HCFR - Open source projector and display calibration software - Page 142 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 99Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4231 of 5063 Old 09-02-2014, 04:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,041
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 434
You should use plasma display type plus the CalMAN matrix in HCFR.
zoyd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4232 of 5063 Old 09-02-2014, 05:36 AM
Member
 
Andrei_VVB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Great! Thanks.
Is this a common way to profile in calman or the guy with the software and spectro should have used no plasma setting?
Andrei_VVB is online now  
post #4233 of 5063 Old 09-02-2014, 09:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,041
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 434
It shouldn't matter either way, just one less correction to worry about if you want to use it in other software.
Andrei_VVB likes this.
zoyd is online now  
post #4234 of 5063 Old 09-03-2014, 05:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,926
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 301
B&H Photo has, after rebate:
i1 Display Pro for $224 and
ColorMunki Display for $144
until 9/6.

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4235 of 5063 Old 09-03-2014, 08:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
gwgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 685
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrei_VVB View Post
Is this a common way to profile in calman or the guy with the software and spectro should have used no plasma setting?
It's another level of confusion - you need to know which setting to use in combination with the correction matrix.

ArgyllCMS ccxxmake utility makes sure that the colorimeter is using one of the "calibration" display settings, and records which one that was in the resulting .ccmx correction matrix file, to try and eliminate this source of error.
gwgill is offline  
post #4236 of 5063 Old 09-05-2014, 04:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
SightSeeker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have a Sony NX720 edge lit LCD TV. Should I pick LCD White LED setting in HCFR? If not which one. Thanks


BTW I did my first calibration on my projector.

BenQ W1070 : DLP Full HD, 3D Ready with lens-shift for 1000$
SightSeeker1 is offline  
post #4237 of 5063 Old 09-06-2014, 01:27 AM
Newbie
 
nesys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mac osx?

Hi All,

First of all, thanks for HCFR, this is a fantastic calibration software!!!

I was just wondering if a mac osx version will come, sooner or later. That would be definitely great!

Thank you very much

Andrea
nesys is offline  
post #4238 of 5063 Old 09-06-2014, 09:08 AM
Member
 
distobj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Error during generator initialisation

Hi. I'm getting the above error with the latest 3.1.5 on Win 8.1 x64 with my i1 Pro. I saw that somebody else had this same error a few weeks ago, but that seems unresolved too.

Steps to reproduce;
- start app
- File-New
- select HCFR Generator generator, then Next
- use default detected sensor Xrite i1 Display Pro, no meter correction, then Finish
- use default meter properties (non-refresh display, display reading type, default observer). Hit OK
- select "Measure Gray Scale"
- select Yes at "Run gray scale measures on 11 values" dialog
- receive above error

I had this working before with a year old version of HCFR on Win7 x64, but this is my first attempt to set it up again after upgrading (ahem) to Win 8.1.

Thanks!

P.S. in the first post, the thread link for "#151-#155 installing i1 Display Pro" is munged
distobj is online now  
post #4239 of 5063 Old 09-06-2014, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,041
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 434
"HCFR generator" was formerly used for automatic IR control of playback devices. If you want to display patterns from the laptop use "View images"
zoyd is online now  
post #4240 of 5063 Old 09-09-2014, 12:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
magicj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake district, England
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Since downloading 3.1.5 I seem to be ruining into problems with the madVR Test generator.

If say I wish to take a set of Gray scale measurements, the madVR test generator starts, then displays 0:0:0 at the bottom of the generator 'which I've never seen before', which then changes to 26:26:26, but then nothing happens. After a while the test generator ends and it goes back to HCFR.

Is there something I am missing here?

I was only using HCFR on Saturday on both my PC's. Tonight they are both producing the same problem.

I should say HCFR 3,1,1 works fine

Last edited by magicj1; 09-09-2014 at 12:41 PM.
magicj1 is offline  
post #4241 of 5063 Old 09-09-2014, 12:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,041
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Try reselecting view images again (measures->generator->select), occasionally I will see problems when starting madTPG upon start-up or after PC syncs with display over HDMI. The triplet display is from the internal generator so also recheck that madTPG is selected in view images set-up dialog.
magicj1 likes this.
zoyd is online now  
post #4242 of 5063 Old 09-09-2014, 01:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
magicj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake district, England
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
Try reselecting view images again (measures->generator->select), occasionally I will see problems when starting madTPG upon start-up or after PC syncs with display over HDMI. The triplet display is from the internal generator so also recheck that madTPG is selected in view images set-up dialog.

Cheers zoyd. Just running the older version on my PJ, this can take some time. I shall report back tomorrow all being well.
magicj1 is offline  
post #4243 of 5063 Old 09-10-2014, 01:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
magicj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake district, England
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
Try reselecting view images again (measures->generator->select), occasionally I will see problems when starting madTPG upon start-up or after PC syncs with display over HDMI. The triplet display is from the internal generator so also recheck that madTPG is selected in view images set-up dialog.
OK, got it working. As you suggested, I needed to Measures/Generator/Configure then simply press 'OK'
magicj1 is offline  
post #4244 of 5063 Old 09-13-2014, 03:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by nesys View Post
Hi All,

First of all, thanks for HCFR, this is a fantastic calibration software!!!

I was just wondering if a mac osx version will come, sooner or later. That would be definitely great!

Thank you very much

Andrea
I have only Apple computers but I decided to buy a new $229 PC laptop just for calibration. I only use it for HT calibration.

