HCFR - Open source projector and display calibration software - Page 261 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 741Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7801 of 7819 Old 08-16-2016, 11:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I'm getting through my first calibration with an i1display pro on my 55VT60...

I have gotten through greyscale very well but I'm confused about gamma. I turned on continuing measures and used gamma gain on my VT60 for each IRE to get gamma to 2.2 across the board...when I do a post-calibration check however it shows my gamma as being off the charts high at every level (2.9 or so). What am I doing wrong or missing?
pdawg17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7802 of 7819 Old 08-17-2016, 05:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 792 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post
I'm getting through my first calibration with an i1display pro on my 55VT60...

I have gotten through greyscale very well but I'm confused about gamma. I turned on continuing measures and used gamma gain on my VT60 for each IRE to get gamma to 2.2 across the board...when I do a post-calibration check however it shows my gamma as being off the charts high at every level (2.9 or so). What am I doing wrong or missing?
So you've told HCFR you're targeting 2.2 and are using the Y target numbers on the main grayscale measurement 'spreadsheet' to determine how successful your adjustments are? I never use the chart because at high IREs even small differences can make it look very jagged.
AMartin56 is online now  
post #7803 of 7819 Old 08-17-2016, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
So you've told HCFR you're targeting 2.2 and are using the Y target numbers on the main grayscale measurement 'spreadsheet' to determine how successful your adjustments are? I never use the chart because at high IREs even small differences can make it look very jagged.
Oh ok...what am I comparing the Y target numbers to? Y? Should those values be the same or should I be determining Y differently than target Y?
pdawg17 is offline  
post #7804 of 7819 Old 08-17-2016, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 792 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post
Oh ok...what am I comparing the Y target numbers to? Y? Should those values be the same or should I be determining Y differently than target Y?

Assuming you've told HCFR in the preferences (Advanced -Preferences- References) that you are targetting 2.2 gamma when you run a grayscale pass the Grayscale View will show you the Y target (you may have to page down a bit...it's two fields down from the color coded Delta E). You want the Y value (three fields down from the top) to match or be close to this target (don't over think it...you probably won't be able to get it perfect).

The top Y shows what youre current results are (and will chnage as you adjust the controls). The bottom Y target shows what they SHOULD BE based upon your preferences.

I would suggest starting at one IRE end and working your way up. Use grayscale runs rather than real time reads. Real time reads may bounce around a bit and will just confuse you.

Home Theater: Sony 40ES, Panamorph Phoenix, Yamaha RX-V673, NHT Super Ones/Zeroes w/Ten Sub,
Sony BDP-S5500, Lumagen Radiance Mini 3D, Darbee Darblet and Monoprice 130 inch 2.35:1 White Material Screen
Living room: Sony 60NX720, VIZIO SB4051-C0 Other: Epson 2040 , Samsung 51F8500
Displays calibrated with HCFR, i1DisplayPro, and Colormunki Photo.

Last edited by AMartin56; 08-17-2016 at 09:51 AM.
AMartin56 is online now  
post #7805 of 7819 Old 08-17-2016, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,403
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 809 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post
I'm getting through my first calibration with an i1display pro on my 55VT60...

I have gotten through greyscale very well but I'm confused about gamma. I turned on continuing measures and used gamma gain on my VT60 for each IRE to get gamma to 2.2 across the board...when I do a post-calibration check however it shows my gamma as being off the charts high at every level (2.9 or so). What am I doing wrong or missing?
Did the luminance at 100% white change before and after you adjusted the gamma? If it remains relatively constant, the post-calibration gamma should be reasonably close to the values you obtained during calibration.

This assumes you were using 10- or 20-pt controls to adjust gamma; with 2-pt gamma everything changes at the same time and it's impossible to predict the post-calibration gamma.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 08-17-2016 at 12:58 PM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #7806 of 7819 Old 08-17-2016, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
Assuming you've told HCFR in the preferences (Advanced -Preferences- References) that you are targetting 2.2 gamma when you run a grayscale pass the Grayscale View will show you the Y target (you may have to page down a bit...it's two fields down from the color coded Delta E). You want the Y value (three fields down from the top) to match or be close to this target (don't over think it...you probably won't be able to get it perfect).

The top Y shows what youre current results are (and will chnage as you adjust the controls). The bottom Y target shows what they SHOULD BE based upon your preferences.

I would suggest starting at one IRE end and working your way up. Use grayscale runs rather than real time reads. Real time reads may bounce around a bit and will just confuse you.
For a VT60 plasma what "should" my references (in preferences) be? I ran color space on "HDTV - REC 709". I left gamma calculation at default (BT.1886 with 100% input offset). Should I be using something different? Thanks again...
pdawg17 is offline  
post #7807 of 7819 Old 08-17-2016, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 792 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post
For a VT60 plasma what "should" my references (in preferences) be? I ran color space on "HDTV - REC 709". I left gamma calculation at default (BT.1886 with 100% input offset). Should I be using something different? Thanks again...
It depends. Here is a decent article on the subject.

http://referencehometheater.com/2014/commentary/gamma-correct/
bmcn likes this.
AMartin56 is online now  
post #7808 of 7819 Old 08-21-2016, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Ok need some guidance guys...here is my most recent attempt with my VT60 plasma. First issue is that when I do a 10 pt greyscale run it keeps putting one or more points in yellow but when I do continuous measure at that IRE it's in the green no problem.

