HCFR - Open source projector and display calibration software - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 32Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 4098 Old 03-09-2012, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,434
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Perhaps also related, when I pull up a saved file I have to have a meter plugged in to access certain menu items (like changing reference or gamma calculation). Same problem with two files open and one meter, one file is fine and the other wants a meter.
zoyd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 4098 Old 03-09-2012, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 63
quick question.

do you guys unplugged your meter and put it back in the box after you done measuring?

i was too tired last night and just left my i1d3 memter opened and plugged in.
smokarz is offline  
post #273 of 4098 Old 03-09-2012, 09:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

ahh..thanks. good to know, i'll try that tonight.

btw blue, what are you calibrating? mind posting some results?

I am calibrating a Panasonic 65ST30 plasma. I could post some files (and I did early on in this thread, I believe, of my first calibration pass). I'm having two problems right now which make me feel like my results are unreliable:

1. The readings on plasma right now are unstable. My measurements jump around quite a bit after I get to 50 IRE. I also have some instability at 70 IRE.

2. My plasma is new, and I'm still trying to get a handle on the best way to calibrate gamma. ABL is kicking in and causing havoc. That, coupled with issue #1 makes my gamma reading bounce all over the place.
Bluescale is online now  
post #274 of 4098 Old 03-09-2012, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

quick question.

do you guys unplugged your meter and put it back in the box after you done measuring?

i was too tired last night and just left my i1d3 memter opened and plugged in.

I would recommend putting it away most of the time. Fortunately, the i1d3 has sealed optics, so it isn't nearly as much of an issue as with the i1d2, where you really wanted to keep it in a ziploc bag.
Bluescale is online now  
post #275 of 4098 Old 03-09-2012, 09:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

both rgb levels and color temp looks much better. but gamma took a huge dive. what gives?

To help with setting your gamma correctly (and primaries and secondaries when/if you're ready to go that route), I recommend using the spreadsheet developed by AVS member stereomandan and explained in the following post:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1111066

Hopefully you have the controls to boost luminence (Y) properly.

Good luck!
Bluescale is online now  
post #276 of 4098 Old 03-09-2012, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post

To help with setting your gamma correctly (and primaries and secondaries when/if you're ready to go that route), I recommend using the spreadsheet developed by AVS member stereomandan and explained in the following post:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1111066

Hopefully you have the controls to boost luminence (Y) properly.

Good luck!

yes, i am following that exact guide. I do have brightness control for primariy and secondary colors.
smokarz is offline  
post #277 of 4098 Old 03-09-2012, 09:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
djams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post

I recommend using the spreadsheet developed by AVS member stereomandan and explained in the following post:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1111066

I also use stereomandan's spreadsheet as part of my calibration process. But I'd rather not have to.

Given that JohnAD is asking us what's needed in HCFR, perhaps we could all post what we use the spreadsheet for, and he can work it into HCFR eventually.

I use it to calculate targets for 75% saturations, and to plot saturation readings on the CIE graph with targets (targets are not available in HCFR). So I mainly use it for CMS work. I find that existing HCFR functionality works fine for grayscale and gamma.

@JohnAD - thanks for taking on this project!
djams is offline  
post #278 of 4098 Old 03-09-2012, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by djams View Post

I also use Dan's spreadsheet as part of my calibration process. But I'd rather not have to.

Given that JohnAD is asking us what's needed in HCFR, perhaps we could all post what we use the spreadsheet for, and he can work it into HCFR eventually.

I use it to calculate targets for 75% saturations, and to plot saturation readings on the CIE graph with targets. So I mainly use it for CMS work. I find that existing HCFR functionality works fine for grayscale and gamma.

@JohnAD - thanks for taking on this project!



+1. if this could be built into HCFR Fork, it's a BIG bonus.
smokarz is offline  
post #279 of 4098 Old 03-09-2012, 10:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by djams View Post

I also use Dan's spreadsheet as part of my calibration process. But I'd rather not have to.

Given that JohnAD is asking us what's needed in HCFR, perhaps we could all post what we use the spreadsheet for, and he can work it into HCFR eventually.

I use it to calculate targets for 75% saturations, and to plot saturation readings on the CIE graph with targets. So I mainly use it for CMS work. I find that existing HCFR functionality works fine for grayscale and gamma.

@JohnAD - thanks for taking on this project!

I believe that was requested at the beginning of this thread. If not, I'm with you - that would be a great feature to add.

