Calibrate for 3D content - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 12-09-2011, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Pitou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Trois-Rivieres,QC,Canada
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

How can we calibrate a display for 3D? Does putting the glasses in front of the probe, the right way to do that?

Thank you.

Pitou!
Pitou is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 12-09-2011, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Yes, the glasses need to be in front of the Meter..

Which Meter are you using? Up to around $1000, the X-Rite I1 Pro is really the only meter that can do this right...

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is online now  
post #3 of 13 Old 12-09-2011, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Pitou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Trois-Rivieres,QC,Canada
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own the i1pro + Chromapure. I usually do an offset with a D2, but I guess I'll have to use the i1pro only?

Now I'm wondering how I can hold the glasses while doing the calibration!
Pitou is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 12-09-2011, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Check that Article posted by SpectraCAL.

http://www.spectracal.com/downloads/...n%20Basics.pdf

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 12-09-2011, 02:40 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Pitou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Trois-Rivieres,QC,Canada
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ConnecTEDDD,

Thanks very much for the link.

They seem to suggest to have the glasses running. In my case, I need a 3d source playing for the glasses to activate.

Do you know if a VP like the Radiance mini3D displays the patterns in 3D mode? Or can I just place the glasses turned off in front of the i1pro?

Pitou!
Pitou is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 12-09-2011, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Make the conversion using your TV or your Blu-Ray Player from 2D -> 3D.
(If any of them have that 2D->3D conversion feature of cource)

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 12-09-2011, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Pitou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Trois-Rivieres,QC,Canada
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hmm unfortunately no. I own a Oppo BDP93 and a JVC HD250 PJ. I have the 3D VIP Theater for 3D and thinking of buying the Radiance mini 3D.
Pitou is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 02-12-2012, 02:44 PM
Member
 
3dmaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a question about calibration. I tried a different method the other night; I took my reference Colormunki Spectro and placed the 3d glasses in front of it, but not in front of my I1Display3 when I profiled it. I then went on to calibrate the display with the I1Display3 (again, without putting the glasses in front of it). I know the logic behind this setup makes some sense, and in some ways the picture looked good, but it did feel a bit off (I didn't have time to though up a grayscale ramp yet). Any ideas if this method has any merit? If not, does anyone know why it wouldn't work properly?
3dmaven is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 02-12-2012, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3dmaven View Post

I have a question about calibration. I tried a different method the other night; I took my reference Colormunki Spectro and placed the 3d glasses in front of it, but not in front of my I1Display3 when I profiled it. I then went on to calibrate the display with the I1Display3 (again, without putting the glasses in front of it). I know the logic behind this setup makes some sense, and in some ways the picture looked good, but it did feel a bit off (I didn't have time to though up a grayscale ramp yet). Any ideas if this method has any merit? If not, does anyone know why it wouldn't work properly?

How did it turn out?

ISF Calibrator

Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320

Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is online now  
post #10 of 13 Old 02-13-2012, 06:00 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Pitou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Trois-Rivieres,QC,Canada
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@3dmaven,

I'm not sure I'm following here. If you profile your d3 without the glasses in front of it against the munki with the glasses, the values offset will be very high. How can this setup work?

Please enlighten me!

Pitou!
Pitou is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 02-14-2012, 08:36 AM
Member
 
Kazuya (FR)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: France
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nobody made 3D patterns ?
It should not be too complicated for someone familiar with 3D videos...
In mkv for example, it whould works with Oppos, HTPC, Dune...

Now, discover the best video quality for an HTPC with the Config Kaz 6 !
Kazuya (FR) is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 02-14-2012, 10:04 PM
Member
 
3dmaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitou View Post

@3dmaven,

I'm not sure I'm following here. If you profile your d3 without the glasses in front of it against the munki with the glasses, the values offset will be very high. How can this setup work?

The offset values were indeed very high. All in all the picture looked decent, though I felt the the colors were way undersaturated, and I couldn't get great delta e results. I haven't had time to throw in any other disks to test it (in comparison to what I had seen before on this system and elsewhere). I may het the time to do some comps tomorrow.
3dmaven is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 02-18-2012, 03:49 PM
Member
 
3dmaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I had some time to view the calibration results more critically, and they were really not good. For whatever reason (maybe the very high offsets), it does not seem to work. The gamma curve was clearly off and there was some weird color banding.
3dmaven is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off