1080p vs 480p no difference - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-12-2012, 06:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shield1280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sit here and switch between 1080p24 and common 480p60hz there's no difference when I switch between the bd player nothing that all.alle bd movies look the same, so I was thinking ka heck like not much good with HD like, but switching between the 2 1080p and 480p is not any difference in the films, using the THX cinema mode, , either there must be something with tv or there must be the player.but on my popcorn player if to set 480p and 1080p I can see a big difference

sorry about my english,iam from norway.

Panasonic TX-P55VT60Y-Klipsch RF-62 Mk1-Onkyo TX-NR616-Panasonic DMP-BDT110-Pioneer BDP-120-Xbox 360 250GB
shield1280 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-12-2012, 07:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 1,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Your display is probably upconverting the 480p to 1080p or its native resolution, in which case 1080p is also being converted. If that's happening, you won't see much of a difference.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-12-2012, 07:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shield1280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hmm my display shows 1080p when i use that and 480p when thats used.my tv is a lg pz550n plasma.

Panasonic TX-P55VT60Y-Klipsch RF-62 Mk1-Onkyo TX-NR616-Panasonic DMP-BDT110-Pioneer BDP-120-Xbox 360 250GB
shield1280 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-12-2012, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 1,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by shield1280 View Post

hmm my display shows 1080p when i use that and 480p when thats used.my tv is a lg pz550n plasma.

Right. What it's telling you is the resolution of the input signal, not what resolution the TV is actually displaying. A modern digital set will show a picture at its native resolution.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off