HCFR - Open source projector and display calibration software - Page 237 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 567Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7081 of 7103 Old 02-05-2016, 07:47 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello there,

I am new to TV Calibration and just bought a XRite i1 Display Pro (EODIS3). So I have some questions :-)

I have downloaded the latest version of HCFR (THX for this piece of software) and installed it. I also installed the newest iprofiler software.
Then I've down some greyscale calibration on my Panasonic Plasma - so far so good. I like the calibration result!

But I have red in this forum that there are some things to know and to do for BETTER calibration.

Question 1:
Do I need a plasma matrix - many peaple talk about such a thing. And if yes where can I get the usually used one?

Question 2:
When I start calibration I can choose display - refresh or not refresh (and some LCD stuff) AND there is also one entry for plasma.
I've read that for plasma I should choose refresh - whats the difference to the plasma entry?

Question3 or better a wish:
Could I get a short starting to-do list (do this and than choose that etc.) for plasma Calibration - more for the use of HCFR - starting up a calibration?

Question4:
I also have an LED TV - which options should I choose for this one?

Many thanks for answers

greetings from Austria
AenimaAut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7082 of 7103 Old 02-05-2016, 09:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello,

I am new to TV Calibration and I have just bought the X-Rite i1 Display Pro (EODIS3) to calibrate my Panasonic ülasmas!

So...
I have downloaded and installed the latest HCFR software. I also installed the latest IProfiler software.
I've done some calibration on my Plasma and I like the results so far :-)

But... I have some questions:

Question 1:
I've read about matrices to use especially for plasma calibration. Where do I get them and which one is the 'best' to use?
I've tried one 'Panasonic plasma 1 matrix for i1D3 against i1Pro thc' which I've found somewhere here in the forum, but I don't like the results (less red)

Question 2:
When I start a new calibration - which options are to set - espescially for plasma calibration

Question 3:
I also have a LED TV (sony) - which are the differencies in calibration (settings in HCFR)?

Question 4:
Please be so kind and give me some tips :-)

Thank you for informative answers.

Greetings from Austria
AenimaAut is offline  
post #7083 of 7103 Old 02-05-2016, 09:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Oh sorry... thats embarrassing. I wrote the first text and thought it is not here... wrote it again and... sorry
@mods : please delete the first one. thx
AenimaAut is offline  
post #7084 of 7103 Old 02-05-2016, 09:59 AM
10k
AVS Special Member
 
10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 653 Post(s)
Liked: 488
Quote:
Originally Posted by AenimaAut View Post
Oh sorry... thats embarrassing. I wrote the first text and thought it is not here... wrote it again and... sorry
@mods : please delete the first one. thx
You can delete posts by going into "edit" them. At bottom there is a delete box and a radio button to confirm.
10k is offline  
post #7085 of 7103 Old 02-05-2016, 11:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I don't have such an edit button like in your screenshot?
AenimaAut is offline  
post #7086 of 7103 Old 02-05-2016, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mo949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4,570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1029
After 5 posts you get that 'privilege', or something like that.
mo949 is offline  
post #7087 of 7103 Old 02-06-2016, 12:30 AM
Senior Member
 
SnipeUout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Peoples Republic of California
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Can HCFR deliver the metadata (correct word?) to drive a TV into HDR mode? If so could the internal pattern generator be used to in an HDR mode to preform a 10pt and calibrate DCI P3?

Thanks.

UN65JS8500 (Main TV), M40-C2(Guestroom TV), K8500, Sypder5 Express(Using HCFR), TH-50PX80U (Retired), UN60J6200 (Returned, dead pixels), M55-C2 (Returned), M65-C1(3x Defective units, all dead pixel and banding)
SnipeUout is offline  
post #7088 of 7103 Old 02-06-2016, 03:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ok - I hope this is the right thread for newbie questions?

What I've done so far:

I calibrated greyscale withe the XRitel i1 Pro on my Panasonic Plasma - I like the result.
For this I've not used any correction matrix (should I?), selected Plasma in the drop down menu and used windowed patterns from the AVSHD709 Disc.
--> is this right so far? or should I take APL patterns?

