HCFR - Open source projector and display calibration software - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 76Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 4719 Old 10-04-2012, 05:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I still cannot upload a zip file to the board, but changing the extention to .jpg works.

rename this file to profile.zip, unzip it, and load it from the advanced / XYZ coordinates adjustment matrix / manually edit...........

profile.jpg 0k .jpg file



Attached Images
File Type: jpg profile.jpg (427 Bytes, 27 views)
vega509 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 4719 Old 10-04-2012, 09:04 AM
Member
 
JGrana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone know what type of backlight a Samsung D8000 series LED TV is? I have a D3 and am not sure which backlight LED type to select (RGB or White)?

I searched this thread but didn't see this information.

Thanks!
JGrana is offline  
post #993 of 4719 Old 10-04-2012, 10:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by JGrana View Post

Anyone know what type of backlight a Samsung D8000 series LED TV is? I have a D3 and am not sure which backlight LED type to select (RGB or White)?
I searched this thread but didn't see this information.
Thanks!

try asking in the Samsung D8000 thread, you may have better luck getting the answer there.
vega509 is offline  
post #994 of 4719 Old 10-04-2012, 03:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
@Vega509

i tried your matrix and it increased red to much on top of what it was reading before....I will probably hold off a bit and try to get a iD3/colormunki and try again.

Thanks for the help though..

Samsung 60F8500
Panasonic 55GT30
Panasonic BDT310
PS3 (PS4 coming soon)
Sony STR-DG1000 AVR
Mirage Omnisat V2 7.1 set up with Energy S10 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #995 of 4719 Old 10-04-2012, 05:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterLewis View Post

@Vega509
i tried your matrix and it increased red to much on top of what it was reading before....I will probably hold off a bit and try to get a iD3/colormunki and try again.
Thanks for the help though..

that means you d2 drifted differently than mine.

I profiled a buddies d2 that went the opposite of mine, you can try this one.

gerrysd2.jpg 0k .jpg file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg gerrysd2.jpg (385 Bytes, 46 views)
vega509 is offline  
post #996 of 4719 Old 10-04-2012, 06:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
@vegas

Thanks will try again this weekend...

Samsung 60F8500
Panasonic 55GT30
Panasonic BDT310
PS3 (PS4 coming soon)
Sony STR-DG1000 AVR
Mirage Omnisat V2 7.1 set up with Energy S10 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #997 of 4719 Old 10-04-2012, 07:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterLewis View Post

@vegas
I could not open that file with any program...

same as the one above, rename it to profile.zip, then it can be unzipped, and loaded into HCFR.
vega509 is offline  
post #998 of 4719 Old 10-04-2012, 07:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509 View Post

same as the one above, rename it to profile.zip, then it can be unzipped, and loaded into HCFR.

Got it....thanks ...will try this weekend

Samsung 60F8500
Panasonic 55GT30
Panasonic BDT310
PS3 (PS4 coming soon)
Sony STR-DG1000 AVR
Mirage Omnisat V2 7.1 set up with Energy S10 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #999 of 4719 Old 10-05-2012, 02:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by JGrana View Post

Anyone know what type of backlight a Samsung D8000 series LED TV is? I have a D3 and am not sure which backlight LED type to select (RGB or White)?
I searched this thread but didn't see this information.
Thanks!
I'm not 100% certain, but my guess would be white LEDs. AFAIK, the Sony XBR8 is the only LED set that used RGB LEDs. They're too expensive to produce so not many sets use them.

On the topic of the spectral samples that are included with the i1profiler software, are they definitely better to use than not using them at all? I have an IPS LED (LG LH90), IPS CCFL (LG LD350) and Panasonic ST50 plasma. I used the IPS CCFL (not the wide gamut one) spectral sample for my LD350, White LED IPS for my LH90 and kjgarrison's plasma correction matrix for my ST50. I'm pretty pleased with the results.
rahzel is offline  
post #1000 of 4719 Old 10-06-2012, 08:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Shinyav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chicago south suburbs
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am using kjgarrison's 4 color correction on my ST30. Nothing to the eye seems to be off color-wise.

1.038606808 -0.002502512 -0.011492028
0.010401065 0.994002567 -0.003384238
-0.006758658 0.008717773 0.977999919

Just reporting in.

Shinyav is offline  
post #1001 of 4719 Old 10-06-2012, 11:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,448
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by assm0de View Post


But do they dynamically calculate new Y targets for the primaries and secondaries based on their measured xy coordinates? I was told that they do not, however I don't own the software.
You were misinformed.


Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #1002 of 4719 Old 10-07-2012, 09:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Deleted...

Samsung 60F8500
Panasonic 55GT30
Panasonic BDT310
PS3 (PS4 coming soon)
Sony STR-DG1000 AVR
Mirage Omnisat V2 7.1 set up with Energy S10 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #1003 of 4719 Old 10-07-2012, 01:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Shinyav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chicago south suburbs
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is there anyway to display target boxes for 25% 50% and 75% saturation for primaries and secondaries on the CIE?

