HCFR - Open source projector and display calibration software - Page 220 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 456Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6571 of 6580 Old Yesterday, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 6,154
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 809 Post(s)
Liked: 571
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninF View Post
Something that just came to my mind again is the correct setup of my htpc`s graphics card...right now my settings are as follows but maybe there are any recommendations/suggestions for changes as i saw many different suggestions all over the internet
HCFR - Open source projector and display calibration software
so it looks like everything should be changed to "full."

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6572 of 6580 Old Yesterday, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
I think you mean levels encoding (colorspace would be Rec709 etc.). To set 0-255 levels (black = 0, reference white =255) you select it in the view images dialog. Note that with this setting you will clip below black and above reference white. (which is ok)
zoyd,
There seems to be a bug in the "Test colors" window. When set for 0-255, the sequence is 0, 26, 51..., 229, 255. If I change the setting to 16-235, the sequence becomes 16, 26, 51..., 229, 235; i.e., the end values are clipped, but the in-between values are not scaled accordingly.
The test patterns themselves are correct in both cases.
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #6573 of 6580 Old Yesterday, 10:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
zoyd,
There seems to be a bug in the "Test colors" window. When set for 0-255, the sequence is 0, 26, 51..., 229, 255. If I change the setting to 16-235, the sequence becomes 16, 26, 51..., 229, 235; i.e., the end values are clipped, but the in-between values are not scaled accordingly.
The test patterns themselves are correct in both cases.
Hmm this is why i am wondering if my calibrated settings are correct

As said i am using Ted s disc to calibrate (According to Ted the patterns are 16-235 only)
Running HCFR on my notebook connected to the Spyder 5.
Thats why i am using mediaplayer homecinema edition on my HTPC with the following settings (Mediaportals LAV will be set to the same settings): Please see attached pics...


So probably i am using the "only" combination that is not mentioned by Zoyd

GPU: 0-255
HCFR/MPCHC: 16-235
TV: 0 -255

Think i additionally have mixed up the meaning of video renderer and decoder too... decoder is set to 16-235 and renderer in mediaportal is EVR and cannot be changed. Is there a tool that shows what is really put out (limited or full)? So far i have found none...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nvidiaGPU.JPG
Views:	12
Size:	35.8 KB
ID:	924730   Click image for larger version

Name:	mpch.JPG
Views:	10
Size:	121.9 KB
ID:	924738  

Last edited by RoninF; Yesterday at 10:46 AM.
RoninF is online now  
post #6574 of 6580 Old Yesterday, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninF View Post
Hmm this is why i am wondering if my calibrated settings are correct
The apparent "bug" I mentioned, even if confirmed, should not affect the calibration as the test patterns themselves are not affected.

Quote:
So probably i am using the "only" combination that is not mentioned by Zoyd

GPU: 0-255
HCFR/MPCHC: 16-235
TV: 0 -255
With 3 devices involved, there is a total of 8 possible combinations; however, only the three combinations listed by zoyd are "legit".
Essentially you have HCFR and GPU set the same way as zoyd's Option 2, which would require the TV to be set to 16-235 to match the output level. If you set the TV to 0-255, the error can still be "calibrated out" when you adjust the TV's Brightness (black level) Control, but I see no advantage with this combination.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; Yesterday at 06:49 PM.
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #6575 of 6580 Old Yesterday, 11:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
The apparent "bug" I mentioned, even if confirmed, should not affect the calibration as the test patterns themselves are not affected.


Withe 3 devices involved, there is a total of 8 possible combinations; however, only the three combinations listed by zoyd are "legit".
Essentially you have HCFR and GPU set the same way as Option 2, which would require the TV to be set to 16-235 to match the output level. If you set the TV to 0-255, the error can still be "calibrated out" when you adjust the TV's Brightness (black level) Control, but I see no advantage with this combination.
With only i just meant that i am not sure if my option can be correct.

I just made a short test which confuses me a little bit.
I started HCFR on my HTPC directly (GPU and TV set to 0-255) and checked both pattern versions (blacklevel pattern).

