HCFR - Open source projector and display calibration software - Page 100 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 74Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2971 of 4691 Old 01-14-2014, 06:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 35

when "view images"  is selected as the generator, the selected, the chosen test color will change after each reading. Is there a setting to enable / disable this behavior?

vega509 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2972 of 4691 Old 01-14-2014, 07:01 AM
Newbie
 
balabushka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwgill View Post

Note that high resolution wavelength mode requires the white tile calibration. It should work fine for normal wavelength mode with black though.

Hi Graeme!!

Can you elaborate a little bit please?

(High resolution wavelength vs normal wavelength)
balabushka is offline  
post #2973 of 4691 Old 01-14-2014, 02:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Noted, thanks. I will disable the option to skip white tile cals when high resolution mode is requested.

zoyd,

Do the newer versions of HCFR turn on the light in the I1 Pro when initializing it so that the white tile is useful? Version 2 did not. I'm away from home where my meter is and cannot answer the question for myself.

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2974 of 4691 Old 01-14-2014, 03:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
gwgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by balabushka View Post

Can you elaborate a little bit please?
(High resolution wavelength vs normal wavelength)

See "Special features:" in http://www.argyllcms.com/doc/instruments.html#i1p
gwgill is offline  
post #2975 of 4691 Old 01-14-2014, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Hey guys, when you calibrate your primary and secondary colors with AVSHD disc. What patterns do you use?

100% saturation? 100% saturation? or 100% color?

Thanks
smokarz is online now  
post #2976 of 4691 Old 01-14-2014, 05:26 PM
Newbie
 
balabushka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwgill View Post

See "Special features:" in http://www.argyllcms.com/doc/instruments.html#i1p

Thank you very much!

So, if understand correctly the high resolution mode enables the measurement at 3.33 nm instead of 10 nm? And this high resolution mode is already enabled in HCFR automatically for the i1pros or we find this option through the menus?
balabushka is offline  
post #2977 of 4691 Old 01-14-2014, 08:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

Hey guys, when you calibrate your primary and secondary colors with AVSHD disc. What patterns do you use?

100% saturation? 100% saturation? or 100% color?

Thanks
AVSHD709 only has 100% saturation / 75% amplitude patterns ("75% Color"), or 100% / 100% patterns ("100% Color") IIRC. There's also saturation sweep patterns (which are at 100% amplitude). I wouldn't use any of them for color gamut, I would use GCD's 75% / 75% patterns. Also do a sweep and the color checker to see how your color is tracking (Measures -> Saturations -> All Colors). Make sure GCD is selected for the color checker in the references tab in the preferences. Or you can use Mascior's Calibration Disc (if set accordingly).

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1406352/gcd-gamut-calibration-disk
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1463980/masciors-calibration-disc
rahzel is offline  
post #2978 of 4691 Old 01-14-2014, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahzel View Post

AVSHD709 only has 100% saturation / 75% amplitude patterns ("75% Color"), or 100% / 100% patterns ("100% Color") IIRC. There's also saturation sweep patterns (which are at 100% amplitude). I wouldn't use any of them for color gamut, I would use GCD's 75% / 75% patterns. Also do a sweep and the color checker to see how your color is tracking (Measures -> Saturations -> All Colors). Make sure GCD is selected for the color checker in the references tab in the preferences. Or you can use Mascior's Calibration Disc (if set accordingly).

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1406352/gcd-gamut-calibration-disk


Thanks for the link, I'll check it out.

I am confused, I am sure AVSHD709 disk has the 75% saturation patterns. I've used it in the past to calibrate my projectors.

Or do I get the facts wrong?
smokarz is online now  
post #2979 of 4691 Old 01-14-2014, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

Thanks for the link, I'll check it out.

I am confused, I am sure AVSHD709 disk has the 75% saturation patterns. I've used it in the past to calibrate my projectors.