Second, I'm wondering if I have something set wrong as the difference between Y and target Y for gamma just seems crazy. Even using 10 point gain adjustments I can't get anywhere near target Y.

Contrast 6:1?! Is that due to raising values during my 2-point cal? How to avoid that? Using custom setting with contrast 90, brightness 6

I have reference settings at HDTV REC 709 (75%/75%), gamma calculation at default 1886, 0, 100% (TV set to gamma 2.4) and limited color using an i1display pro.

Any ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	53
Size:	114.1 KB
ID:	1615241  

Last edited by pdawg17; 08-21-2016 at 11:58 AM.
pdawg17 is offline  
post #7809 of 7819 Old 08-21-2016, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 7,046
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1184 Post(s)
Liked: 833
Something is very wrong with your black level, which is throwing everything else off.
Y at 0% should be close to 0.
Hopefully, someone can help you figure out why.

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #7810 of 7819 Old 08-21-2016, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,403
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 809 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post
Contrast 6:1?! Is that due to raising values during my 2-point cal? How to avoid that? Using custom setting with contrast 90, brightness 6
Your 0 IRE point is brighter than the 10 IRE, so obviously something is very wrong. It's best to restore everything to the factory setting and run a sweep as the baseline, to be able to figure out where the problem is. Also, it's easier to for others to "debug" if you include the HCFR data file (zipped) and not just the screen shot of the measurement data.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #7811 of 7819 Old 08-21-2016, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 3,756
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 688 Post(s)
Liked: 1123
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post
Any ideas?
Hi, you took 0% Black measurement using the 50% Gray pattern, that's why you have 14.243 cd/m2 as Black level.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #7812 of 7819 Old 08-23-2016, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Thanks guys...somehow the pattern generator I was using was doing that. This time around I used GCR (no background). Is that appropriate for a Panny plasma?

In the meantime, I attached the zip with my data. Everything looks pretty good to my eyes other than dark skin tones look too dark. Suggestions?
Attached Files
File Type: zip postvt60.zip (50.4 KB, 10 views)
pdawg17 is offline  
post #7813 of 7819 Old 08-23-2016, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 7,046
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1184 Post(s)
Liked: 833
Run the color checker with one of the skin tone patterns.
My Sammy has a separate adjustment for skin tones that actually works pretty well; does your Panny?
Michael

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #7814 of 7819 Old 08-23-2016, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 3,756
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 688 Post(s)
Liked: 1123
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
Run the color checker with one of the skin tone patterns.
My Sammy has a separate adjustment for skin tones that actually works pretty well; does your Panny?
Michael
Hi, unfortunately the SkinTone slider is available only in Samsung displays. It's doing good job in Samsung's

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #7815 of 7819 Old 08-23-2016, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Ok so...what do us Panny plasma users do about it? Gamma is read as 2.29 so should I lower it closer to 2.2? Do that by lowering all colors slightly or use the 10 pt gain setting for gamma?
pdawg17 is offline  
post #7816 of 7819 Old Today, 06:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hello All,

can someone tell me what is neccessary to be able to access madvr/madtgp over the network using windows 10 (dispcal or HCFR)?

Both computers are in the same network, LAN access is enabled for madr and firewall rules are set up. But i am still not able to use the pattern generator via network.

I have tried shutting down antivirus and firewall as well... still no luck.
Madvr is only installed on the HTPC and i am trying to access it via my notebook where madvr is not installed.. i have installed it for testing and enabled to show the icon only when there is another madvr instance on the network and it does not show up as well.


Is there any way to test if madvr is working correctly and is reachable in this regard?

Anything special i need to take a look at when using windows 10 ?
RoninF is offline  
post #7817 of 7819 Old Today, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 3,756
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 688 Post(s)
Liked: 1123
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post
Thanks guys...somehow the pattern generator I was using was doing that. This time around I used GCR (no background). Is that appropriate for a Panny plasma?

In the meantime, I attached the zip with my data. Everything looks pretty good to my eyes other than dark skin tones look too dark. Suggestions?
Hi, Can you measure your gamut with all CMS controls @ zero position? Seems that according to your adjustment of Primary colors, you have make them undersaturated. Look your CIE Chart, the Cyan and Magenta, they measure with more saturation from your primary colors, this is not normal. Look again your CMS controls and re-adjust your primaries.

Also run the ColorChecker SG Skintones measurement to see what errors you have at the dark skin tones.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #7818 of 7819 Old Today, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
The Coolest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 248
I just got a chromecast and wanted to see how this CCast generator works.
When I select CCast, what do I have to do to connect to the chromecast? If I only select CCast and try to take a reading I get a 'No Chromecast found' error message.
The Coolest is online now  
post #7819 of 7819 Old Today, 05:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,403
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 809 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
When I select CCast, what do I have to do to connect to the chromecast? If I only select CCast and try to take a reading I get a 'No Chromecast found' error message.
You need to set up the chromecast first, then use YouTube to see if it works, before using it for HCFR (HCFR has very little control over CCast),
Dominic Chan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off