measured?

Can chrompure enable colormunkie display 3 for tone respnse (1.8, 2.2, 3.0, sRGB)

I really want to buy one in the next few days so my choices are i1pro display 3 without chromapure or i could get colormunkie display 3 with chromapure standard.

These features differencies are only available using Xrite iProfiler Software included with the meters.

ChromaPure has not that software limits, its operating the meters using 100% of each meter features.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #69 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 09:13 AM
kal
AVS Special Member
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post

Chroma 5 costs about 500-600$ in retail but it was an OEM X-rite meter. If it was available as a retail then its price i think should be around 1000$.
Many companies used that Chroma 5 OEM meter with another name as Progressive Labs C-5, Sencore CP6000 ColorPro with increased price also.

How is possible now a so lower cost Retail Device (D3) of the same company, which is Retail Product, can outperform a More expensive OEM product and also have similar reading speed & low light reading as X-Rite Hubble (3400$), outperforms some times the color accurancy of Xrite i1PRO (900$),

With Only 269$?

IMHO, trickle down technology from high end units (like the Hubble) and marketing it as a consumer device where the manufacturing volumes will be hundreds of times higher is certainly helping keep the price low.

What suprises me to some degree is HOW low they've priced it. They could have doubled the MSRP and it would have still sold well in certain market segments like A/V and Home Theater. Not so much for the PC/Mac monitor and photography crowd probably though.

Kal
kal is offline  
post #70 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim HTPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trying to find official announcement from X-Rite. Can't seem to find formal announcement.
Jim HTPC is offline  
post #71 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim HTPC View Post

Trying to find official announcement from X-Rite. Can't seem to find formal announcement.

http://www.xritephoto.com/ph_product...w.aspx?id=1454

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is offline  
post #72 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 10:53 AM
Forum Notification System
 
AVS Notice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Please no sales links. Reminder Ebay is not allowed. Thanks for your cooperation and understanding!
AVS Notice is offline  
post #73 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim HTPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVS Notice View Post

Please no sales links. Reminder Ebay is not allowed. Thanks for your cooperation and understanding!

Wasn't eBay. Just Google.
Jim HTPC is offline  
post #74 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 11:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
kkpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Will this unit work with front projectors. I just have a front projector and have no use for other applications. I also just have Calman 4.2. I don't really have the need to upgrade that either. Spectracal made it sound like it would not. They are having a special edition made for them with enhanced tables. Their unit will be called a Chroma 6 and retail for approximately the same amount as a current Chroma 5.
kkpro is offline  
post #75 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkpro View Post

Will this unit work with front projectors. I just have a front projector and have no use for other applications. I also just have Calman 4.2. I don't really have the need to upgrade that either. Spectracal made it sound like it would not. They are having a special edition made for them with enhanced tables. Their unit will be called a Chroma 6 and retail for approximately the same amount as a current Chroma 5.

Do you have a web link?

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #76 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkpro View Post

Will this unit work with front projectors. I just have a front projector and have no use for other applications. I also just have Calman 4.2. I don't really have the need to upgrade that either. Spectracal made it sound like it would not. They are having a special edition made for them with enhanced tables. Their unit will be called a Chroma 6 and retail for approximately the same amount as a current Chroma 5.

Absolutely. Both off the screen and off the lens.

Edit: no comment on the pricing except to say that what you suggest is too high.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is offline  
post #77 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chad B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 2,055
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 342
I hope a stock unit will work with CM.
Chad B is offline  
post #78 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad B View Post

I hope a stock unit will work with CM.

ChromaPure Standard comes with support for one meter included in the purchase price. Support for each additional meter is $100.

ChromaPure Professional supports an unlimited number of meters. To add a meter, simply contact ChromaPure and they will update your license free of charge.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #79 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 197
If I was to buy ChromaPure for $180 (don't currently have it) and buy the ColorMunki Display for $189 elsewhere, could I still have the PRO upgrade done on it for an additional $125? Is there any hardware advantage to getting the i1Display Pro instead?
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #80 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 01:35 PM
Member
 
johnteeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Buffalo, New York
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings:

I decided to buy the Display Pro 3 and use the included software to calibrate
my new Panasonic (TC-P55VT30).
Would you guys thing I'll be out of my depth! and basically it is a waste of time
going it alone this way?!