Edit:

Has anyone had issues using idisplay pro 3 with a plasma and these corrections

1.038606808 -0.002502512 -0.011492028
0.010401065 0.994002567 -0.003384238
-0.006758658 0.008717773 0.977999919

I kinda keep thinking its a little red in faces. I am using yCMS so the end result is near spot on.
I am fully willing to believe its something else, or my eyes, etc. Just want to be near 100% sure that those are the best corrections to use for an iDisplay pro 3 with a plasma

Shinyav is offline  
post #1004 of 4719 Old 10-09-2012, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
daMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just tried HCFR3 and I'm getting significantly different results with my Eye One Display Lt in HCFR v3.0.4.0 versus ColorHCFR v2.1. Which one is right?

Just as a test I measured a 100% gray window (AVS HD 709 pattern) using HCFR v3.0.4.0 with the Argyll driver, then again using ColorHCFR v2.1 with the Xrite driver.
daMaster is offline  
post #1005 of 4719 Old 10-09-2012, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,722
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by daMaster View Post

Just tried HCFR3 and I'm getting significantly different results with my Eye One Display Lt in HCFR v3.0.4.0 versus ColorHCFR v2.1. Which one is right?
Just as a test I measured a 100% gray window (AVS HD 709 pattern) using HCFR v3.0.4.0 with the Argyll driver, then again using ColorHCFR v2.1 with the Xrite driver.

Take 3 or 4 measurements with each configuration and post your xyY results. When doing comparisons it would be better to measure the sequence RGBW at 75%
zoyd is online now  
post #1006 of 4719 Old 10-09-2012, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shinyav View Post

Is there anyway to display target boxes for 25% 50% and 75% saturation for primaries and secondaries on the CIE?
Edit:
Has anyone had issues using idisplay pro 3 with a plasma and these corrections
1.038606808 -0.002502512 -0.011492028
0.010401065 0.994002567 -0.003384238
-0.006758658 0.008717773 0.977999919
I kinda keep thinking its a little red in faces. I am using yCMS so the end result is near spot on.
I am fully willing to believe its something else, or my eyes, etc. Just want to be near 100% sure that those are the best corrections to use for an iDisplay pro 3 with a plasma
I've used it with good results on my 60ST50. I don't see any reddish faces, unless it was filmed that way.

As for your first question, I don't think so AFAIK.
rahzel is offline  
post #1007 of 4719 Old 10-09-2012, 11:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Shinyav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chicago south suburbs
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The more I watch things and that I calibrated another tv, an LCD with the x-rite ccfl lcd profile the more I think it is actually correct. Sorry for any confusion.

Thank you very much everyone for all the work.

Shinyav is offline  
post #1008 of 4719 Old 10-09-2012, 11:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
daMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by daMaster View Post

Just tried HCFR3 and I'm getting significantly different results with my Eye One Display Lt in HCFR v3.0.4.0 versus ColorHCFR v2.1. Which one is right?
Just as a test I measured a 100% gray window (AVS HD 709 pattern) using HCFR v3.0.4.0 with the Argyll driver, then again using ColorHCFR v2.1 with the Xrite driver.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Take 3 or 4 measurements with each configuration and post your xyY results. When doing comparisons it would be better to measure the sequence RGBW at 75%

Actually, it looks like HCFR 2.1 and HCFR 3.0.4 are pretty close.

HCFR 2.1:
uklB7.jpg

HCFR 3.0.4.0:
hyzH1.jpg
daMaster is offline  
post #1009 of 4719 Old 10-10-2012, 12:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
daMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by djams View Post

There is no problem using the i1 display pro in win7. I am using a colormunki display with no issues. (Same driver)
I suspect that the problem is that the x-rite software is running in the system tray.
Edit: I see I was a bit late...

So is the Colormunki Display the exact same colorimeter (hardware-wise) as the i1 Display Pro (aka Display 3)? Glad to hear the Colormunki Display works with HCFR...
daMaster is offline  
post #1010 of 4719 Old 10-10-2012, 12:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Shinyav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chicago south suburbs
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
From what I have read its the same hardware. Only different is the firmware makes it read a bit slower. Also wont work with Calman Chromapure.

Shinyav is offline  
post #1011 of 4719 Old 10-10-2012, 08:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Shinyav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chicago south suburbs
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am trying to generate a 3dlut with argyllcms. However I cant figure out any possible way to obtain a .ccss for the IDisplay pro 3 with a Plasma.

Is there any way to convert the 4 color matrixes mentioned in this thread into a .ccss or ccmx?
or if anyone could create a correction file in .ccss for me I would be much in debt.

Any possible solution would be great.

Edit: realized this has nothing to do with HCFR. Making own thread. Sorry.

Shinyav is offline  
post #1012 of 4719 Old 10-12-2012, 08:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Has anyone tried the new color munki smile (rebranded i display 2/LT) with hcfr ?...

It goes for about $80 new and it just came out about a month ago so they should be fairly accurate of the shelves.

