HCFR - Open source projector and display calibration software - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 76Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 4711 Old 02-26-2012, 03:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: London
Posts: 1,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by 703 View Post

Since you're using argyll libraries, are you going to use the High Res mode for the i1Pro? As the i1Pro is not that great at low IRE's, even with the current crop of commercial software.

Can do, yes. Do you need a switch or should I always enable it?

John

My Company - Upsilon Software
Free Projects - DScaler & hcfr fork
JohnAd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 4711 Old 02-26-2012, 04:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
deandob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAd View Post

So my ouline plan is

Meter support
Clean up, correct, extend and test colour maths library
Go through ui and simplify code and ensure each point's target is correct and that the displayed calculations make sense.

So essentially getting what's there working better before adding major new features in the UI. There will be plenty of releases along the way and this whole process will take a while but should be worth it...

Should still be on for a first release with the new meter code this week.

John

Makes sense John, concentrate on the basics first. I'll be able to test next weekend for your first release if its ready.
deandob is offline  
post #123 of 4711 Old 02-26-2012, 05:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,715
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAd View Post

Can do, yes. Do you need a switch or should I always enable it?

John

I'd recommend a switch but how it operates will depend on how the 3.33 nm vs. 10 nm sampling is handled. If the 10 nm mode averages 3 x 3.33 nm samples (rather than just picking out every third sample) this would be the preferred mode for low IRE color measurements. If the 10 nm sampling mode just picks every third sample then I would get rid of it and create the two modes in software using only the driver's 3.33 nm sampling and then do the calculations with either 1 or 3 sample averaging.

I think in general the high resolution setting will be used most often, especially if you are profiling a secondary colorimeter. In cases where you do not have a colorimeter or the display spectral display is smoother (non-plasma) the low resolution mode would be preferable.
zoyd is online now  
post #124 of 4711 Old 02-26-2012, 05:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAd View Post



Should still be on for a first release with the new meter code this week.

John

wow....that's great.

so should i pull the trigger on a colormunki display or an i1 display 3?
smokarz is online now  
post #125 of 4711 Old 02-26-2012, 06:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,715
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 360
I tried compiling the mac code on my 10.7 macbook pro and there were quite a few deprecated functions without obvious work-arounds. I'm not a programmer but bringing this code up-to-date appears to be a big job.
zoyd is online now  
post #126 of 4711 Old 02-26-2012, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: London
Posts: 1,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

I tried compiling the mac code on my 10.7 macbook pro and there were quite a few deprecated functions without obvious work-arounds. I'm not a programmer but bringing this code up-to-date appears to be a big job.

It currently compiles cleanly in xcode 3.2, but yes upgrading it will be a lot of work.

John

My Company - Upsilon Software
Free Projects - DScaler & hcfr fork
JohnAd is offline  
post #127 of 4711 Old 02-26-2012, 01:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 122
What flavor of of the Display 3 will be supported by the next release of HCFR? I'm ready to purchase it, and I'd love to sign up as an alpha/beta tester.
Bluescale is offline  
post #128 of 4711 Old 02-26-2012, 01:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post

What flavor of of the Display 3 will be supported by the next release of HCFR? I'm ready to purchase it, and I'd love to sign up as an alpha/beta tester.

Okay, it looks like I was mixing up information I saw on the CalMan and ChromaPure websites. If you're not buying a vendor customized one, it looks like there's one option:

Xrite EODIS3 i1Display Pro

Can you please verify that this will be the supported version? Also, will you verify that I can get on the tester list?

Thanks!
Bluescale is offline  
post #129 of 4711 Old 02-26-2012, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 68
i would definitely love to test this if it has support for ColorMunki Display....
smokarz is online now  
post #130 of 4711 Old 02-26-2012, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryInRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in RI
Posts: 5,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAd View Post

Can do, yes. Do you need a switch or should I always enable it?

John


A switch for accessing both resolution modes for the i1 Pro would be very desirable -- and very much appreciated

Larry
LarryInRI is offline  
post #131 of 4711 Old 02-26-2012, 09:43 PM
703
Member
 
703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAd View Post

Can do, yes. Do you need a switch or should I always enable it?

John

As a switch/check box would be great. So we can see for ourselves what difference it makes.

Would an application restart or meter re-init required for this?