Can you point me to Dan's spreadsheet? I'm not familiar with it.
Bluescale is online now  
post #280 of 4098 Old 03-09-2012, 10:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
djams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post

Can you point me to Dan's spreadsheet? I'm not familiar with it.

I'm referring to the same spreadsheet you linked above - I'll edit my post to clear that up
djams is offline  
post #281 of 4098 Old 03-09-2012, 11:00 AM
wl1
Advanced Member
 
wl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I don't recall my plasma having any issues, bouncing around 50ire. Was this with free measures?



So I have done all my work with the iD2. Which is a few years old.

How do I get a calibration/offset file for it? Is this done by someone running their good meter whilst checking mine at the same time? I am curious at what is required.

Or should I jump in with colormunki or iD3?
wl1 is offline  
post #282 of 4098 Old 03-09-2012, 12:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by djams View Post

I'm referring to the same spreadsheet you linked above - I'll edit my post to clear that up

Haha...sometimes I'm a bit dense...
Bluescale is online now  
post #283 of 4098 Old 03-09-2012, 12:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by wl1 View Post

I don't recall my plasma having any issues, bouncing around 50ire. Was this with free measures?

This is an issue a few of us have noticed with the i1d3 and plasma screens in the newest iteration of HCFR.
Bluescale is online now  
post #284 of 4098 Old 03-09-2012, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
deandob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djams View Post

I also use stereomandan's spreadsheet as part of my calibration process. But I'd rather not have to.

Given that JohnAD is asking us what's needed in HCFR, perhaps we could all post what we use the spreadsheet for, and he can work it into HCFR eventually.

I use it to calculate targets for 75% saturations, and to plot saturation readings on the CIE graph with targets (targets are not available in HCFR). So I mainly use it for CMS work. I find that existing HCFR functionality works fine for grayscale and gamma.

@JohnAD - thanks for taking on this project!

+1 If this and the new meter support are the only additional features added I'd be happy.

John, I'm ready to test this weekend, will post results when the new version is ready
deandob is offline  
post #285 of 4098 Old 03-09-2012, 02:01 PM
wl1
Advanced Member
 
wl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post


This is an issue a few of us have noticed with the i1d3 and plasma screens in the newest iteration of HCFR.

Sorry, a i1d3 issue, not hcfr. I am with you now.
wl1 is offline  
post #286 of 4098 Old 03-09-2012, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 63
stupid question guys, but i just can't figure out how to mount my i1d3 on a tripod.

when i mounted it, it's pointing upward. i am not taking measurements of my ceiling. lol

how do you mount it on a camera tripod and have it pointed at the screen?
smokarz is offline  
post #287 of 4098 Old 03-09-2012, 06:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by wl1 View Post

Sorry, a i1d3 issue, not hcfr. I am with you now.

I don't think it's really a problem with the i1d3 or HCFR individually. It's the way the drivers interact with HCFR.
Bluescale is online now  
post #288 of 4098 Old 03-09-2012, 06:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

stupid question guys, but i just can't figure out how to mount my i1d3 on a tripod.

when i mounted it, it's pointing upward. i am not taking measurements of my ceiling. lol

how do you mount it on a camera tripod and have it pointed at the screen?

You need a 3 way tripod mount which allow you to flip the head a full 90 degrees. When you're using it with a camera, it allows for both portrait and landscape orientation.

If your tripod is for photography, it'll generally be a 3 way mount. If it's for film, it'll be a 2 way mount (since you usually only pan and tilt).
Bluescale is online now  
post #289 of 4098 Old 03-10-2012, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I hadn't used HCFR in a while, and one nice feature would be an option to skip the 0% reading, or to just reuse the reading from a previous run. It's somewhat pointless to measure 0% with each grayscale run.
alluringreality is offline  
post #290 of 4098 Old 03-11-2012, 04:25 AM
Member
 
SonyCrusader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

ok guys.

had a chance to play around tonight.

first, here's my setup.

system: windows 7 64bit
pj: epson 8100
screen: 90" gray paint
meter: i1d3 (20" from screen, below center and tilted up)

1) i plug the i1d3 into the USB port and Win7 recognizes and showed up in 'device manager'

2) launch hcfr, select the proper settings and i1d3 also shows up as a meter.

follows are screen shots of my gray scale measurements. you guys help me interpret the results, they look pretty bad to me (based on my limited knowledge).

I have an 8350. If they are similar, I found that the first-level menu "skin tone" setting is a killer. In graphing its behavior, it appears anything other than "0" acts as increasingly horrid red cut / green boost.

