HCFR - Open source projector and display calibration software - Page 207 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 385Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #6181 of 6206 Old 06-25-2015, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,737
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 896 Post(s)
Liked: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
Any reason why the software is responding differently to what is just a high cd/m2 from brightness?
No, the software just reports what the meter reads. Depending on the dE formula it will take into account both how far you are from the target point in x,y and the difference in target luminance Y.

Last edited by zoyd; 06-25-2015 at 10:51 AM.
zoyd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6182 of 6206 Old 06-25-2015, 07:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
No, the software just reports what the meter reads. Depending on the dE formula it will take into account both how far you are from the target point in x,y and the difference in target luminance Y.
Ran color checker, most colors had a d.e just 3.0. Black was the worst with a d.e 12.4, is this a tint problem?
DisplayCalNoob is online now  
post #6183 of 6206 Old 06-26-2015, 04:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,737
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 896 Post(s)
Liked: 780
zoyd is online now  
post #6184 of 6206 Old 06-26-2015, 06:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Zoyd, thanks for your efforts, the fact you can put these updates up so fast is amazing. When you post the news and details, I feel like I got the latest version of my favorite toy.

Something been rumbling around in my frontal lobe!

Can I add 0% black or grey, to the greyscale measurement, because right now it starts at 10%. I just noticed contrast ratio is low, or should I check that with ANSI measurement?
DisplayCalNoob is online now  
post #6185 of 6206 Old 06-26-2015, 08:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,737
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 896 Post(s)
Liked: 780
version 3.3.3 has been released.
  • Added alt+up/down arrow to zoom CIE diagram. [once zoomed use arrow keys to re-center]
  • Added CIEa*b* diagram.
  • Updated graph font styling, CIE borders and wavelength labeling.
  • Increased resolution of CIE digram.
  • Added L* EOTF target.
  • Added UHDTV Rec.2020 Color Space.
  • Fixed incorrect ordering of dC, dH in dE breakout.
  • Fixed rounding mismatch in average gamma calculations.
  • Fixed couldn't edit grid entries when CIE diagram was displayed.

Biggest addition was the new CIEab diagram which works like the other charts but in L*a*b* space instead of xy or u'v'. The outer boundary is a three primary color space (close to Rec.2020) that captures 100% of Pointer's gamut (an approximation of all real-world perceivable colors).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cieab.png
Views:	51
Size:	233.9 KB
ID:	796658  
zoyd is online now  
post #6186 of 6206 Old 06-26-2015, 09:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,737
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 896 Post(s)
Liked: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post

Can I add 0% black or grey, to the greyscale measurement, because right now it starts at 10%. I just noticed contrast ratio is low, or should I check that with ANSI measurement?
I don't know what you mean, the greyscale sequence always contains a measurement of black as the first pattern. You can add black to the primaries/secondaries sequence in preferences.
zoyd is online now  
post #6187 of 6206 Old 06-26-2015, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
I don't know what you mean, the greyscale sequence always contains a measurement of black as the first pattern. You can add black to the primaries/secondaries sequence in preferences.
zoyd,
In one of your very early posts, you mentioned that you might add a feature to "measure from this point on". This would be useful if I manually set the black point to "lock down" the target values when using BT.1886 for gamma, as with some instruments the black point measurement is not very repeatable.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #6188 of 6206 Old 06-26-2015, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,737
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 896 Post(s)
Liked: 780
I'll add a user override of black level for that case, I decided I didn't like the partial sequence option (plus it's a headache to implement).
jhughy2010 likes this.
zoyd is online now  
post #6189 of 6206 Old 06-26-2015, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
22point8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Do I want to reduce my gamut to match the reference line? Max dE is 2.95 its the one highlighed yellow. The files are in my previous post.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Gamut.JPG
Views:	51
Size:	170.3 KB
ID:	797194  
Basstrix likes this.

Last edited by 22point8; 06-26-2015 at 02:38 PM.
22point8 is offline  
post #6190 of 6206 Old 06-26-2015, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,737
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 896 Post(s)
Liked: 780
Yes but you'll increase interior errors in reds and magentas if you do so. Any further optimization of your gamut would require a 3d LUT.
zoyd is online now  
post #6191 of 6206 Old 06-27-2015, 07:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,737
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 896 Post(s)
Liked: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
I'll add a user override of black level for that case, I decided I didn't like the partial sequence option (plus it's a headache to implement).
I've just updated v.3.3.3 with a black override option in advanced->preferences->references
BlueChris likes this.

Last edited by zoyd; 06-27-2015 at 03:55 PM.
zoyd is online now  
post #6192 of 6206 Old 06-27-2015, 08:08 AM
Member
 
Basstrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: AZ
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by 22point8 View Post
Do I want to reduce my gamut to match the reference line? Max dE is 2.95 its the one highlighed yellow. The files are in my previous post.
Very impressed with this. What panel/projector did this come from?
jhughy2010 likes this.

Vizio M652i-B2....................HCFR 3.3.1
Vizio E600i-B3.....................i1 Display Pro
Sharp LC-70C8470U............ControlCAL Elite X5 Edition v2
Onkyo TX-SR606.................AVSHD-709
PS-3
Homegrown HTPC
Basstrix is online now  
post #6193 of 6206 Old 06-27-2015, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 5,817
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 482
According to the report, it's a Samung PS43F4900AKXXU.

22.8: You might want to run color checker with fleshtones.