Founder | BullsEye Calibration | www.bullseyecal.co.nz
703 is offline  
post #132 of 4711 Old 02-27-2012, 12:48 AM
Member
 
ascl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

I tried compiling the mac code on my 10.7 macbook pro and there were quite a few deprecated functions without obvious work-arounds. I'm not a programmer but bringing this code up-to-date appears to be a big job.

Supporting XCode 4 is a problematic, as there is no supported way of building for 10.5 in XCode 4. So, for the best compatibility, we are currently sticking with XCode 3, which allows us to build for and support 10.5, 10.6 and 10.7, at least for 32 bit builds. So XCode 4 doesn't buy us anything very worthwhile right now.

Building for 64 bit is going to be a fair bit of work due to deprecated interfaces, but is something I will attempt once we have the argyll driver working better.
ascl is offline  
post #133 of 4711 Old 02-27-2012, 12:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: London
Posts: 1,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post

What flavor of of the Display 3 will be supported by the next release of HCFR?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post

Can you please verify that this will be the supported version?

I haven't got a Display 3 and so I can only go on the code and the ArgyllCms website.

see http://www.argyllcms.com/doc/instruments.html#i1d3

The supported meters should be:

i1 Display Pro
ColorMunki Display
The CalMan edition of the meter

Exactly how what drivers need to be installed and what needs to be stopped will need to be worked out once we have a releasable verison of the code.

John

My Company - Upsilon Software
Free Projects - DScaler & hcfr fork
JohnAd is offline  
post #134 of 4711 Old 02-27-2012, 12:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: London
Posts: 1,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post

and I'd love to sign up as an alpha/beta tester.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post

Also, will you verify that I can get on the tester list?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

i would definitely love to test this if it has support for ColorMunki Display....

Just keep following this post, I'll post links here as soon as there is anything ready.

I wired everything up for the first time yesterday and it's working pretty well. There are a few error handling and logging issues to resolve but that shouldn't take too long and then getting the driver package build properly ....


John

My Company - Upsilon Software
Free Projects - DScaler & hcfr fork
JohnAd is offline  
post #135 of 4711 Old 02-27-2012, 01:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: London
Posts: 1,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by 703 View Post

As a switch/check box would be great. So we can see for ourselves what difference it makes.

Would an application restart or meter re-init required for this?

OK, I'll look at adding it, A meter re-init only should be required.

John

My Company - Upsilon Software
Free Projects - DScaler & hcfr fork
JohnAd is offline  
post #136 of 4711 Old 02-27-2012, 01:45 AM
Member
 
ascl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post

Xrite EODIS3 i1Display Pro

Can you please verify that this will be the supported version? Also, will you verify that I can get on the tester list?

I have this exact meter, and can confirm it works in with Argyll and hence will be supported.
ascl is offline  
post #137 of 4711 Old 02-27-2012, 04:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,715
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by ascl View Post

Supporting XCode 4 is a problematic, as there is no supported way of building for 10.5 in XCode 4. So, for the best compatibility, we are currently sticking with XCode 3, which allows us to build for and support 10.5, 10.6 and 10.7, at least for 32 bit builds. So XCode 4 doesn't buy us anything very worthwhile right now.

Building for 64 bit is going to be a fair bit of work due to deprecated interfaces, but is something I will attempt once we have the argyll driver working better.

Good plan, thanks for the info on the mac version.
zoyd is online now  
post #138 of 4711 Old 02-27-2012, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: London
Posts: 1,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAd View Post

The supported meters should be:

i1 Display Pro
ColorMunki Display
The CalMan edition of the meter

For sake of clarity, the CalMan edition of the meter means the i1Display3 OEM edition not the C6. According to the argyllcms list the C6 is apparently not supported at the moment.
John

My Company - Upsilon Software
Free Projects - DScaler & hcfr fork
JohnAd is offline  
post #139 of 4711 Old 02-27-2012, 05:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
fahrenheit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAd View Post

For sake of clarity, the CalMan edition of the meter means the i1Display3 OEM edition not the C6. According to the argyllcms list the C6 is apparently not supported at the moment although it may be in the future if Graeme Gill can get access to one.

John

I bought my OEM version from Tom with Chromapure and it works perfectly with argyll. So I propose dropping the reference to Calman and just say 'OEM' to cover both.