Also, I hear the newest version of Parallels for OSX is great. However, I think buying a cheap PC laptop for HCFR is better... you could even go used possibly.

-Brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #4245 of 5063 Old 09-13-2014, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,926
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 301
I had done the same (refurb).
Now I have it running directly on my HTPC.
Michael

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4246 of 5063 Old 09-16-2014, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,926
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 301
So which do I believe?

Now that orion has me obsessing about saturations in addition to just primaries and secondaries (thanks for that, I think ), I have discovered a discrepancy.

If I run Measures -> Saturations -> All colors and make that the reference (which, in the examples below, have very good dEs), with some colors, running Measures -> Saturations -> Green (for example) gives me dramatically different readings (note "dE / ref"):





So, for now, if I make any changes to a color, I'm running the saturation sweep for all colors, just to be on the safe side. I think.


Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4247 of 5063 Old 09-16-2014, 07:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,041
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 434
zoyd is online now  
post #4248 of 5063 Old 09-16-2014, 08:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,926
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Just reran everything in broad daylight, so not the greatest results , but still demonstrates the difference.
Let me know if you want me to try anything else (unless, of course, someone else would like to try it, too ).
Thanks.

Michael
Attached Files
File Type: zip Archive.zip (7.1 KB, 1 views)

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4249 of 5063 Old 09-16-2014, 10:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,041
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 434
thanks, the problem is that the first pattern of the individual color sweep is being measured with a too low luminance compared to when it's run as part of the entire sweep probably due to some sort of dynamic dimming. I assume you are running using the internal generator, what is the iris latency time? Are you using full field patterns?




Last edited by zoyd; 09-16-2014 at 11:15 AM.
zoyd is online now  
post #4250 of 5063 Old 09-16-2014, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,926
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Why would the individual run be different from the all-color run (under any circumstances)?
Yes, I'm using the internal generator, which is not full-field (plasma, i1D3 with calibration file).
I did not change the latency time (though I'll be happy to try that if you think it may help), but I did change the "Integratior (sic) Time," which had no effect.
The ones I had posted before were in a dark room, and the difference affected the 25% saturation as well.
So what do I believe?

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4251 of 5063 Old 09-16-2014, 04:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,041
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 434
The files you sent only show a problem with the 1st pattern (0% saturation) and I can reproduce that same problem here if I set a very short latency time (10 ms) but at 250 ms there is no problem. So try increasing yours to 500 ms and see if that works.
zoyd is online now  
post #4252 of 5063 Old 09-16-2014, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,926
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Actually, I needed to change it to 2000 to eliminate most of the problems, but that does seem to help.
Since the numbers are consistent, I can only assume they're right.
The picture does look great, though, so I'm obviously heading in the right direction.
Many thanks.
Michael

BTW, what's a "bip"?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	44
Size:	31.4 KB
ID:	266145  

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?

Last edited by LastButNotLeast; 09-16-2014 at 09:25 PM.
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4253 of 5063 Old 09-17-2014, 01:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
gwgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 685
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
BTW, what's a "bip"?
It's an onomatopoeia - i.e. a short "Beep".
gwgill is offline  
post #4254 of 5063 Old 09-17-2014, 04:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,041
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
Actually, I needed to change it to 2000 to eliminate most of the problems, but that does seem to help.
That's an unusually long time for a display to stabilize, which plasma is it? And you're right it shouldn't matter whether it's the first or last pattern but for your display it does. What is on screen prior to the start of the patterns, just black? Try re-running with a background on the display and also using a 25% APL pattern.


By the way the answer to your question of "which one is correct?" regarding the numbers you measured, is that both are an accurate description of the state of your display under the conditions in which you tested it.
zoyd is online now  
post #4255 of 5063 Old 09-17-2014, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,926
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
Try re-running with a background on the display and also using a 25% APL pattern.
It's a Samsung PN60F5300. Quite lovely, actually.

How do I do that with the built-in generator?

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4256 of 5063 Old 09-17-2014, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,041
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
It's a Samsung PN60F5300. Quite lovely, actually.
So I gather from your report and this report.

Quote:
How do I do that with the built-in generator?
I'm guessing that due to the high light output of your device there is some delay in reaching peak brightness when starting from a very dim or black scene. So to test that you can have something displayed on screen prior to starting measurements, if it is set-up as an extended display you right click on the display desktop and customize it with a background, just don't make it too bright. A solid mid-level gray would be fine. To set an APL pattern you enter a value in the APL (video) % box under the view images dialog, 25 is a good choice.
zoyd is online now  
post #4257 of 5063 Old 09-17-2014, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,926
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Homework for tonight. Many thanks.
(though perhaps I should quit while I'm ahead )
Michael

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4258 of 5063 Old 09-17-2014, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,926
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwgill View Post
It's an onomatopoeia - i.e. a short "Beep".
Thanks. I was afraid I'd start a cascade of Rowan and Martin jokes.
I guess I'll turn the sound on next time.

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4259 of 5063 Old 09-17-2014, 08:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,041
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 434
zoyd is online now  
post #4260 of 5063 Old 09-18-2014, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,926
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
To set an APL pattern you enter a value in the APL (video) % box under the view images dialog, 25 is a good choice.
For those who want to play along:
measures -> generator -> configure -> APL
Changing it from 0 to 25 killed my contrast ratio. It makes the 0% reading much brighter (IIRC, 0.014) and raises the whole gamma curve. Doesn't seem to affect the colors much.
So I guess my next experiment is to recalibrate the display using this APL setting and see how the picture looks after that.
Next week!
Michael

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off