Now I've tried to measure and calibrate the colors.
For this I've used 100% Color windowed patterns from the disc.
--> is that right or should I use something different? Like 75% Saturation windowed?
Where are the pitfalls in this process?

thx for information
AenimaAut is offline  
post #7089 of 7103 Old 02-06-2016, 05:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,062
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1139 Post(s)
Liked: 886
Quote:
Originally Posted by AenimaAut View Post
Ok - I hope this is the right thread for newbie questions?

What I've done so far:

I calibrated greyscale withe the XRitel i1 Pro on my Panasonic Plasma - I like the result.
For this I've not used any correction matrix (should I?), selected Plasma in the drop down menu and used windowed patterns from the AVSHD709 Disc.
--> is this right so far? or should I take APL patterns?
That's correct, don't use a correction matrix unless it's made using your probe (which requires a spectrometer). Choosing the plasma display type is the best method in your case. For plasmas it's more typical to use something like a 5% window with 20% APL background, but you can experiment and see what you prefer.

Quote:
Now I've tried to measure and calibrate the colors.
For this I've used 100% Color windowed patterns from the disc.
--> is that right or should I use something different? Like 75% Saturation windowed?
Where are the pitfalls in this process?

thx for information
It's best to calibrate a plasma with 75%/75% Rec709 patterns which is difficult to do with the AVSHD disc. You can use the GCD, Mascior disc or internal pattern generator.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnipeUout View Post
Can HCFR deliver the metadata (correct word?) to drive a TV into HDR mode? If so could the internal pattern generator be used to in an HDR mode to preform a 10pt and calibrate DCI P3?

Thanks.
I believe madVR can provide this data but I don't know if the madTPG generator is wired to provide it. Maybe @madshi can provide more details.
zoyd is online now  
post #7090 of 7103 Old 02-06-2016, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
It's best to calibrate a plasma with 75%/75% Rec709 patterns which is difficult to do with the AVSHD disc. You can use the GCD, Mascior disc or internal pattern generator.
What about Ted's disc that only has 75%/100?
xvfx is offline  
post #7091 of 7103 Old 02-06-2016, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 3,439
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 961
Quote:
Originally Posted by xvfx View Post
What about Ted's disc that only has 75%/100?
Hi, Ted's Disk has the following supported chapters for measurements for HCFR users:

ChromaPure's 2/3-Point Grayscale
ChromaPure's 11-Point Grayscale
ChromaPure's 21-Point Grayscale
ChromaPure's Color Gamut (100% Saturation with 100% Intensity)
ChromaPure's Color Gamut (100% Saturation with 75% Intensity)
ChromaPure's Color Gamut (75% Saturation with 100% Intensity)
ChromaPure's Color Gamut (75% Saturation with 75% Intensity)
ChromaPure's 4-Point Saturation with 75% Intensity (25 Colors)
ChromaPure's 4-Point Saturation with 100% Intensity (25 Colors)
CalMAN's 4-Point Saturation with 75% Stimulus Level (25 Colors)
CalMAN's 4-Point Saturation with 100% Stimulus Level (25 Colors)
CalMAN's 5-Point Saturation with 75% Stimulus Level (31 Colors)
CalMAN's 5-Point Saturation with 100% Stimulus Level (31 Colors)
CalMAN's 10-Point Saturation with 75% Stimulus Level (61 Colors)
CalMAN's 10-Point Saturation with 100% Stimulus Level (61 Colors)
CalMAN's 4-Point Luminance (28 Colors)
CalMAN's 5-Point Luminance (35 Colors)
CalMAN's 10-Point Luminance (70 Colors)
6-Point Near Black (added support for 0.5% Gray patch measurement)
Dynamic Range Clipping (90/95/98/99%/100%)
CalMAN’s Color Checker Classic (24 Colors)
CalMAN’s Color Checker SG (96 Colors)
CalMAN’s Color Checker SG Fleshtones (19 Colors)
ChromaPure’s Color Checker (25 Colors)
ChromaPure’s Color Checker Skin Tones (19 Colors)

These Chapters are following the same pattern order as HCFR requests them and they accurately and match the HCFR's Color Engine Calculations:


Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #7092 of 7103 Old 02-07-2016, 03:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
thx for information. I also found some correction matrices for plasma in the meanwhile - but they all are .mhc - how can I load them (.thc will be loaded autom.). Is renaming the file ok?

another question on the XRite i1:
Should the i1 be used in contact or distance 'mode'? If distance - how far?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
That's correct, don't use a correction matrix unless it's made using your probe (which requires a spectrometer). Choosing the plasma display type is the best method in your case. For plasmas it's more typical to use something like a 5% window with 20% APL background, but you can experiment and see what you prefer.
I've purchased Ted's Disk - which one are the right patterns - i cannot find APL patterns?