I'm very happy to see this project underway. I recently sent off my old LT to a friend and had a nightmare of a time creating offsets between Chromapure and HCFR.
fahrenheit is offline  
post #140 of 4711 Old 02-27-2012, 06:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by ascl View Post

I have this exact meter, and can confirm it works in with Argyll and hence will be supported.

Thanks. I just ordered this today. Should have it in hand tomorrow. I'm really looking forward to the code release.
Bluescale is offline  
post #141 of 4711 Old 02-27-2012, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post

Thanks. I just ordered this today. Should have it in hand tomorrow. I'm really looking forward to the code release.

just wondering why you bought the i1 display pro instead of the colomunki display?

from what's being said here, the colormunki display is a spectrometer and should be a better choice?

just curious.

thanks
smokarz is online now  
post #142 of 4711 Old 02-27-2012, 06:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

just wondering why you bought the i1 display pro instead of the colomunki display?

from what's being said here, the colormunki display is a spectrometer and should be a better choice?

just curious.

thanks

The colormunki is not a spectrometer. It's essentially identical to the Display 3. The main difference is speed of measurements, especially dark readings. I have no idea just how much slower (I'm not putting too much faith in the 1 reviewer who said it took only 2x longer than the Display 3), so I figured I'd spring for the extra cash. Yes, I'm probably throwing money into the wind...
Bluescale is offline  
post #143 of 4711 Old 02-27-2012, 07:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 68
ah i see. looks like i got my information wrong.
smokarz is online now  
post #144 of 4711 Old 02-27-2012, 10:31 PM
Member
 
ascl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

ah i see. looks like i got my information wrong.

No not really... I find it confusing too. There are two products:

http://xritephoto.com/ph_product_overview.aspx?ID=1115

and

http://www.xrite.com/product_overview.aspx?ID=1513

which are very different (photo/design is spectro, display is not).
ascl is offline  
post #145 of 4711 Old 02-27-2012, 10:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by ascl View Post

No not really... I find it confusing too. There are two products:

http://xritephoto.com/ph_product_overview.aspx?ID=1115

and

http://www.xrite.com/product_overview.aspx?ID=1513

which are very different (photo/design is spectro, display is not).

I doubt the ColorMunki Photo will compare with the Display3 in low light reading ability. For publishing work, where you need to calibrate your monitor and printer both, the ColorMunki Photo is a great product. For display calibration, I'm pretty sure the Display3 or ColorMunki Display will best it.
Bluescale is offline  
post #146 of 4711 Old 02-27-2012, 11:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: London
Posts: 1,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by fahrenheit View Post

I bought my OEM version from Tom with Chromapure and it works perfectly with argyll. So I propose dropping the reference to Calman and just say 'OEM' to cover both.

Thanks for that, you're probably right i1Display3 OEM is likely correct, I'm just worried about making unconfirmred claims of support.

John

My Company - Upsilon Software
Free Projects - DScaler & hcfr fork
JohnAd is offline  
post #147 of 4711 Old 02-28-2012, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Hi John, any update on a 'test ready' release?

I should be purchasing a colorimeter later this week. Thanks
smokarz is online now  
post #148 of 4711 Old 02-28-2012, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: London
Posts: 1,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

Hi John, any update on a 'test ready' release?

There's a few signing wrinkles with the driver and a couple of bugs to sort out but nothing major, probably be ready Thursday/Friday.

John

My Company - Upsilon Software
Free Projects - DScaler & hcfr fork
JohnAd is offline  
post #149 of 4711 Old 02-28-2012, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smokarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Posts: 3,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAd View Post

There's a few signing wrinkles with the driver and a couple of bugs to sort out but nothing major, probably be ready Thursday/Friday.

John

That's great. Looking forward to it.

Can we still use the existing guide to perform calibration with the updated HCFR program? Or will there be a need for a new guide?


http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10457
smokarz is online now  
post #150 of 4711 Old 02-28-2012, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: London
Posts: 1,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokarz View Post

Can we still use the existing guide to perform calibration with the updated HCFR program? Or will there be a need for a new guide?

Anything related to setting up the meter will change but the rest of it should be fine.

John

My Company - Upsilon Software
Free Projects - DScaler & hcfr fork
JohnAd is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off