Or I should bite the bullet and get a package with Calman or Chromapure?
Would appreciate any input.
johnteeee is offline  
post #81 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Central California,USA
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnteeee View Post

Greetings:

I decided to buy the Display Pro 3 and use the included software to calibrate
my new Panasonic (TC-P55VT30).
Would you guys thing I'll be out of my depth! and basically it is a waste of time
going it alone this way?!

Or I should bite the bullet and get a package with Calman or Chromapure?
Would appreciate any input.

The included software is generally aimed at PC displays, not TV displays.

CALMAN or ChromaPure are aimed at TV displays and projectors.
Lee Bailey is offline  
post #82 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
sellmejunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK, England
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Bailey View Post

The included software is generally aimed at PC displays, not TV displays.

CALMAN or ChromaPure are aimed at TV displays and projectors.

If your using your TV as your PC monitor its should be ok.

I`d be curious to know how the x-rite software performs without chromapure, as the new i1 display 3 must have had a major software rewrite to match the new hardware.

+ i heard theres extra options for new generation displays such as LED + newer projectors etc
sellmejunk is offline  
post #83 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 02:21 PM
Member
 
johnteeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Buffalo, New York
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So can I stick with this meter and just purchase the software from one of them?
Assuming one of them will support this meter in near future.

Thank you
johnteeee is offline  
post #84 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hotlanta, GA
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnteeee View Post

So can I stick with this meter and just purchase the software from one of them?
Assuming one of them will support this meter in near future.

Thank you

Chromapure is already supporting it.
Ranger is offline  
post #85 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 02:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hotlanta, GA
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sellmejunk View Post

If your using your TV as your PC monitor its should be ok.

I`d be curious to know how the x-rite software performs without chromapure, as the new i1 display 3 must have had a major software rewrite to match the new hardware.

+ i heard theres extra options for new generation displays such as LED + newer projectors etc

I am curious about this too, if they come with some calibration software for TVs and PJs.
Ranger is offline  
post #86 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 02:52 PM
Member
 
johnteeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Buffalo, New York
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Ranger.
So I could purchase the meter from the manufacturer and just opt for Chromapure software only.
Right?!!
johnteeee is offline  
post #87 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnteeee View Post

Thanks Ranger.
So I could purchase the meter from the manufacturer and just opt for Chromapure software only.
Right?!!

ChromaPure:
Adding Additional Meter or Signal Generator Support
ChromaPure Standard comes with support for one meter included in the purchase price. Support for each additional meter is $100. You may also purchase ChromaPure Plus, which adds support for the AccuPel family of video test pattern generators. ChromaPure Professional includes support for unlimited meters and all of the supported test pattern generators.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is offline  
post #88 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
sellmejunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK, England
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnteeee View Post

So can I stick with this meter and just purchase the software from one of them?

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnteeee View Post

So I could purchase the meter from the manufacturer and just opt for Chromapure software only.
Right?!!

Yep.
sellmejunk is offline  
post #89 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 05:13 PM
Member
 
johnteeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Buffalo, New York
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where would the "pre-order" be under?
Thank you
johnteeee is offline  
post #90 of 1402 Old 06-22-2011, 05:31 PM
 
HiFiFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The new Sony 30ES front projector boasts new calibration controls:

"The VPL-HW30ES offers Real Color Processing Version 2" function to adjust the colour and hue of each target colour of the projected picture independently.
Additionally, version 2 adds the ability to adjust the brightness at the same time. With this capability, dealer and enthusiastic users can tweak the images to perfection."

Can this new meter and software be just the hot-ticket to adjust each target color, tint and now brightness? Or will there need to be an update?
HiFiFun is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off