The choice of "color temp" used as the start point makes a difference too. General consensus seems to be "start at 7000." Picture mode of choice is "Natural, " which is where I took this data set. I need to look at Cinema.

With all data reset to default, I graphed each temp to observe where R and B (which had distinct slopes in their data) intersected or crossed the G data (which was really pretty flat!) at 50 (arbitrary but seems logical). I ended up at 8500 as a base. Or was it 8000? Anyway, I ended up with a "symetrical" gain-offset set, for example Green stayed essentially "0 / 0", Blue offset +15 Blue gain -15, Red offset -2 Red gain +2. It really tamed a lot of humps/dips in my graphs. I cringe at the amplitude of the big blue numbers, but that's the best I could get in "Natural" mode.
SonyCrusader is offline  
post #291 of 4098 Old 03-11-2012, 05:18 AM
Member
 
CxTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried the new driver for the Spyder3?

I have been trying to update the driver as stated in the wiki to test but have had no luck.

Windows 7-32bit keeps telling me that the driver is not signed and therefore will not use it.
CxTurbo is offline  
post #292 of 4098 Old 03-11-2012, 07:45 AM
Senior Member
 
65Cobra427SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Washington PA
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by CxTurbo View Post

Has anyone tried the new driver for the Spyder3?

I have been trying to update the driver as stated in the wiki to test but have had no luck.

Windows 7-32bit keeps telling me that the driver is not signed and therefore will not use it.

I always thought Windows gave you the option to use the drivers anyway, even if they weren't signed. It's been a while since I've had that problem so all I can suggest at the moment is to try an online search for details but it could just be a setting that needs changed.
65Cobra427SC is offline  
post #293 of 4098 Old 03-11-2012, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonyCrusader View Post


I have an 8350. If they are similar, I found that the first-level menu "skin tone" setting is a killer. In graphing its behavior, it appears anything other than "0" acts as increasingly horrid red cut / green boost.

The choice of "color temp" used as the start point makes a difference too. General consensus seems to be "start at 7000." Picture mode of choice is "Natural, " which is where I took this data set. I need to look at Cinema.

With all data reset to default, I graphed each temp to observe where R and B (which had distinct slopes in their data) intersected or crossed the G data (which was really pretty flat!) at 50 (arbitrary but seems logical). I ended up at 8500 as a base. Or was it 8000? Anyway, I ended up with a "symetrical" gain-offset set, for example Green stayed essentially "0 / 0", Blue offset +15 Blue gain -15, Red offset -2 Red gain +2. It really tamed a lot of humps/dips in my graphs. I cringe at the amplitude of the big blue numbers, but that's the best I could get in "Natural" mode.



Thanks. Being complete new to this, I just follow the Epson Calibration Guide on this forum to keep things simple. After some practice, I will try your method and see what shows up. I did some more calibration last night with the Natural mode and things looked much better, but still need a bit more fine tuning.
smokarz is offline  
post #294 of 4098 Old 03-11-2012, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 63
a few more shots of my calibration with HCFR Fork. so far, i haven't found any other issues. the application runs pretty smoothly.











smokarz is offline  
post #295 of 4098 Old 03-11-2012, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

i haven't found any other issues. the application runs pretty smoothly.

I agree that the updated meter support is very similar to the old version when I tried my i1pro. One area where the previous version is preferable is that if you click new you do not need to recalibrate the meter each time on the old version. Otherwise I thought the Argyll support was a considerable improvement to a rather good freeware program.
alluringreality is offline  
post #296 of 4098 Old 03-11-2012, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 63
i did not calibrate my i1d3 before taking new measurements. is calibration needed? if yes, how do i calibrate the meter?
smokarz is offline  
post #297 of 4098 Old 03-11-2012, 12:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

a few more shots of my calibration with HCFR Fork. so far, i haven't found any other issues. the application runs pretty smoothly.

Wow! Great improvement.
Bluescale is online now  
post #298 of 4098 Old 03-11-2012, 01:03 PM
Member
 
ascl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

i did not calibrate my i1d3 before taking new measurements. is calibration needed? if yes, how do i calibrate the meter?

There is no need to calibrate the i1d3. HCFR should let you know if you have a meter that requires calibration.
ascl is offline  
post #299 of 4098 Old 03-11-2012, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post


Wow! Great improvement.

Thanks. It did took me a few late nights. I still need to play with it a little more.
smokarz is offline  
post #300 of 4098 Old 03-11-2012, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by ascl View Post


There is no need to calibrate the i1d3. HCFR should let you know if you have a meter that requires calibration.

Good to know. Thanks
smokarz is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off