HCFR - Open source projector and display calibration software - Page 186 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 162Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5551 of 5561 Old 03-04-2015, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cfraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto area, Canada
Posts: 1,366
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 55
^ I've gone through them all multiple times. No particular reason that I can remember now... Except that I always use the "Res. 1956" one to position my sensor.

Actually, now that you mention you haven't gone through the whole list, that might explain why some of my "asks" a couple weeks ago didn't make sense to you (besides for the usual reasons ).

Last edited by cfraser; 03-04-2015 at 04:10 PM. Reason: got to my HCFR PC to get proper names
cfraser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5552 of 5561 Old 03-04-2015, 10:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Is there an "updated" step by step guide on calibrating with HCFR and using the X-Rite i1Display Pro?

I'm using this guide as we speak: http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10457

It seems a little outdated (not only because of the date) because some of the HCFR settings have changed.

This is time consuming! I spent an hour alone on getting contrast and brightness right and I still don't feel like it is right.

Living room theater set-up:  
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1124-K.
Speakers/Sub: (4) NHT Classic Two and an NHT TwoC center + PSA-XV15 subwoofer.
HTPC: z97 mobo, 16GB mem, i5-4440, SSD+HD, LG BD drive, Win 8.1 pro w/WMC + MB3.
Content sources: OTA Winegard HD7698P, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Netflix etc.
HDTV: Sharp LC-60SQ15U (ehhh).
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #5553 of 5561 Old 03-04-2015, 11:40 PM
Newbie
 
Weitec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post
Why not add it as a setting when starting measuring? Maybe optional?
this is good idea!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cont_meas.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	150.0 KB
ID:	584657  
Weitec is online now  
post #5554 of 5561 Old Yesterday, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 5,251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Is there an "updated" step by step guide on calibrating with HCFR and using the X-Rite i1Display Pro?

I'm using this guide as we speak: http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10457

It seems a little outdated (not only because of the date) because some of the HCFR settings have changed.

This is time consuming! I spent an hour alone on getting contrast and brightness right and I still don't feel like it is right.
No, there isn't. That's one of the disadvantages of open source software. The fact that the program still exists is due to zoyd's continued efforts, for which he should continue to get thanks from everyone here.
The new guide linked to in that thread is better at explaining the newer technology sets, but focuses more on using commercial software.
Don't spend a lot of time on any aspect of calibration until you've been through the whole process several times. Once you understand what you are doing, it will make more sense and the workflow will be easier. You should have spent two minutes on brightness and contrast, and probably would have been better off using a pattern disc like the AVS calibration disc or any BD movie with THX optimizer.
Unfortunately, if you're interested in DIY calibration, you're going to have to DIY.
Michael
jhughy2010 likes this.

Downloadable FREE demo discs: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/150-bl...=bd9+demo+disc

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #5555 of 5561 Old Yesterday, 07:56 AM
Newbie
 
Slower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Zoyd,


Updating from 3.1.6 to 3.1.8 to 3.1.9 I experienced the following:

Regarding the test patterns: in 3.1.6 they work. In 3.1.9 some of them show black (0:0:0), as pointed out above. And 3.1.8 shows a sort of intermediate behaviour: when selecting a pattern, screen shows black (0:0:0) for a split second, and then the selected pattern is displayed. And yes, some of the patterns have been proven very useful to me.

When selecting the PAL/SECAM colorspace in 3.1.8 and 3.1.9, the targets for saturation sweeps (the small squares) on the CIE diagram are those for HDTV-REC 709. Primaries and secondaries targets are properly shown, as are the Color Checker targets. The calculation of sweeps on the measurements tab seems to be correct though, as are Saturation-luminance and Saturation-shifts graphs. In 3.1.6 saturation sweeps were correctly shown on the CIE.

What happend to the AXIS Colorchecker in 3.1.8 and 3.1.9? I found this a very valuable feature in 3.1.6. In fact, when using HCFR as generator, it was the only colorchecker which allowed luminance sweeps (for primaries). Sure, I can manually adjust stimulus level in the generator set up (for, say, 4, 8, 10 levels....) and run primaries and secondaries after each adjustment, but that would be a rather cumbersome way of doing. Could we please have AXIS back?