Or do I get the facts wrong?
Technically it has 75% saturation patterns, but they are at 100% amplitude (or luminance), and they are part of the saturation patterns and are intended to be used for the saturation measures, so you would have to skip past all of the other saturation patterns (0%, 25%, 50%, 100%) just to measure 75% saturation. And again, I recommend 75% saturation / 75% amplitude patterns, which are not on AVS at all. GCD / MCD both have 75% / 75% patterns intended to be used for color gamut calibration.
rahzel is offline  
post #2980 of 4691 Old 01-15-2014, 02:28 AM
Member
 
Kerlucun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brittany France
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello Zoyd,

I noticed a curious behavior of saturation graph when comparing two files of measures.
First red sat of référence measures (dashed line) goes out of the window upon reaching 75%.
Then other reference saturations see at least double their deviations from the reference standard and this as well in the window of reference measures .
This increase switch off/on with the reference button.

Last question, are the sources of the V3.1 available somewhere in Sourceforge?
Kerlucun is offline  
post #2981 of 4691 Old 01-15-2014, 04:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,694
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by balabushka View Post

Thank you very much!

So, if understand correctly the high resolution mode enables the measurement at 3.33 nm instead of 10 nm? And this high resolution mode is already enabled in HCFR automatically for the i1pros or we find this option through the menus?

The option is available as a check box in the probe set-up page.
balabushka likes this.
zoyd is online now  
post #2982 of 4691 Old 01-15-2014, 04:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,694
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerlucun View Post

Hello Zoyd,

I noticed a curious behavior of saturation graph when comparing two files of measures.
First red sat of référence measures (dashed line) goes out of the window upon reaching 75%.
Then other reference saturations see at least double their deviations from the reference standard and this as well in the window of reference measures .
This increase switch off/on with the reference button.

pictures and .chc please so I can reproduce and fix.
Quote:
Last question, are the sources of the V3.1 available somewhere in Sourceforge?

Source, click on "Download Snapshot"
zoyd is online now  
post #2983 of 4691 Old 01-15-2014, 05:25 AM
Newbie
 
balabushka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

The option is available as a check box in the probe set-up page.

Thank you zoyd!!
balabushka is offline  
post #2984 of 4691 Old 01-15-2014, 06:39 AM
Member
 
Kerlucun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brittany France
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Here some pictures and chc

This behavior is related with the 'use mesured gamma' option of Preferencess-References windows.
No change if gamma is not use.





Sony_DispcalGUI.zip 5k .zip file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Sony_DispcalGUI.zip (5.3 KB, 2 views)
Kerlucun is offline  
post #2985 of 4691 Old 01-15-2014, 08:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,694
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 356
zoyd is online now  
post #2986 of 4691 Old 01-15-2014, 11:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 35

if I create a meter correction file using an i1pro and a d3 and use it in the sensor selection, what should be used for display type on the sensor configuration page?

 

in the advanced / Meter Correction File there is a "build a colorimeter calibration spectral sample", what is this used for? and is the colorimeter and the spectrophotometer used?

vega509 is offline  
post #2987 of 4691 Old 01-15-2014, 02:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,694
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerlucun View Post

Here some pictures and chc

This behavior is related with the 'use mesured gamma' option of Preferencess-References windows.
No change if gamma is not use.
[/ATTACHMENT]

I've updated the current build with a fix for the saturation shift plots when using a reference doc.
zoyd is online now  
post #2988 of 4691 Old 01-15-2014, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 147
zoyd,

You must have missed my question in post http://www.avsforum.com/t/1393853/fork-of-hcfr-started-whats-needed/2970#post_24210825.

Just a mild bump, smile.gif

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #2989 of 4691 Old 01-15-2014, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,694
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 356
zoyd is online now  
post #2990 of 4691 Old 01-15-2014, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahzel View Post

Technically it has 75% saturation patterns, but they are at 100% amplitude (or luminance), and they are part of the saturation patterns and are intended to be used for the saturation measures, so you would have to skip past all of the other saturation patterns (0%, 25%, 50%, 100%) just to measure 75% saturation. And again, I recommend 75% saturation / 75% amplitude patterns, which are not on AVS at all. GCD / MCD both have 75% / 75% patterns intended to be used for color gamut calibration.

I did not know this.... Sounds like AVSHD709 is badly needing updated?
xvfx is offline  
post #2991 of 4691 Old 01-16-2014, 01:28 AM
Member
 
Kerlucun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brittany France
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The saturation shift is gone in the last version.
Thanks you zoyd.
Kerlucun is offline  
post #2992 of 4691 Old 01-16-2014, 08:37 PM
Senior Member
 
damag0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I'm about to touch up my calibration of my Pansonic ST60, using I1 Display Pro. I'm noticing some problems at certain levels I want to clean up.