BTW would it work off of the same color munki display drivers in argylle?

http://www.amazon.com/X-Rite-CMUNSML-ColorMunki-Smile/dp/B009APMNB0/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1350098020&sr=1-1&keywords=color+munki+smile

Samsung 60F8500
Panasonic 55GT30
Panasonic BDT310
PS3 (PS4 coming soon)
Sony STR-DG1000 AVR
Mirage Omnisat V2 7.1 set up with Energy S10 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #1013 of 4719 Old 10-12-2012, 08:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,636
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterLewis View Post

Has anyone tried the new color munki smile (rebranded i display 2/LT) with hcfr ?...
It goes for about $80 new and it just came out about a month ago so they should be fairly accurate of the shelves.
BTW would it work off of the same color munki display drivers in argylle?
http://www.amazon.com/X-Rite-CMUNSML-ColorMunki-Smile/dp/B009APMNB0/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1350098020&sr=1-1&keywords=color+munki+smile

It's actually a new meter, it's shape is extremely similar to the i1D2, but it's got new guts.

It won't work with the colormunki display drivers, it's something different than either of those two meters.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #1014 of 4719 Old 10-15-2012, 11:59 PM
Member
 
Machtmensch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello there, I have a I1D2 at the moment... I'd like to try the new colormonkey smile... Is this one calibrated?
Can I use it with the HCFR SW ? Or do I have to wait for a new version that supports the Smile?

Thanks
Machtmensch is offline  
post #1015 of 4719 Old 10-16-2012, 04:54 AM
Newbie
 
Kumulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello there and thanks for the programm + information!

I recently bought the Silver Haze 3 from Quato (http://www.scandig.com/colour-management/display-calibration/quato-silver-haze-3.html) which is basically the i3d from X-rite.

Well my problem is that HCFR 3.0.4.0 wont communicate with the device. Sometimes it crash without a errorbox before i can choose the sensor (after i choosed the generator). Sometimes the errorbox says that it cant communicate with the device and sometimes it crashes after i could choose the i3d sensor out of the list without a errorbox.
When i start with a simulated sensor and reselect the sensor afterwards the same issue happen, hcfr close its doors and im back at my desktop.
I tried with both drivers, the argyll one and the original one. Btw., with the argyll driver the original software (icolor Display), which came with the bundle, wont work. And when the original software initialised the original driver and i start hcfr it tells me that its an "incorrect driver - starting communications with the meter failed with severe error. Argyll Error".

Is this all happening cause of a lock in the hardware? Or is it cause im doing something wrong as im a complete beginner with this programm?


I ve uploaded the two .log files with the different drivers:
Xrite driver no errorbox.txt 18k .txt file
Argylldriver with errorbox.txt 20k .txt file

Thx again,
greetings,
Christian

p.s: oh i got win7 32bit
Attached Files
File Type: txt Xrite driver no errorbox.txt (17.6 KB, 10 views)
File Type: txt Argylldriver with errorbox.txt (20.5 KB, 7 views)
Kumulus is offline  
post #1016 of 4719 Old 10-16-2012, 09:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Kumulus,
if the meter you have is an i1Display pro, you do not need any drivers for HCFR 3.0.4.0, Windows 7 will detect the device without drivers.

You may want to unload the x-rite drivers before starting HCFR.
Kumulus likes this.
vega509 is offline  
post #1017 of 4719 Old 10-16-2012, 10:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Swanage, Engerland
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Sorry for what seems like an uber dumb question but I'm just starting out in this calibration malarkey. I've been using HCFR and a new colormunki display and have been tweaking my set all afternoon, but did I need to calibrate the sensor first? I tried clicking on the 'calibration' button after I'd chosen the sensor in HCFR, but it didn't seem to do anything.
Geoff D is offline  
post #1018 of 4719 Old 10-16-2012, 10:11 AM
Newbie
 
Kumulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oi vega509,

oh, i meant the original "driver" with the x-rite one. It installed when no other driver is found (when i install Argyll driver Win7 always claims Argyll one, till i earse the driver completly at uninstall)

This is a snapshot with original one:
Usual driver.jpg 303k .jpg file

and is with Argyll driver:
Argyll Driver.jpg 294k .jpg file

Well both end in the same situation in HCFR.

HG
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Usual driver.jpg (303.0 KB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg Argyll Driver.jpg (293.8 KB, 26 views)
Kumulus is offline  
post #1019 of 4719 Old 10-16-2012, 11:36 PM
Member
 
Machtmensch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the new colormunki smile will work with the HCFR software and WIN7?
I Own a Display2 but am thinking of trying a new one... what about calibration of the smile.
Is it calibrated? Does anyone tried it or even compared it?
Machtmensch is offline  
post #1020 of 4719 Old 10-17-2012, 07:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kumulus View Post

Oi vega509,
oh, i meant the original "driver" with the x-rite one. It installed when no other driver is found (when i install Argyll driver Win7 always claims Argyll one, till i earse the driver completly at uninstall)
This is a snapshot with original one:
Usual driver.jpg 303k .jpg file
and is with Argyll driver:
Argyll Driver.jpg 294k .jpg file
Well both end in the same situation in HCFR.
HG

you don't need the argyl driver for HCFR 3.0.4.0, the microsoft driver in the 1st picture is correct. uninstall the argyl driver.
Kumulus likes this.
vega509 is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off