4K resolution and calibration - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 02-24-2012, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
avsform1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
With the advent of 4k resolution displays coming up, how will this affect today's meters and sw. I understand that the generators will have to change to produce the video patterns at 4k. Will there be a need for new meters and SW?
avsform1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 02-24-2012, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Nah the software really doesn't care about resolution at all.

Same goes for meters, they have no concept of pixels, they just read the incoming light.


But yes you'll need a 4K source.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 02-24-2012, 11:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 4,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Sotti, how does the source effect the calibration. Say the BR is set to 480 by accident on a 1080 display?
airscapes is online now  
post #4 of 8 Old 02-24-2012, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by airscapes View Post

Sotti, how does the source effect the calibration. Say the BR is set to 480 by accident on a 1080 display?

Sometimes it doesn't, sometimes it does.
All depends on the TV's internals.

There is also the colorspace issue for YCC encoding between rec.601 and rec.709

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 02-24-2012, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

There is also the colorspace issue for YCC encoding between rec.601 and rec.709

I'd say that's one of the main concerns between 480i/p (SD) and 720p/1080i/p (HD).

Also, for a 480p DVD movie would it matter whether the player or the display was doing the upscaling to 1080p?
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 02-24-2012, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 4,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Let me rephrase my question.
If I have my BR resolution set to 480p using the HDMI connection and I am playing the AVS disk for Gray scale and Gamut readings, will there be a difference in meter readings compared to outputting 1080p?
airscapes is online now  
post #7 of 8 Old 02-24-2012, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by airscapes View Post

Let me rephrase my question.
If I have my BR resolution set to 480p using the HDMI connection and I am playing the AVS disk for Gray scale and Gamut readings, will there be a difference in meter readings compared to outputting 1080p?

Depends on your TV.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 02-25-2012, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Doug Blackburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco - East Bay area
Posts: 3,453
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Actually, a 4K source (test pattern generator) isn't really necessary... yet. Or possibly ever, though "it depends" on whether a 4K video system that doesn't exist today has a different color space than HDTV or a different aim point than d65.

Normal HD test pattern generators are fine since the display will upconvert HD to 4K. If the display has separate memories for different input resolutions, you'd have to copy the HD-derived cal settings to the 4K memory but they would be the same if the color space for 4K is the same as the color space for HD.

"Movies is magic..." Van Dyke Parks
THX Certified Professional Video Calibration
ISF -- HAA -- www.dBtheatrical.com
Widescreen Review -- Home Theater & Sound
Doug Blackburn is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off