Since it has been a while, I have some questions.

Anything special I should do this time around since it is a plasma, besides using the spectral sample? Anything special when doing the meter calibration?

Also, this is probably a dumb question, but when using the 75/75 primary/secondary patterns on GCD do I need to compensate for this?

Edit: I'm starting to remember now... Do I need to use GCD_targets_v13.xlsx?
damag0r is offline  
post #2993 of 4691 Old 01-16-2014, 11:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
mytbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I'd say: use APL patterns for this set and get prepared for very long hours...smile.gif also do gray scale sweep to establish best initisl gamma at the three panel luminance presets...also calibrate the custom mode with native gamut because it means you get to start with unmodified maximum natural gamut of phosphors and reduce from there thus avoiding tweaking already factory-tweaked CMS
mytbyte is offline  
post #2994 of 4691 Old 01-17-2014, 02:23 AM
Senior Member
 
damag0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mytbyte View Post

I'd say: use APL patterns for this set and get prepared for very long hours...smile.gif also do gray scale sweep to establish best initisl gamma at the three panel luminance presets...also calibrate the custom mode with native gamut because it means you get to start with unmodified maximum natural gamut of phosphors and reduce from there thus avoiding tweaking already factory-tweaked CMS


Using the GCD APL patterns of course. Sure about Native instead of Normal? Colors look a little over vivid/saturated. Also... what happened to the Gamma Y, and how do I get it back? Not sure how I'm supposed to calibrate gamma without it. (The option to change it in the advanced settings is grayed out).

Also, I'm still a little bit confused on how to go about using the 75/75 primary/secondary patterns. Will it compensate if I take color measurements only with the 75/75 white at the end? Or do I need to use that GCD spreadsheet and manually adjust that way?

Thanks.

Man the controls really suck on the ST60... The white balance controls are just terrible. Often times I have to adjust the 30IRE to get the 20% right, and so on... like it's shifted up and even then it's really hard to get it quite as flat as I want to... at least I got them all under 2 dE but just barely. And the 2-point on this thing is just horrible, I almost want to enter the service menu and try using the 2-point WB there to see if it is any better.
damag0r is offline  
post #2995 of 4691 Old 01-17-2014, 02:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
mytbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Native mode is indeed oversaturated but that's what CMS is for...you shouldn't hit maximums, and if you still do, revert to Normal...and yes, after each single tweak you need to exit the menus because the slidebar changes the picture...ST60 is a bit** to calibrate, yes...a lot of back forth with white balance/gamma until you reach precision...
mytbyte is offline  
post #2996 of 4691 Old 01-17-2014, 03:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,694
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by damag0r View Post



Also, I'm still a little bit confused on how to go about using the 75/75 primary/secondary patterns. Will it compensate if I take color measurements only with the 75/75 white at the end? Or do I need to use that GCD spreadsheet and manually adjust that way?

no need for the spreadsheet, HCFR does all the calculations when you choose the 75% Rec709 color space.
zoyd is online now  
post #2997 of 4691 Old 01-17-2014, 03:16 AM
Senior Member
 
damag0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

no need for the spreadsheet, HCFR does all the calculations when you choose the 75% Rec709 color space.

Ah thanks... what about the GammaY, how do I get that back in my measurements? The option to change it seems to be greyed out?
damag0r is offline  
post #2998 of 4691 Old 01-17-2014, 03:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,694
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 356
zoyd is online now  
post #2999 of 4691 Old 01-17-2014, 03:31 AM
Senior Member
 
damag0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

don't know what you mean, the Y targets are always available on the gray scale page.


Edit2: Argh, nevermind... it seems to work when I start on the low end... this is the problem I had last time... unless I start on the low end first nothing I do makes sense with these controls.

Edit3: wow... I'm starting calibrating Cinema mode as a warm up because I remember it being easier to calibrate than Custom, but even at the 2.6 preset I had to jam it to almost -50 (max negative gain) to reach the Y target at 10%.

Although what I'm seeing on the graph afterwards still doesn't make sense... and this is confusing me:



The "Absolute Y w/o gamma" thing.
damag0r is offline  
post #3000 of 4691 Old 01-17-2014, 04:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,694
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 356
zoyd is online now  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off