Last edited by AenimaAut; 02-07-2016 at 04:39 AM.
AenimaAut is offline  
post #7093 of 7103 Old 02-07-2016, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Hi, Ted's Disk has the following supported chapters for measurements for HCFR users:

ChromaPure's 2/3-Point Grayscale
ChromaPure's 11-Point Grayscale
ChromaPure's 21-Point Grayscale
ChromaPure's Color Gamut (100% Saturation with 100% Intensity)
ChromaPure's Color Gamut (100% Saturation with 75% Intensity)
ChromaPure's Color Gamut (75% Saturation with 100% Intensity)
ChromaPure's Color Gamut (75% Saturation with 75% Intensity)
ChromaPure's 4-Point Saturation with 75% Intensity (25 Colors)
ChromaPure's 4-Point Saturation with 100% Intensity (25 Colors)
CalMAN's 4-Point Saturation with 75% Stimulus Level (25 Colors)
CalMAN's 4-Point Saturation with 100% Stimulus Level (25 Colors)
CalMAN's 5-Point Saturation with 75% Stimulus Level (31 Colors)
CalMAN's 5-Point Saturation with 100% Stimulus Level (31 Colors)
CalMAN's 10-Point Saturation with 75% Stimulus Level (61 Colors)
CalMAN's 10-Point Saturation with 100% Stimulus Level (61 Colors)
CalMAN's 4-Point Luminance (28 Colors)
CalMAN's 5-Point Luminance (35 Colors)
CalMAN's 10-Point Luminance (70 Colors)
6-Point Near Black (added support for 0.5% Gray patch measurement)
Dynamic Range Clipping (90/95/98/99%/100%)
CalMAN’s Color Checker Classic (24 Colors)
CalMAN’s Color Checker SG (96 Colors)
CalMAN’s Color Checker SG Fleshtones (19 Colors)
ChromaPure’s Color Checker (25 Colors)
ChromaPure’s Color Checker Skin Tones (19 Colors)
ChromaPure chapters are 4 point though. :/

I prefer getting more readings/fine adjustments with 5 point to find any hidden errors for an overall.


Quote:
Originally Posted by AenimaAut View Post
I've purchased Ted's Disk - which one are the right patterns - i cannot find APL patterns?
There are none. Windows only.
xvfx is offline  
post #7094 of 7103 Old 02-07-2016, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 3,439
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 961
Quote:
Originally Posted by xvfx View Post
ChromaPure chapters are 4 point though. :/

I prefer getting more readings/fine adjustments with 5 point to find any hidden errors for an overall.
Yes, the Saturation Chapters are 4-Point for ChromaPure becasue CP 2.x is not supporting more Saturation Points.

5/10-Point Saturations are available for CalMAN or HCFR users.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #7095 of 7103 Old 02-09-2016, 09:13 PM
Member
 
wrathloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by superleo

First of... thanks for the continuation of this project.

My meters have been dormant for some time now and is time to wake them up. I did some reading and installed the the latest version to give it a try.
I have two meters and Eye-1 (Great Mcbeth) and a Spyder2. I got the Eye-1 working, but read that the firmware for the Spyder2 needs to be converted. Can someone point me on where or how to do that?


You'll need the installation disk setup.exe file or the CVSpyder.dll for the probe.

Run the program oeminst.exe in the tools directory to extract and install the .PLD file

oeminst -v infile

where infile = setup.exe or (path to installation disk setup.exe) or CVSpyder.dll
How can you do this without the setup disk? I've lost the disk and just download the datacolor software from their website.

I am 100% confused. Can someone please explain to me how I can get my Spyder 4 pro working with HCFR?

Edit: I found the disk and did this in the cmd prompt and it couldn't find cvspyder.dll but it did write spyd4cal.bin, is this correct?