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #6194 of 6206 Old 06-27-2015, 08:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
I don't know what you mean, the greyscale sequence always contains a measurement of black as the first pattern. You can add black to the primaries/secondaries sequence in preferences.
If I use dvd manual as my pattern generator, I'm using the AVSHD709 blu-ray and HCFR patterns on disk. This has 11 steps, first one being 0% grey or black then 10%. At 0% the screen is completely black. Using automatic generator, it starts 10%.
DisplayCalNoob is online now  
post #6195 of 6206 Old 06-27-2015, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
If I use dvd manual as my pattern generator, I'm using the AVSHD709 blu-ray and HCFR patterns on disk. This has 11 steps, first one being 0% grey or black then 10. At 0% the screen is completely black. Using automatic generator, it starts 10%.
It may have something to do with the "Override Black" setting, see post #6191 . If it's checked, 0% will be skipped. However, that applies to both DVD/Manual and Internal generator.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 06-27-2015 at 10:18 AM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #6196 of 6206 Old 06-27-2015, 10:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,737
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 896 Post(s)
Liked: 780
The way it's supposed to work and let me know if it doesn't is that when you enter a black Y value via the preferences page (not directly in the grid), the 0% pattern should be skipped in both manual and automatic mode when measuring grayscale, near-black, and contrast.
zoyd is online now  
post #6197 of 6206 Old 06-27-2015, 10:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
The way it's supposed to work and let me know if it doesn't is that when you enter a black Y value via the preferences page (not directly in the grid), the 0% pattern should be skipped in both manual and automatic mode when measuring grayscale, near-black, and contrast.
Yes, that's the way it behaves on my laptop, thanks for adding the feature. However, my thinking is that "override black" makes more sense in grey scale measurement (since it affects all the target points), but less so for near-black and contrast measurements.

It behaves the same way with automatic or manual generator, not sure why the previous post said they are different.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 06-27-2015 at 10:47 AM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #6198 of 6206 Old 06-27-2015, 10:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
It has something to do with the "Override Black" setting, see post #6191 . If it's checked, 0% will be skipped.
Okay, thanks. I'll try that when I get a chance later tonight.
DisplayCalNoob is online now  
post #6199 of 6206 Old 06-27-2015, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,737
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 896 Post(s)
Liked: 780
The point of override is not to use it as a calculator but only when you really can't measure your black level. So that would be true for any of the sequences. The only exception is the ANSI black to handle cases where it might measure 0 on/off and something higher with ANSI blocks or if you check "add black measure" to the primaries/secondaries sweep it will go ahead and try to measure it regardless of the override setting.
zoyd is online now  
post #6200 of 6206 Old 06-27-2015, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,327
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 154
@Basstrix , I just spend a week long vacation at my brother-in-law who owns a LG Plasma. I messed around with the settings (left my meter and laptop at home) at the beginning of the stay and set it to a THX viewing mode with its default settings. I felt like the color uniformity was pretty good. Upon my return home last night I watched a little Netflix and my gosh my TV sucks! Faces looked too orange and all colors looked oversaturated. This was with the results from the last calibration a week ago.

I'll give in a few more shots to see if I can get things dialed in better. If not... I'd be really tempted to get rid of this panel.

Gear: Pioneer VSX-1124-K, NHT Classic Three (L/R), Classic Two (rear) TwoC (center).
PSA V1500 (x2)
HTPC/server (Emby), Fire TV Stick, Chromecast
OTA Winegard HD7698P
Sharp LC-60SQ15U (HCFR calibrated)
jhughy2010 is online now  
post #6201 of 6206 Old Yesterday, 12:41 PM
Member
 
Sithuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I try to export to PDF I get the following error pop-up.

Error: error_no=1017, File already open?

What does it mean, and how do I fix it?

[edit: I have read in previous posts that it is a known issue, and that the pdf exporter doesn't work correctly. Is that still correct for v3.3.3 that I am using?]

Last edited by Sithuk; Yesterday at 12:58 PM.
Sithuk is online now  
post #6202 of 6206 Unread Yesterday, 01:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,737
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 896 Post(s)
Liked: 780
I have no problem using the exporter as long as I don't have the pdf document I'm trying to write to already open in reader.
zoyd is online now  
post #6203 of 6206 Unread Today, 07:34 AM
Member
 
Sithuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The avshd709 disc has a white clipping pattern with flashing bars, and a similar one for black. What are the equivalent patterns in Hcfr?

The patterns I've found in Hcfr aren't as easy to use, although the brightness pattern does offer more detailed colour brightness clipping info on screen.

What pattern do you guys use in Hcfr to set brightness and contrast?
Sithuk is online now  
post #6204 of 6206 Unread Today, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,737
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 896 Post(s)
Liked: 780
zoyd is online now  
post #6205 of 6206 Unread Today, 08:35 AM
Member
 
Sithuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi zoyd, the pdf export is not working for me.v3.3.3. No pdf viewer open in the background.win 7.
Sithuk is online now  
post #6206 of 6206 Unread Today, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,327
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 154
@Basstrix , lowering contrast 6 clicks (from 33 to 27) astronomically lowered average dE for gray scale and color checker. I made minor adjustments to further lower gray scale after doing this. I followed the guide you made to try and fix some of the problems in each color.... Since things seemed a little orange during my last viewing I focused on CC more than the saturation sweeps.

I also raised backlight 8 clicks (from std to +8). I am wondering how lowering contrast affects luminance? Is luminance affected by contrast or backlight or both?

Value had absolutely no affect at either extremes. It didn't move any point by any amount. Interesting that it doesn't work (maybe it works in other viewing modes like User?)

Gear: Pioneer VSX-1124-K, NHT Classic Three (L/R), Classic Two (rear) TwoC (center).
PSA V1500 (x2)
HTPC/server (Emby), Fire TV Stick, Chromecast
OTA Winegard HD7698P
Sharp LC-60SQ15U (HCFR calibrated)
jhughy2010 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off