Thanks for all the good work!
Slower is offline  
post #5556 of 5561 Old Yesterday, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
No, there isn't. That's one of the disadvantages of open source software. The fact that the program still exists is due to zoyd's continued efforts, for which he should continue to get thanks from everyone here.
The new guide linked to in that thread is better at explaining the newer technology sets, but focuses more on using commercial software.
Don't spend a lot of time on any aspect of calibration until you've been through the whole process several times. Once you understand what you are doing, it will make more sense and the workflow will be easier. You should have spent two minutes on brightness and contrast, and probably would have been better off using a pattern disc like the AVS calibration disc or any BD movie with THX optimizer.
Unfortunately, if you're interested in DIY calibration, you're going to have to DIY.
Michael
Ok thank you. So you recommend sticking with the guide for HCFR? I'm only about 1/4 through the process. I'm pretty slow and methodical.

I noticed on "movie" mode on my TV (Sharp SQ) that I have a expanded (or advanced... can't remember) color gamut versus standard. Should I choose standard or expanded?

I also saw that "resolution enhancement" defaulted at Mode 2 (which it says is suitable for still images). I turned it to Mode 1 and could hardly tell a difference as compared to 2 (although the color did seem to change... how it changed I don't know). With this feature off though I could definitely tell a difference with text (I have an HTPC connected). Should I leave this feature on (probably Mode 2 as it suggests this is suitable for moving images).

Living room theater set-up:  
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1124-K.
Speakers/Sub: (4) NHT Classic Two and an NHT TwoC center + PSA-XV15 subwoofer.
HTPC: z97 mobo, 16GB mem, i5-4440, SSD+HD, LG BD drive, Win 8.1 pro w/WMC + MB3.
Content sources: OTA Winegard HD7698P, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Netflix etc.
HDTV: Sharp LC-60SQ15U (ehhh).
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #5557 of 5561 Old Yesterday, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 5,251
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 374
The answers to your questions are why you're using HFCR in the first place.
You want your set on whatever settings give you the most control, so I would guess advanced vs. standard.
Then you run sweeps (quickly ) at each of the other settings and compare them to your target. Differences will be especially obvious on the gamma curve.
You want to start with whatever default settings the set has that has you closest to your target. Then you go from there.
As I say, just run through the process quickly a couple of times until you get the hang of it. You can always reset the TV to its defaults and start over (yes, we've all done that once or twice ).
Have fun!
Michael
jhughy2010 likes this.

Downloadable FREE demo discs: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/150-bl...=bd9+demo+disc

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #5558 of 5561 Old Yesterday, 01:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 587 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slower View Post
Zoyd,


Updating from 3.1.6 to 3.1.8 to 3.1.9 I experienced the following:

Regarding the test patterns: in 3.1.6 they work. In 3.1.9 some of them show black (0:0:0), as pointed out above. And 3.1.8 shows a sort of intermediate behaviour: when selecting a pattern, screen shows black (0:0:0) for a split second, and then the selected pattern is displayed. And yes, some of the patterns have been proven very useful to me.

When selecting the PAL/SECAM colorspace in 3.1.8 and 3.1.9, the targets for saturation sweeps (the small squares) on the CIE diagram are those for HDTV-REC 709. Primaries and secondaries targets are properly shown, as are the Color Checker targets. The calculation of sweeps on the measurements tab seems to be correct though, as are Saturation-luminance and Saturation-shifts graphs. In 3.1.6 saturation sweeps were correctly shown on the CIE.

What happend to the AXIS Colorchecker in 3.1.8 and 3.1.9? I found this a very valuable feature in 3.1.6. In fact, when using HCFR as generator, it was the only colorchecker which allowed luminance sweeps (for primaries). Sure, I can manually adjust stimulus level in the generator set up (for, say, 4, 8, 10 levels....) and run primaries and secondaries after each adjustment, but that would be a rather cumbersome way of doing. Could we please have AXIS back?