Also I don't have a spyd4en program in the tools directory.

Last edited by wrathloki; 02-09-2016 at 09:38 PM.
wrathloki is offline  
post #7096 of 7103 Old Yesterday, 05:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,062
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1139 Post(s)
Liked: 886
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrathloki View Post

Edit: I found the disk and did this in the cmd prompt and it couldn't find cvspyder.dll but it did write spyd4cal.bin, is this correct?
yes, probe will now be available for selection when starting a new document.
zoyd is online now  
post #7097 of 7103 Old Yesterday, 05:35 AM
Member
 
Bloodwound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any way the DVDO avlab tpg could be supported? Afaik it's seems pretty open and straightforward to support as it uses an usb->serial interface.
It just get's a bit tiresome to use HDMI cables, doublecheck the levels are right, that all picture settings are at default and colormanagment is bypassed, extend the desktop and drag the measurement window over, set 23.976hz mode etc etc..
Bloodwound is online now  
post #7098 of 7103 Old Yesterday, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,062
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1139 Post(s)
Liked: 886
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwound View Post
Any way the DVDO avlab tpg could be supported?
The best way to do this would be to build it into the ArgyllCMS libraries so it would support multiple calibration software, I believe Graeme may be doing that in the near future for the Lumagen VPs. So you'd first have to convince Graeme that it's worthwhile functionality to have in ArgyllCMS, and then convince DVDO to donate a device to Graeme.
zoyd is online now  
post #7099 of 7103 Old Yesterday, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 3,439
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 961
Quote:
Originally Posted by AenimaAut View Post
I've purchased Ted's Disk - which one are the right patterns - i cannot find APL patterns?
Hi, there only 11.11% Window Patterns for all chapters of Ted's Disk at this moment.

There is no problem to use them to calibrate any display.

Interesting to read this view: http://www.tlvexp.ca/2013/05/apl-of-...lasma-tv-gods/

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5

Last edited by ConnecTEDDD; Yesterday at 12:32 PM.
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #7100 of 7103 Old Today, 01:21 AM
Member
 
Kerlucun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brittany France
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello
My I1D3 probe seems to saturate when facing the projectoreven at a distance of 4 m.
Must I use the 'Ambient' mode? Is the filter really neutral?



Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	I1D3_saturé.JPG
Views:	11
Size:	150.7 KB
ID:	1245697  

Vidéo: Écran fixe Da-Lite HC-HP ( base3 m,gris, g 2.4), JVC X3 , Radiance 2021, Pana DMP-BDT310, VU+ Duo/VTI V6.0.8
HiFi: Tri_amp active, enceintes DIY Phoenix de S. Linkwitz, Tact RCS et 3*S2150, Dream 7000/Quad FM4
Kerlucun is online now  
post #7101 of 7103 Old Today, 05:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,070
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 615 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerlucun View Post
My I1D3 probe seems to saturate when facing the projectoreven at a distance of 4 m.
Must I use the 'Ambient' mode? Is the filter really neutral?
Yes, when facing the projector you need to use the diffuser (which automatically places the probe in "Ambient" mode.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #7102 of 7103 Old Today, 06:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,062
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1139 Post(s)
Liked: 886
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Yes, when facing the projector you need to use the diffuser (which automatically places the probe in "Ambient" mode.
And if you want to compensate for color shifts in the diffuser and your screen, matrix profile the ambient mode to normal mode/screen illumination.
zoyd is online now  
post #7103 of 7103 Old Today, 06:53 AM
Member
 
Kerlucun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brittany France
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Yes, when facing the projector you need to use the diffuser (which automatically places the probe in "Ambient" mode.
Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
And if you want to compensate for color shifts in the diffuser and your screen, matrix profile the ambient mode to normal mode/screen illumination.
Good idea, I'ill do it next time

Vidéo: Écran fixe Da-Lite HC-HP ( base3 m,gris, g 2.4), JVC X3 , Radiance 2021, Pana DMP-BDT310, VU+ Duo/VTI V6.0.8
HiFi: Tri_amp active, enceintes DIY Phoenix de S. Linkwitz, Tact RCS et 3*S2150, Dream 7000/Quad FM4
Kerlucun is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off