HCFR - Open source projector and display calibration software - Page 169 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 98Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2014, 11:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVChallenged View Post
PS: In Sony's case, it probably doesn't help that they appear to have a severe allergy to including any type of user adjustable color-management-systems (CMS) on their products.
Why is that?
xvfx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-19-2014, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,892
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 295
They're afraid of hackers.

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
Old Yesterday, 02:55 AM
Newbie
 
CharlieS.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Where can is see what luminance i need for the color calibration with REC 709 75%/75%?
I just see what luminance i have but not what i need.

Last edited by CharlieS.; Yesterday at 04:05 AM.
CharlieS. is offline  
Old Today, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
umenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States
Posts: 1,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I am new to the world of calibrating with a hardware.

A couple of weeks ago, I bought a Datacolor S4TV100 Spyder4TV HD and was able to install a custom Spyder4 driver so that HFCR could detect and use it. I did not use any correction file. Should I ?

My new Samsung 4K TV has a 2-pt and 10-pt white balance.

Here is what I did ... I put the TV in Movie/Warm2 mode (with all other gimmicks turned off).

I put the the HFCR software in manual (free-run) mode and first did the 2-pt WB on a 50% grayscale chart and was able to tweak the BlueGain to +7% to get it all even. I then switched to the 10% grayscale charts (from 10%-100%) and tweaked it all using the Red Gain or Blue Gain (did not touch Green). Is that the right way to do it?

I do have a couple of issues. When I try to run the grayscale balance in automatic mode ... the software seems to hurry through all the 10 steps of grayscale. e.g. it does not wait long enough to accurately read the values for the 10% grayscale. I know this because the readings are different when I do the same in manual mode. Is there a way to make the software wait a little longer to take the readings (especially at the lower grayscale levels)?

Also, how does one adjust gamma. I know that when I run the complete 0-100 measurement ... it will show me the Gamma graph. But thats a graph - how do I tweak Gamma? By the way, my Samsung has a single Gamma slider which is applied to the whole range. So how to tweak it across the range?

Also, as I mentioned above, I tweaked the Red Gain or Blue Gain for white balance. I did not touch the Red Offset or Blue Offset. What are they used for? Do they come into play for tweaking Gamma?
umenon is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off