DIY Calibrators? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 12 Old 03-02-2012, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a newbie, so I apologize in advance if this post is not appropriate in any way. I just bought a Sharp 70LE732U and I can't get the picture quite right yet. I posted some questions about calibration, and then received a couple of PMs from members who offered to calibrate my TV for free if I lived in their area. Apparently, they wanted the training. Unfortunately, I don't live near them, but that got me thinking whether there may be others in a similar situation. I would be happy to have someone in my area calibrate my TV for free rather than spend $400 or so. Is there a thread on this somewhere?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 03-02-2012, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I would be willing to drive up from Philadelphia but at close to 250 miles, gas and tolls would be pushing $100, not to mention the 5+ hours driving..
Having a DIY where are you Sticky would really be nice for us DIYer looking for experiences..
post #3 of 12 Old 03-02-2012, 01:59 PM
AVS Club Gold

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Only issue with that is, it's YOUR display! What recourse do you have if the person that is calibrating for free messes up your display? Is it just "Oh, sorry about that. Not sure what to do. Maybe the forums can help. Good luck!" You generally get what you pay for. Unfortunately, the vast majority of the time, there is no way around it.

Shawn Byrne
Erskine Group
HAA Design Certified -THX Certified Professional

Design-Video & Audio Calibration Information

The original Pro Theater Layout
post #4 of 12 Old 03-02-2012, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by SierraMikeBravo View Post