They way i`ve calibrated the 16-235 patterns are visible as intended (which is kind of logic) but the 0-255 pattern is totaly dark...
RoninF is online now  
post #6576 of 6580 Old Yesterday, 05:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
zoyd,
There seems to be a bug in the "Test colors" window. When set for 0-255, the sequence is 0, 26, 51..., 229, 255. If I change the setting to 16-235, the sequence becomes 16, 26, 51..., 229, 235; i.e., the end values are clipped, but the in-between values are not scaled accordingly.
The test patterns themselves are correct in both cases.
Below is the expected and actual behaviour of the internal pattern generator
Code:
16-255: 16, 38, 60, 82, 104, 120, 147, 169, 191, 213, 235
0-255:   0, 26, 51, 77, 102, 128, 153, 178, 204, 229, 255
Are you saying you have some kind of frankenstein 16-235? Maybe delete your hcfr.ini file and try again?
Code:
16-235:  16, 26, 51, 77, 102, 128, 153, 178, 204, 229, 235
V3.3.5 and V3.3.6 are fine for me.

Last edited by chchrlam; Yesterday at 06:43 PM. Reason: less confusion
chchrlam is online now  
post #6577 of 6580 Old Yesterday, 06:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by chchrlam View Post
Below is the expected and actual behaviour of the internal pattern generator
Code:
16-255: 16, 38, 60, 82, 104, 120, 147, 169, 191, 213, 235
0-255:   0, 26, 51, 77, 102, 128, 153, 178, 204, 229, 255
As mentioned in my post, the patterns are correct; the noted problem is only with the "Test colors" window (View -> Test colors).
Dominic Chan is offline  
post #6578 of 6580 Old Yesterday, 11:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
As mentioned in my post, the patterns are correct; the noted problem is only with the "Test colors" window (View -> Test colors).
OK I was never in that part of the program before.

I get 0, 25, 51... or 16, 37, 59...
I would expect 0, 26, 51 or 16, 38, 60...
I am not getting your 0, 26, 51... or 16, 26, 51...

Fond another bug the checking for updates window says connecting then windows says problem stopped working. Turning off networking fixes this.
Wireshark says hcfr is connecting to https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2621383/update.txt which gets 307nd temporary redirect to a an SSL Zscaler proxy which my company uses. HCFR tries to negotiate but the proxy drops the connection after complaining about TLSv1 Ignored Unknown Record. Then it crashes out.

The check for updates code might need a bit more error handling
chchrlam is online now  
post #6579 of 6580 Old Today, 12:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by chchrlam View Post
OK I was never in that part of the program before.

I get 0, 25, 51... or 16, 37, 59...
I would expect 0, 26, 51 or 16, 38, 60...
I am not getting your 0, 26, 51... or 16, 26, 51...

Fond another bug the checking for updates window says connecting then windows says problem stopped working. Turning off networking fixes this.
Wireshark says hcfr is connecting to https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2621383/update.txt which gets 307nd temporary redirect to a an SSL Zscaler proxy which my company uses. HCFR tries to negotiate but the proxy drops the connection after complaining about TLSv1 Ignored Unknown Record. Then it crashes out.

The check for updates code might need a bit more error handling
I noticed the same update problem... but only thing that helps for me is reinstalling the software and restart it.
I also tried to disable the update function but it seems to ignore that and next time it crashes once more.

In regards to test patterns i guess it looks like Ted`s pattern can be used for calibration with the HTPC but without using the optimal settings for the HTPC... is that correct?

Additionaly i found this one:

https://sunmaiblog.wordpress.com/201...-video-output/

Last edited by RoninF; Today at 12:30 AM.
RoninF is online now  
post #6580 of 6580 Old Today, 12:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
madTPG dithering

I read somewhere that the madTPG uses dithering. My sceptical side told me to take some screen shots and look for the dithered pixels.
They are NOT present when the mode is set to 0-255, but they ARE present when the mode is set to 16-235.

I would expect them to be present for both as multiples of 10% grey levels are never whole numbers like 26 is. Bug or feature?
chchrlam is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off