Thanks for all the good work!
Thanks for the feedback everyone. I've fixed a few things and uploaded a 3.1.9b version.
  • Fixed display of advanced generator patterns.
  • Fixed CIE diagram display of saturation levels in non-Rec709 color spaces.
  • Added back the 8 step RGB luminance axis scan.
  • Fixed auto lock on primaries patterns in DVD mode.
jhughy2010 likes this.

Last edited by zoyd; Yesterday at 01:33 PM.
zoyd is online now  
post #5559 of 5561 Old Yesterday, 05:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Anyone,


Which LCD EDR meter profile is best for using a i1d3 pro for use on a Sony XBR900B?


Also, if anyone has experience calibrating this set could you offer any tips as I only had experience with plasma in the past thanks.
jhughy2010 likes this.

Sony 55XBR900B w/Sub
Panasonic 55GT30
Panasonic BDT310
PS4 - Directv Genie HR-44 3/C41 mini's, Sunday Ticket & MLB Xtra innings
Sony STR-DG1000 AVR
Mirage Omnisat V2 7.1 set up with Energy S10 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #5560 of 5561 Old Yesterday, 10:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 103
A couple questions... I ran my first thorough gray scale calibration and according to both guides it recommended leaving the Green on both RBG high/low at default or in my case 0. I have noticed in the thread for my display that people who have calibrated the display I have (Sharp SQ) did adjust the Green setting. I'm wondering if it would help me get closer to D65 if I were to adjust the Green?

Also, I have a feature called "active contrast". It is defaulted to the standard position. I was trying to keep the ftL at 35 (which was recommended in the guide) and in order to do so I had to turn this "active contrast" off. Should I be looking for ways to raise the contrast to ftL 35 all while leaving the "active contrast" on?

Lastly, does anybody have a Sharp SQ that can share their experiences?

Thanks!

Living room theater set-up:  
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1124-K.
Speakers/Sub: (4) NHT Classic Two and an NHT TwoC center + PSA-XV15 subwoofer.
HTPC: z97 mobo, 16GB mem, i5-4440, SSD+HD, LG BD drive, Win 8.1 pro w/WMC + MB3.
Content sources: OTA Winegard HD7698P, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Netflix etc.
HDTV: Sharp LC-60SQ15U (ehhh).
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #5561 of 5561 Old Today, 04:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evanesco View Post
I found this info

http://en.community.dell.com/support...529/t/19525792

that states that RG phosphor edr/ccss includes corrections for GB-LED as well(I assume GB-LED = BG-LED = LED Blue Green DCI/P3)

Looking at the RG Phosphor spectrum, it's 100% identical to the spectrum of BG-LED.

I own CalMAN Control 5, but for some strange reason, X-rite gives us 8 edr files, all there in HCFR, but in CalMAN there is only 7 meter modes, RG Phospor being the missing one.

I'm concerned because this document says the following

http://www.spectracal.com/Documents/...QuickStart.pdf

"Meter Mode (Target Display Type)
AX800 and AX900 series
-
The Panasonic AX800 and AX900 series displays have a very wide color
gamut, approaching that of the DCI/P3 spe
cification.
Select the

LCD (LED Blue Green DCI/P3
Gamut)


But I was informed AFTER my purchases(calman and i1D3) that "
LCD (LED Blue Green DCI/P3
Gamut)" is only selectable with their own C6 meter.

But with the info from the Dell thread and the missing RG phosphor in Calman(but available in HCFR because it's standard from the factory edr files), I get a bit suspicious, and I don't know what to think. And this is the reason for posting here, I was hoping you could help me clarify things for me.

I just want to be able to calibrate my AX800 properly. I was told by Spectracal support to use the RGBLED meter modes instead. And I did, but I find the over all picture quality to have a bit to much red(red cast). I decided to compare my calibration done with CalMAN, with HCFR, RG phosphor vs RGBLED correction, and indeed, when doing readings with RG phosphore, there is to much red >4dE.
Hi, CalMAN 5.4.1.1891 has released and it's adding (the missing) LCD LED Blue/Green colorimeter table for X-Rite i1Display Pro (OEM and retail).

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off