HCFR - Open source projector and display calibration software - Page 300 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 922Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8971 of 8980 Old 05-06-2017, 04:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
v3.4.2 has a bug that results in the measurements being out-of-sync with the test patterns, when using Floating Window pattern (default) and the automatic pattern generator. You can switch to GDI or external pattern generator, and see if the problem persists.
This does not fully deal with the pattern generation issue. See the attached file for the 500 color checker to see. This was using GDI. Is there an archived prior version somewhere that can be downloaded?

This was done on my P50-C1 with an i1D3. I don't have a device correction matrix. I've honed my technique specifically with Vizio M and P 2015 and 2016 4K TVs (I own 4). I prefer, when possible, using the 20-point generator for the saturation scale when not using Ted's disc. The P series does not have an internal player as easy to use as the 2015 M series for his disc on thumb drive and my P series is used as a monitor, not a TV, so calibrating for the pattern sent on the computer is perfectly acceptable for accuracy for the media used and signals sent (as well as inaccuracies built in from video card, etc.). So, a bit of lee way on the controls for the file attached.
Attached Files
File Type: zip ajd20first.zip (32.3 KB, 17 views)
ajc9988 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8972 of 8980 Old 05-06-2017, 05:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,265
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1369 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajc9988 View Post
Is there an archived prior version somewhere that can be downloaded?
All previous versions are available for download here:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/hcfr/files/Windows/
ajc9988 likes this.

JVC DLA-RS4910
HCFR Bug List
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #8973 of 8980 Old 05-06-2017, 08:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Sorry about that previous file uploaded. The file must be corrupted. It is saying the target Y is 112, but the actual reading was 121. Once you leave the grey scale, if you return to it, the dE is way skewed. This happens also if a report is made from that file. So after leaving the grey scale after opening the file, it throws everything off, even though I got the accuracy of the display down to a dE of 2.32 for the worst 10% of the 500 colors that it could check.
ajc9988 is offline  
 
post #8974 of 8980 Old 05-07-2017, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,265
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1369 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajc9988 View Post
Sorry about that previous file uploaded. The file must be corrupted. It is saying the target Y is 112, but the actual reading was 121. Once you leave the grey scale, if you return to it, the dE is way skewed.
The skewing of dE happened when HCFR re-aligns the measured Y at 100% (121) to the Target Y (112), without scaling the remaining readings. However, I'm not sure why the mismatch existed in the first place, as HCFR in general uses the measured 100% Y as the Target.

JVC DLA-RS4910
HCFR Bug List

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 05-07-2017 at 10:22 AM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #8975 of 8980 Old 05-18-2017, 05:19 PM
Member
 
longshorejl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Asked this question in LS10000 thread, but I think it is more appropriate here.

Basic question: I'm using HCFR and i display pro. When it asks what type of display to use, I'm really not sure which to choose for the LS10000. There is refresh, non refresh, etc. So, what type of display do I tell HCFR that I'm using?

Thanks
longshorejl is online now  
post #8976 of 8980 Old 05-18-2017, 05:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,265
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1369 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by longshorejl View Post
Basic question: I'm using HCFR and i display pro. When it asks what type of display to use, I'm really not sure which to choose for the LS10000. There is refresh, non refresh, etc. So, what type of display do I tell HCFR that I'm using?
Unless you have access to a spectrophotometer to create a custom correction file, I would just use the "raw" (non-refresh) setting.

JVC DLA-RS4910
HCFR Bug List
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #8977 of 8980 Old 05-18-2017, 06:08 PM
Member
 
longshorejl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
perfect. thanks!
longshorejl is online now  
post #8978 of 8980 Old Yesterday, 03:50 AM
Member
 
Djorre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwound View Post
you must install i1 profiler software, or the corresponding software for colormunki.
Hi,

I had the chance to get the same friendly IT-guy in (the new install is on my company pc,... , so I can't do it myself), to install the company software for the Colormunki.

rebooted everything, shut off the colormunki process in the system tray.

started HCFR, new project, I can select the Colormunki, but in the next tab I can still only select 'refresh' or 'non-refresh' display en none of the other choices of dispays show up.

I guess they are 'correction-tables' for the different mentioned displays you can normally select from. Does anybody know where these files are located so maybe I can copy them from the laptop where I can select them, to the others,... I can't seem to find them anywhere in the maps,...

Gr.
Djorre.

Last edited by Djorre; Yesterday at 04:07 AM.
Djorre is offline  
post #8979 of 8980 Old Today, 06:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
gwgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djorre View Post
I had the chance to get the same friendly IT-guy in (the new install is on my company pc,... , so I can't do it myself), to install the company software for the Colormunki.
If your aim is to install the X-rite i1d3 display calibrations, the you don't have to install the X-Rite software - just run ArgyllCMS oeminst with the CD in the driver, or copy the CD or download setup.exe to your computer, and run oeminst on it.
See here.
gwgill is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off